1.6Ghz Northwood HT as a 3.2Ghz
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: 1.6Ghz Northwood HT as a 3.2Ghz

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Big Bear Lake, California
    Posts
    1,559

    1.6Ghz Northwood HT as a 3.2Ghz

    1.6 Northwood Hyperthreading reads as a 3.2Ghz in System Properties & Everest and was wondering why it doesn't just say what it is like a 1.6Ghz?

    From Everest: CPUID - CPU Name - Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.20GHz
    Thanks
    JB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    8,721
    Are you sure it's a 1.6 p4? I know of no P4 1.6 having hyperthreading support.
    Gilles Lussier

    HWC Folding@Home Team

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    3,410
    You need to look at the Sspec number on the top of the cpu.
    http://processorfinder.intel.com/

    You might have the wrong bus speed setting. The 3.2 runs at 200 (800) and the 1.6 runs at 100 (400).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Big Bear Lake, California
    Posts
    1,559
    Well it shows up as two cpu's in Task Manager with the line between the two graphs. I saw that it said 1600Mhz as well. I haven't taken the processor out of the computer to see the specs though. I will see what else I can find out without doing that.
    Thanks
    JB

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    8,721
    Try to identify the cpu with cpuz.
    Gilles Lussier

    HWC Folding@Home Team

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Big Bear Lake, California
    Posts
    1,559
    System Information says it's this:
    x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 9 GenuineIntel ~1594 Mhz

    Everest says it's this: CPU Type Intel Pentium 4, 1600 MHz (16 x 100) Northwood Hyperthreading

    But Everest also says it's this under CPUID:
    CPUID Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.20GHz


    CPUZ says this: Northwood Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.20GHz

    So what is it?
    Thanks
    JB

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    3,410
    Even CPUID (aka CPUZ) cannot list the Sspec. Pop off the heatsink and look at the number on the top of the heatspreader, then search for that number on the link I provided earlier.

    A 1.6G northwood would be something like this:
    http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sSpec=SL62S

    The 1.6 and 3.2 use the same multipliers, but different bus speeds. It's possible that you have the wrong bios settings.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Big Bear Lake, California
    Posts
    1,559
    Bios says Pentium 4 1.6Ghz as well.

    Dell's website says that the orginal PC had this: PRC,80531,1.6G,0,400FSB,SKN,D0
    Last edited by jonny b; November 19th, 2008 at 10:26 PM.
    Thanks
    JB

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    3,410
    Why didn't you say that in the first place? Did you update the bios? Did you install all service packs and updates (XP?)?

    If your system is running ok, I don't think this is a big deal. If you had a 3.2 and it was only running at 1.6, then I'd be worried.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Big Bear Lake, California
    Posts
    1,559
    Yes did the bios updates and anything that I needed from Dell. I have Service Pack 3 on it as well
    It's a Dimension 4400
    But don't you think it is strange to have these different specs on this PC? I have another one that is a Precision with a 2Ghz P4 and it seems to run alot faster. So who is right the OS or the bios on what processor this is?

    If it is a 3.2 then I want it to scream.
    Thanks
    JB

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    3,410
    If you bought a 1.6, then it's a 1.6. You can bump up the ram if anything.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Big Bear Lake, California
    Posts
    1,559
    Congratulations everyone. Everyone is stumped why My Computer Properties and Device Manager says that my CPU is a 3.2Ghz but the bios says 1.6Ghz. And there are no settings in the Bios to turn off Hyperthreading and

    A 1.6 Pentium 4 should not be a hyperthreader.

    I am trying to put an image of what CPUz says but I haven't been able to do that yet. Let me try again.

    Last edited by jonny b; November 20th, 2008 at 02:39 PM.
    Thanks
    JB

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    3,410

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Big Bear Lake, California
    Posts
    1,559
    Yea, read that but it did not tell me to do anything but to view your processor name to see what's listed there. I did see it there listed three times with 0 and 1's

    It doesn't help much if they did not tell what to modify. They said to back up the registery and then modify but not how to modify.

    Another stupid article from Microsoft that leads no where.
    Thanks
    JB

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Big Bear Lake, California
    Posts
    1,559
    I just took of the heatsink and it does say 3.2ghz on it. CPUz says Core speed is 1595.5 though.
    Thanks
    JB

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •