GeForce 9600 GT 512MB
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: GeForce 9600 GT 512MB

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Mt. View CA
    Posts
    669

    GeForce 9600 GT 512MB

    Can someone tell me if this card will be able to run some of the newer games, like Call of Duty 5 or Far Cry 2. Also how much better performance would I get if I ran dual 9600's. The pc has a Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600, 4 gigs memory and running vista 64 bit.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    3,369
    9600s would probably work for the lower settings of the new games.

    Instead of running SLI, you should get ONE higher end card.

    THG does monthly "Bang for the Buck" roundups. Check it out:
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...card,2118.html

    You can compare performance here:
    http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/g...s-cards,1.html

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Mt. View CA
    Posts
    669
    Thanks Midknyte- That's what I usually do, but I am going to buy a rig that comes with this card. I wasn't sure if 2 Geforce 9600 would work well enough to play at the higher resolutions. I haven't bought a vga card in a few years, so I am a little lost.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    3,369
    Even 2 9600s aren't going to be enough to handle the newest games at high resolutions. It's not like 9600 SLI is 2x faster than a single 9600. You'd be better off selling the 9600 and putting it towards a GTX260 216 or something.

    You can see how the high end cards struggle at top resolutions:
    http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforc...-review-bfg/12

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Mt. View CA
    Posts
    669
    I am surprised the high end cards struggle, but after looking at those charts a 9600 seems like a waste of money. That GTX260 looks pretty sweet. I appreciate the info.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    3,369
    The Guru3d review had the settings turned all the way up. If you tried running the games at minimal levels and lowest resolution, it may work on a 9600. The key words I saw in your question were "high resolutions". When you increase resolution, that significantly affects video performance.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •