TNT & 3DSMAX
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Thread: TNT & 3DSMAX

Hybrid View

TNT & 3DSMAX

Hi, there, could anyone help me with this?

I work as a graphic designer using 3DSMAX.
    At my work I've got a PentiumII 400Mhz with a Diamond Viper550 TNT video card.
    For MAX you can choose between three drivers:
    - Heidi (software)
    - OpenGL
    - Direct3D
    When I use the Heidi driver things work like a charm, but this doesn't use the TNT hardware.
    When I try the OpenGL driver things get messy: transparent objects aren't transparent and when I display "edged faces" the wireframe and the faces are offset to each other. Same thing with the Direct3D driver (BTW does this use TNT hardware and is it any slower than OpenGL?)

So what's this all about? Is this a bug in the OpenGL driver or do I have to use a special 3DSMAX OpenGL driver or what?

Heres the deal. Nvidia has the best OpenGl ICD of all the game card companies. IT does work in opengl apps, but is not really a powerful full featured icd. Heidi wroks good because it is done in software, not by the TnT. Direct X support for max is useless. It just exists to be there. There is not really a "bug." It is more like the proper ICD is the reason soem cards cost 1500.00 or more. Nvidias ICD is getting better all the time. and with the NV10(which has traingle and lighting setup) will probably have a "real" ICD. But for now, use the heidi software mode. Heidi hardware is great too, but the TnT does not support it.
    I didn't know she was your sister...I swear!

Make your employer get you a real 3D card! Even a cheap one (FireGL 1000 or Oxygen 102) would speed things up considerably. Let's face it, 3DSMax is the hugest resource hog of any program I've ever seen. A good OpenGL accelerator is an almost necessity so you don't spend 5 hours out of a workday waiting for screen redraws.