Windows XP and the DNS cache
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Windows XP and the DNS cache

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    1,461

    Windows XP and the DNS cache

    It's just happening on 1 of my computers. Every couple of days or so I can't access certain domains. ie: www.microsoft.com, www.trendmicro.com. If I flush my DNS I am able to access the websites again. Any idea my I need to keep flushing my DNS? I have tried different DNS servers altogether. I am using Windows XP sp3 and this happens in every web browser... Firefox, Internet Explorer, Opera. Any help would be appreciated
    CPU: Athlon X2 7850 Blackbox edition o/c'd to 3400mhz
    Motherboard: Asus M2N68-AM SE2
    Memory: 4gb Kingston KVR RAM
    Video: BFG Geforce gtx 260 oc v2
    Hard Drives: 1TB Barracuda 7200.12, 500GB WD, 320GB WD, 320GB WD 250GB WD, 250GB Seagate
    Case: APEVIA X-CRUISER-BK Black Steel case
    Power Supply: OCZ 700W StealthXStream Power Supply
    Optical: 22x LG DVD R/W

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    2,690
    Does hitting F5 make any difference?

    In IE ->Tools->Options->History settings button->make sure "Every time I visit a page" is selected.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    1,461
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve R Jones View Post
    Does hitting F5 make any difference?

    In IE ->Tools->Options->History settings button->make sure "Every time I visit a page" is selected.
    Not at all
    CPU: Athlon X2 7850 Blackbox edition o/c'd to 3400mhz
    Motherboard: Asus M2N68-AM SE2
    Memory: 4gb Kingston KVR RAM
    Video: BFG Geforce gtx 260 oc v2
    Hard Drives: 1TB Barracuda 7200.12, 500GB WD, 320GB WD, 320GB WD 250GB WD, 250GB Seagate
    Case: APEVIA X-CRUISER-BK Black Steel case
    Power Supply: OCZ 700W StealthXStream Power Supply
    Optical: 22x LG DVD R/W

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    2,690
    Did the second idea help?
    And or do you clear your temp file out often?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    1,461
    Sorry I totally missed the second part of that. I do clear my temp files weekly. I'll check my settings at home. I am at work right now so I can't at the moment. I'll let you know how it goes
    CPU: Athlon X2 7850 Blackbox edition o/c'd to 3400mhz
    Motherboard: Asus M2N68-AM SE2
    Memory: 4gb Kingston KVR RAM
    Video: BFG Geforce gtx 260 oc v2
    Hard Drives: 1TB Barracuda 7200.12, 500GB WD, 320GB WD, 320GB WD 250GB WD, 250GB Seagate
    Case: APEVIA X-CRUISER-BK Black Steel case
    Power Supply: OCZ 700W StealthXStream Power Supply
    Optical: 22x LG DVD R/W

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    8,796
    Your DNS cache gets flushed automatically when you reset/boot Windows. Is your computer being left on?

    Something else I'd consider (I mean, I'd do it anyway), is pointing your modem/router to the OpenDNS servers instead of your ISP's.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •