[RESOLVED] Using Raid Autodetect/AHCI or ATA or Legacy
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: [RESOLVED] Using Raid Autodetect/AHCI or ATA or Legacy

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Big Bear Lake, California
    Posts
    1,559

    Thumbs up [RESOLVED] Using Raid Autodetect/AHCI or ATA or Legacy

    Got a Dell Optiplex 960 bare bones. I want to install Windows XP Sp3 on the Sata drive and maybe later put Win 7 on a dual boot setup. I am only using one 320 GB hard drive only for this.
    Should I use Raid Autodetect/AHCI or Autodetect/ATA or Legacy in the bios. I don't have a special Sata driver disk to use so it won't blue screen on my install.
    Thanks
    JB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,273
    Windows XP does not natively support AHCI.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Big Bear Lake, California
    Posts
    1,559
    Should I then use Raid Autodetect/ATA or Legacy in the bios for this configuration. Sata Drive 0 with XP and Sata Drive 1 with Win 7 is what I will have.
    Thanks
    JB

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,273
    Use whichever setting recommended for use with the Dell recovery media in question.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Big Bear Lake, California
    Posts
    1,559
    I don't use Dell recovery media. I just install Windows from my retail CDs. So maybe we'll find someone that will know.
    Thanks
    JB

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,273
    Quote Originally Posted by jonny b
    I don't use Dell recovery media. I just install Windows from my retail CDs...
    You can use Legacy setting then.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Big Bear Lake, California
    Posts
    1,559
    Ok, well at this point it is done and I chose Raid Autodetect/ATA. I don't really understand RAID that much but I do have a perfect dual boot. So did I choose wrong?
    Thanks
    JB

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •