Can I use two dsl routers in the same phone line?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Can I use two dsl routers in the same phone line?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1

    Can I use two dsl routers in the same phone line?

    is there any way to use two dsl routers on the same phone line? (what about simultaneously) The fact is that I wanna share my dsl line with a friend who lives in a far room, but i don't want her to enter in my place to turn on the router when she wants to use the internet connection (because i have to turn it off when i'm out) .
    is there other way she can access to internet using my line but without having to depend on my router? Thank you for helping

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    6,916
    You can only have one DSL modem active on a phone line at once.

    Why do you think you need to turn your router off when you're out?
    Safe computing is a habit, not a toolkit.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    3,410
    Quote Originally Posted by Tuttle
    You can only have one DSL modem active on a phone line at once.

    Why do you think you need to turn your router off when you're out?
    what he said. there is no reason to turn off the router. DSL and Cable are meant to be "always on". you're making it harder than it has to be.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    288
    They may have a "Lite" account or something similar where they pay for overages and want to turn the modem off to prevent bandwidth theft.

    At any rate by empirical experimentation I have found it seems to make no difference if you have 1 or 2 DSL modems attached to a single line, although if both are running on at the same time the second one powered up will take a while to sync. Also they can't be assigning the same DHCP pool or be the same IP for gateway, but thats the same as having any two routers in the same network. Most DSL ISPs allow 2 concurrent logins...one is supposed to be for dialup access but since they generally go to the same authentication server it lets you do this by DSL as well.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by kaulbach View Post
    They may have a "Lite" account or something similar where they pay for overages and want to turn the modem off to prevent bandwidth theft.

    At any rate by empirical experimentation I have found it seems to make no difference if you have 1 or 2 DSL modems attached to a single line, although if both are running on at the same time the second one powered up will take a while to sync. Also they can't be assigning the same DHCP pool or be the same IP for gateway, but thats the same as having any two routers in the same network. Most DSL ISPs allow 2 concurrent logins...one is supposed to be for dialup access but since they generally go to the same authentication server it lets you do this by DSL as well.
    Hi Kaulbach,

    Your post gave me hope. I am trying to get internet to a room where wifi doesn't reach, and where cabling, a second dsl line, or power line are not options. But there's a dsl phone jack all set up. I wonder if you could give a bit more info on this? So, a modem may work if i change the DHCP pool and IP? Any pointers on doing that? Am not a tech whiz, but i can get into the modem gateway.

    thanks,

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    367
    Quote Originally Posted by networkme View Post

    But there's a dsl phone jack all set up.
    1) This thread is 8 years old.

    2) How do you know that DSL phone jack is "all set up"? Just because there is a telephone jack there doesn't mean the service is actually turned On and working. Plug a regular old telephone into it and see if you hear a dial tone. If you don't, you'll need to call your telephone company and have them: 1) activate telephone service on that line, and 2) activate DSL on that line as well. Of course they'll now be sending you a monthly bill for both of these services.
    Doc

    ____________http://www.microsoft.com/security____________
    \____________________ ____.-.____ ____________________/
    \_____________\ -._)!(_.- /_____________/
    \_______\. ~\ /~ ./_______/
    \_______/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by SpywareDr View Post
    1) This thread is 8 years old.

    2) How do you know that DSL phone jack is "all set up"? Just because there is a telephone jack there doesn't mean the service is actually turned On and working. Plug a regular old telephone into it and see if you hear a dial tone. If you don't, you'll need to call your telephone company and have them: 1) activate telephone service on that line, and 2) activate DSL on that line as well. Of course they'll now be sending you a monthly bill for both of these services.
    Hi,

    I have dsl internet set up. I cannot get a second DSL line because there are no more available in my area. I want to use the phone jack in the new office to hook up a modem/router/repeater to give internet to that room as well. But everyone says you can't have two modems on one DSL line.

    thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    367
    Quote Originally Posted by networkme View Post

    But everyone says you can't have two modems on one DSL line.
    That is correct. Unless your DSL provider has some sort of a "two DSL modem on one line" solution available.
    Doc

    ____________http://www.microsoft.com/security____________
    \____________________ ____.-.____ ____________________/
    \_____________\ -._)!(_.- /_____________/
    \_______\. ~\ /~ ./_______/
    \_______/

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •