Mount SCSI Hard disk on desktop
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Thread: Mount SCSI Hard disk on desktop

Hybrid View

Smile Mount SCSI Hard disk on desktop

Hey, i'm new with SCSI technology. I have a seagate cheetah 10k.7 Ultra-320 SCSI disk and want to plug it on my desktop. By what i've read, i'll need a host adapter that connects to the PCI bus of the motherboard and by SCSI connection to the SCSI disk. I only have a host adapter wich has 2 connections: external Centronics C50 and internal idc50. How can i connect the disk at the host adapter, if the disk connects by SCA/SCA2? Am i gonna need any adapter? Will it affect the disk speed?

P.S: the host adapter appears to have 10/15 years.

Thanks in advance

You'll need a U320 compatible host adapter. This is old technology so you may be able to find an inexpensive one. IIRC most of them were PCI-X rather than PCI.

Quote Originally Posted by ua549 View Post
    You'll need a U320 compatible host adapter. This is old technology so you may be able to find an inexpensive one. IIRC most of them were PCI-X rather than PCI.

Thanks for replying. Do I really have to buy a compatible adapter? Can't I just buy an adapter that converts U320 connection(SCA) in Centronics C50 or idc50(host adapter conn)?

thkx

There appears to be quite a bit of difference between the two.

Wikipedia: SCSI
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SCSI
    Fast SCSI (SCSI-2 1994) - IDC50; Centronics C50 - 8 bit - 10 MHz clock - 10 MB/s - 80 Mbit/s

Ultra-320 SCSI - 68-pin; 80-pin (SCA/SCA-2) - 16 bit - 80 MHz clock - 320 MB/s - 2560 Mbit/s
    Doc

____________http://www.microsoft.com/security____________
    \____________________ ____.-.____ ____________________/
    \_____________\ -._)!(_.- /_____________/
    \_______\. ~\ /~ ./_______/
    \_______/

Quote Originally Posted by joao2fast4u View Post