I want to make my Inspiron 530 blazing fast!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: I want to make my Inspiron 530 blazing fast!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3

    I want to make my Inspiron 530 blazing fast!

    But don't really know how to go about it...

    I'll just give anyone who reads this post as much information as possible..

    Any suggestions you have will be greatly appreciated!!!

    ACPI x64-based PC

    I'm running 64-bit Vista Ultimate Service Pack 1

    Processor

    Name: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300
    Codename: Yorkfield
    Package: Socket 775 LGA
    Technology: 45nm
    Average Core Voltage 1.200 V
    Family: 6
    Ext Family: 6
    Model: 7
    Ext Model: 17
    Stepping: 7
    Revision: M1

    Clocks

    Core speed: 1999.0-2500.0
    Multiplier: 6.0-7.5
    Bus Speed: 332.5 MHz
    Rated FSB: 1300+ MHz
    L1 Data: 4X32 KB
    L1 Inst: 4X32 KB
    Level 2: 2X3072 KB

    Motherboard
    Manufacturer: Dell
    Model: OFM586
    Chipset: Intel P35/G33/G31
    Southbridge: Intel 82801IR (ICH9R)
    LPCIO: ITE - IT8718
    Graphics Interface: PCI-Express Max Supported 16X

    Memory

    Type: DDR2
    Size: 6144MB
    Channels: Dual
    DC Mode: Symmetric
    DRAM Frequency: 332.5 MHz
    FSB/DRAM - 1:1

    Speed

    Max Bandwidth: PC2-5300 (333 MHz)
    Manufacturer Samsung

    Video Card

    NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT

    THANK YOU ALL IN ADVANCE,

    -Mildly Retarted Newbie

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    2,672
    Welcome to HWC

    If it's not blazing fast now - send it back.
    "Imagine a world where dogs took bad owners to the pound."


    http://www.hopeforpaws.org/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3
    ok

    Thank you for the warm welcome! ~ Are you saying I can't make it go any faster?
    Last edited by d2lanoue; November 20th, 2008 at 08:33 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    2,672
    For a few hundred dollars you could get a new mobo/case/copy of Vista and look into over clocking since your current mobo won't allow it.
    "Imagine a world where dogs took bad owners to the pound."


    http://www.hopeforpaws.org/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3
    OK ~ Thanks for your suggestion!

    If I get a new motherboard will that wipe out everything on my hard drive?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    3,387
    You cannot buy a new motherboard without buying a new Vista license as well. The Vista that comes with your Dell is bios-coded, so it will only validate with Dell motherboards.

    That is a pretty fast system already.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,266
    You can click on the link below for tweaks,
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    3,849
    If I were you, I'd stick with what you have.

    You could buy an Intel Solid State hard disk for a huge amount of money now, which would speed it up a fair amount, or wait 12-18 months and do the same thing for half the price. That's the only thing I would consider changing.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •