[RESOLVED] Memory not recognized - Page 2
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 21 of 21

Thread: [RESOLVED] Memory not recognized

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    FL,USA
    Posts
    284

    BIOS FLash

    Asus has a a BIOS option called EZ Flash 2. I have not used it, but it would avoid Windows. I'm checking on how to use the feature.
    AMD Athlon II X4
    Asus M4A785TD-EVO
    Antec Earthwatts 500 Watt
    4 GB GSkill DDR3 1333
    320 GB Maxtor IDE
    1-500 GB WD SATA
    Asus 52X SATA DVD
    Win 7 64

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,267
    A number of the mobos now have option to flash with a USB flash drive, from a cold boot.
    No Windows interaction required = Safer.
    e.g. BIOSTAR, GIGABYTE, MSI...
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,779
    Quote Originally Posted by Shinma View Post
    A number of the mobos now have option to flash with a USB flash drive, from a cold boot.
    No Windows interaction required = Safer.
    e.g. BIOSTAR, GIGABYTE, MSI...
    And that's exactly what EZ Flash is It's simpler than a DOS command-line flash and safer than in Windows. You just need to download a BIOS file and put it on an USB stick, then go in the EZ Flash section of the BIOS and browse to your file. Usually you can update straight to the latest BIOS version, unless the release note somehow makes mention of needing a previous version (haven't seen this in a while though)

    Core i7 2600K @ 4GHz | Noctua NH-C12P SE14 | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 CL9 | Gigabyte GTX 670 OC 2GB | 256GB Crucial m4 | 2TB WD Green | Samsung DVD±RW | Seasonic X 460w Fanless | Fractal Design Define Mini | Windows 7 Ultimate | Dell 2209WA @ 75Hz

    Join the HwC Folding@Home team!

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    FL,USA
    Posts
    284

    That was easy!

    Just finished flashing the BIOS. Had a few tweeks to make to start on the correct OS (dual boot) but all appears successful. Now I have to try the new memory.

    Question, in reading the manual, under Chipset/NorthBridge Configuration/Memory Configuration, there are several settings that are currently set to disabled. These include "enable Clock to All DIMMs" and "MemClk Tristate C3/ATLVID". Under ECC Configuration, the ECC Mode is disabled. Would these settings affect the DIMMs not functioning? Should they maybe be set to auto?

    The reason I decided the falsh the BIOS was because after four sets of DIMMs, the only ones I can get to work are the original 4 G set I installed when I built the system.

    Going to retry the last set of DIMM's now.
    AMD Athlon II X4
    Asus M4A785TD-EVO
    Antec Earthwatts 500 Watt
    4 GB GSkill DDR3 1333
    320 GB Maxtor IDE
    1-500 GB WD SATA
    Asus 52X SATA DVD
    Win 7 64

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    FL,USA
    Posts
    284

    Mew Memory works

    The BIOS update corrected the memory problem. I isolated one bad stick out of the 4 in the kit. Even without the bad stick the memory capacity has been tripled.
    AMD Athlon II X4
    Asus M4A785TD-EVO
    Antec Earthwatts 500 Watt
    4 GB GSkill DDR3 1333
    320 GB Maxtor IDE
    1-500 GB WD SATA
    Asus 52X SATA DVD
    Win 7 64

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,267
    Glad you got it sorted out.
    In case you have not done so already,
    Remember to clear the CMOS after any BIOS flash/update.
    Then reset all the CMOS/BIOS menu settings.

    I usually disconnect a computer from any power source then pulll out the CMOS battery for about 5 minutes.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •