[RESOLVED] Diamond Viper V330 not working?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: [RESOLVED] Diamond Viper V330 not working?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6

    Thumbs up [RESOLVED] Diamond Viper V330 not working?

    Did a format and fresh install of WIN98 on an old PC for my son.
    Wish I had made sure I had the driver disks stored somewhere!!
    Have a Diamond Viper V330 nVidia 128 PCI card installed in system.
    Worked fine yesterday, won't work after fresh install of WIN98.
    Downloaded a world of drivers, non of which seem to work, any suggestions please?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,266
    Quote Originally Posted by ozsbg
    ... Downloaded a world of drivers, non of which seem to work...
    List drivers already tried.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6

    Drivers I have downloaded

    1.[EXE] DIAMOND VIPER VER 330 WIN 3-1 WIN 95 NT - 9.26 MB - 14-Jun-06
    (From Diamond MM Website) and 2. RIVA128 Driver for Windows 9x PCI - Version: 3.37 - File Size: 1MB (from Nvidia website)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    3,387
    did you try manually forcing the drivers from device manager?
    this link relates to winme, but the procedure is similar.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/258934

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6
    Yes, I have done this.
    I read somewhere that I should set the display adapter to standard VGA first and then install driver via device manager as you have suggested i.e. not using the InControl tools software. I even formatted and reinstalled Win98 again, thinking that I would purge the registry of any referneces to Diamond software before trying to load driver via device manger. Bloody thing keeps telling me there is a problem and forcing display back to 640 x 480 at 16 colours. Is it something to do with Win98. I can't remember wich version of WIN98 I had on this PC, perhaps I had Win98se previously. Can't find a copy in any of the boxes of discs though. Would the operating system have any effect?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,266
    If applicable,
    Leave only the PCI video card in the mobo,
    Specifically in PCI slot 1.
    No other PCI expansion cards,
    Then test for driver installation.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6
    I have now located the video card in PCI slot. Sound Card is removed.
    When I started up, Win98 detected Diamond Viper V330 Card and installed drivers. When I restart Windows, I get error re "Your display adapter is not configured properly ...

    I did notice on the boot up under the "PCI Device Listings" that while IRQ's had been assigned to the IDE COntroller and Serial Bus Controller, the Display Controller IRQ is "NA". Is this a problem??

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6
    Sorry, that should read "... video card in PCI slot 1."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,266
    If applicable,
    Reverse you current settings in the CMOS/BIOS menu regarding Plug and Play OS.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,266
    Quote Originally Posted by ozsbg
    ... When I restart Windows, I get error re "Your display adapter is not configured properly ...
    If mobo/system has onboard video chip,
    Confirm that it is disabled.

    Forgot to mention,
    For future reference,
    State brand and full model of the mobo/system in question.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6
    HAPPY, HAPPY, HAPPY!
    All good now, thanks for help and to get the brain ticking in the right direction.
    I enabled IRQ allocation - success.
    I remember now a long time ago bying a PCI USB Card, unfortunately it didn't work because the mobo was too old apparently. System keeps "Found new hardware - USB Root Hub". Not too concerned, I am sure I can turn that off. Wife has stopped me working on it now as son has to go to bed and stop playing with dad and the computer!
    Sound card wasn't working either, but that is going as well now.
    Thanks again!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,266
    Glad that we could provide some assistance.
    Congrats on getting it up and running.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •