[RESOLVED] DVD burner installation question
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [RESOLVED] DVD burner installation question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    3

    Thumbs up [RESOLVED] DVD burner installation question

    I just received this burner in the mail: LG 18X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe Black IDE Model GSA-H54LK - OEM

    this is link if u need more info: http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16827136127

    it came with no cords, im guessing my IDE from the CD-ROM drive will work, but should this be a master or slave? how do i know if my other DVD-ROM drive is a master or slave?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    3,409
    you would need to look at the jumper in the back of your current drive to see if it is master/slave or cable select. the easiest way would be to set up both drives with the cable select option.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,271
    Presuming that current system makes use of PATA/IDE drives only and no SATA drives are involved...

    Quote Originally Posted by TheJuiceMan
    ... it came with no cords, im guessing my IDE from the CD-ROM drive will work...
    Any standard PATA/IDE cable should work.


    Quote Originally Posted by TheJuiceMan
    ... but should this be a master or slave? ...
    Preferably configured as Secondary Master.
    If using HDD with ATA/IDE interface,
    The HDD would typically be configured as Primary Master.


    Quote Originally Posted by TheJuiceMan
    ... how do i know if my other DVD-ROM drive is a master or slave?
    As already pointed out by Midknyte,
    You will have to remove your current CD/DVD drive and look at the jumper settings located at the back of the drive.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    3

    bleh

    originally i had a CD-ROM drive and a DVD-ROM drive, i replaced the CD-ROM drive with a DVD burner, the DVD-ROM had only the IDE and power connected to it, all i did was unhook the CD-ROM drive and replace with the DVD burner, the burner drive plays DVD's but when i put a blank DVD in there and goto windows explorer to look at the blank DVD info, i get this - D:\ is not accessible; incorrect function, also the burner drive goes from being listed as DVD-RAM drive to CD drive, is this normal?

    -also, there is no SATA

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    3,409
    if there is no data on the disc, then it would say it's not accessible. you'd need a burning program like nero to write data to the disc.

    the description is really minor. i've seen it change just because you put a cd in versus a dvd. don't fuss about it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    3
    thanks guys. nero told me that the new burner i put in is secondary master and the old drive is secondary slave. i think its operational now. i guess i dont need to worry about the plug inputs to right of the drive.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •