XP freezes after sitting
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: XP freezes after sitting

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C., Canada
    Posts
    8,103

    XP freezes after sitting

    IBM T41 on XP, fresh install. Just started using this machine. If it sits doing nothing for a half hour or hour, the screen will be frozen with no cursor visible, and it does not respond to C/A/D. It will suspend properly if done manually. I thought ram, which can trigger lockups, but memtest ran for 7 hr 40 min with no errors.
    The XP is a vanilla install, no IBM stuff on it other than an Ultranav driver and a Thinkpad power management driver. Had a bluescreen today while using it, but hadn't set it not to restart yet so I could not copy the error msg.

    I have an identical T41 with the same install that behaves properly, so I do not suspect software. Cleaned the fan blades while changing the wireless card and it spins freely. Haven't looked at the heatpipe radiator yet to see if it's clogged. I wonder about heat being an issue, since this is an older laptop.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    2
    For Blue screen , harddisk drivers may not be loaded or some improper hardware driver is loaded, try using windows 2000 sp4 as it is older laptop,

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    5,988
    Did it feel extra warm when it crashed? Heat could be an issue, but if the HSF died, I would suspect it would crash within a minute or two after powering it on. Do you have a restore cd? Couldn't hurt to load it.
    Asus P9X79-Deluxe, Intel i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz, 16gb DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Memory, Coolermaster Storm Trooper case, Corsair AX850 psu, Zotac 970 GTX 4gB, Corsair Model H100 w/c, Samsung 840 Pro 512gB SSD, Asus Blu-ray Writer 12x, Windows7 Pro x64

    MSI GS Series GS60 Ghost-003 Gaming Notebook 15.6", Intel Core i7-4700HQ 2.40GHz, 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB, 4.36 lbs.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C., Canada
    Posts
    8,103
    Update:

    Only used this laptop a few times since my original post. It will also lock up when used, after 5 minutes or half an hour or more. Will not run for over an hour without locking up or bluescreening. I have noticed that the install is slightly different than the one on another T41 and a T40 I got from the same source, all fresh installs. This slight difference and the fact that it ran memtest for over 7 hours make me wonder about software. Using it one evening with repeated lockups also produced these bluescreens:

    DRIVER_IRQ_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL *** STOP: 0x000000D1 (0xD0A71C4C, 0x00000002, 0x00000000, 0xD0A71C4C)

    *** STOP 0x0000008E (0x0000001D, 0xBA6B73FF, 0x80550E4C, 0x00000000)

    *** rdbss.sys adress BA6B73FF base at BA6B7000, DateStamp 48025ee6

    I googled them but had no results.

    As far as heat is concerned, would Speedfan give me temp readings I could monitor?

    And for a reinstall of the OS, could I clone the install from the other T41 and install it, or would this create issues? Don't have a restore disk for this but I could do a fresh install of XP.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    2,673
    If you google-> STOP: 0x000000D1 & STOP 0x0000008E you'll find lots of stuff like:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/916595

    Guessing that you have SP3 and all the updates installed.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,269
    Quote Originally Posted by DanceMan
    ... could I clone the install from the other T41 and install it, or would this create issues? ...
    If the specs are the same, should not be an issue.
    Just remember to change the CD key to the one on the laptop after cloning.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C., Canada
    Posts
    8,103
    Thanks, Steve and Shinma. It has SP3 and all updates. Has a legit XP Pro key. The seller didn't use the IBM restore, he just put a generic XP SP3 install in it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,269
    The CD key on the IBM may/may not work depending on which version of Windows XP was shipped with it...
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C., Canada
    Posts
    8,103
    Product key is for XP Pro.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C., Canada
    Posts
    8,103
    Update:

    Installed Win 7 and the lockup issue has disappeared. There were hardware changes since the problem: added ram and changed the wireless card to wireless G. Might have changed the hdd from 4200rpm to 5400rpm, but can't remember by now. I'm blaming the XP OS install.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,269
    Thanks for the update.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    8
    I have had XP, Windows 7 and Windows 8 lock up on me.


    Biggest reason is when the monitor sleeps or hibernates, and won't come back on.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •