Hard Disk capacity issue
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Hard Disk capacity issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3

    Hard Disk capacity issue

    Hello,
    Does anybody know if Intel's desktop board D850GB (850 chipset) supports HD larger than 137 GB ?
    I suspect that the 850 chipset does not support HD larger then 137GB, but I could not find any hard evidence...
    The Intel website does not state the maximum capacity for HD on this particular MB (which supports ATA-100/66 IDE).
    When I tried to connect a new 250GB HD, the BIOS recognizes the model correctly (WD250H), but only recognizes maximum capacity of 137GB.
    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,202
    Quote Originally Posted by gyeshu
    ... if Intel's desktop board D850GB (850 chipset) supports HD larger than 137 GB ? ...
    It should.

    Double check the operating system CD in question.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    3,369
    did you update the bios?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3
    not yet, I intend to.
    Still, it looks to me like a chipset capabilty, rather than BIOS version issue.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    3,369
    The 850 chipset does support 48-bit LBA.

    What OS are you installing? Are you sure it's the bios and not the OS that is only recognizing 137G? If you are using win2k pre sp3 or winxp gold, then you'll have to slipstream your OS disc with a higher service pack.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3
    I'm looking at the BIOS screen (OS is not up yet) - it recognizes the HD model, but shows maximum capacity of 137GB. I boot from CD and run partition magic, and of course it shows the same disk capacity.
    I have updated the BIOS to last version (P18) - no change.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,202
    Quote Originally Posted by gyeshu
    ... at the BIOS screen (OS is not up yet) - it recognizes the HD model, but shows maximum capacity of 137GB...
    HDD jumper settings.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •