Any Cheap Yet Powerful Graphics Cards Out There
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Any Cheap Yet Powerful Graphics Cards Out There

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    239

    Question Any Cheap Yet Powerful Graphics Cards Out There

    I have an AGP Nvidia 6800 card, and its not GT or GS or anything just plain 6800. It pretty much ****s, and ever since I've had it in my games, all my games, just lagg.

    Anyway, is there any better graphics card out there for like 50, maybe used ones? maybe even the same model but one of those GT or GS (Whatever they stand for) ones? Because I'm getting sick of this one

    BTW, Are the PCI cards any good, they are CHEAP and higher models than mine, and I don't mean PCI-Express, just PCI, like the sound card type PCI

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Honestly, no - for 50 you can't get anything faster than what you already have. But you could sell it for about that much and get something quite a bit better for 100 or thereabouts.

    Have you tried overclocking? You might also be able to unlock the full 16 pipelines.
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    239
    That sounds really complicated lol, I have installed a program which came with the card called 'ASUS Smart Doctor' It has a feature called the 'Hyper-Drive' (Everyone remember Star Wars) I dont really know what it does but it has two adjustable bars on it, one saying Engine and the other Memory.

    When I move the bars up just the slightest, it tells me the settings are above factory default and my system may become unstable, So I just leave it as I dont know what I'm doing lol.

    I do however have the hyperdrive on one of three preset modes called 3D-GAME MODE. The other two being CPU MODE & TEMP MODE.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    3,387
    your 6800NU is way better than any PCI video card. don't bother looking.

    The 6800NU is a decently powerful card. what cpu are you running? if your cpu is too slow, then you'd be bottlenecking the card. did you do a clean install of windows? did you update your chipset and video drivers?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    239
    I just recently full formatted and installed windows xp, I have an AMD Athlon 64 3500+ CPU and have updated to the latest CPU and Nvidia drivers

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    3500+ should be fine. Can you give us an example of a game where it lags with the settings you are using (AA, AF, quality settings etc)?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    239
    counter-Strike: Source - All lowest settings, laggs A LOT, basically, I was playing online with my friends the other day, and by the end of the game, everyone was saying I was lagging so much, I was moving like that girl from that horror film 'The Ring'

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    3,387
    I think you're barking up the wrong tree. if it's a net game, then it might be your connection, not your video card. does the system lag when you run a local game or a benchmark like 3dmark?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    2,676
    Midknyte is right. That is not a bad setup for CS playing. Heck a 9600XT would run it fine even online for my son before I upgraded his computer. Are you on dial-up or something?

    With a good cable connection you should have no trouble at all, especially at the lowest resolutions.

    Current Main Rig:
    AMD FX55 @ 2.9 GHz
    2 GB PC 3200 DDR RAM
    ABIT KN8 SLi motherboard
    ATI X1900XT O/C to XTX speeds

    Retired Rig:
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @ 2387 MHz. (217*11)
    512MB DDR RAM @ 436 MHz. (PC 3700)
    Abit AN7 motherboard
    BFG GeForce 6800GT OC!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    110
    are you connected with wireless?
    My Pc:
    MSI 915P COMBO/XFX 6600GT PCI-E/P4 3.0 Ghz HT (1 MB L2 CACHE)/80 GB WD SATA/2 GB DDR400 G.Skill /NEC DVD/CD RW

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma, USA
    Posts
    1,253
    My system runs counter-strike source at high graphics. So yeah, there is something else wrong.
    Intel 2500k @ 4.5 GHz | Sapphire 6870 1GB | 8GB DDR31600 | Gigabyte Z68A-D3H-B3 | 640 GB WD Caviar Black | 500GB WD something | ASUS Xonar DS | Logitech Z-5300e | Logitech G500 | Das Keyboard Cherry MX Brown | Dell S2740L

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    239
    Yes I do have wireless internet.

    I ran CS online, laggs, a few weeks ago my wireless router went dead, so I had no interent what-so-ever, I ran CS offline, laggs, someone explain this? How can it lagg if it is a problem with the internet if there is no internet connection?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    110
    I have the 6600GT(which is worst than yours) and I run Bf2 at medium and 1152X864 perfectly!,Cs:source or half-life 2: deathmatch at high 1280X1024 with no lags.


    I asked you about wireless because before when I had wireless I had 2 seconds lags all the time!, specially when I was going to fire.I switched to ethernet and all lags gone!! but its weird if it happens to you while offline.

    good luck
    Last edited by hieg; August 2nd, 2006 at 11:52 AM.
    My Pc:
    MSI 915P COMBO/XFX 6600GT PCI-E/P4 3.0 Ghz HT (1 MB L2 CACHE)/80 GB WD SATA/2 GB DDR400 G.Skill /NEC DVD/CD RW

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma, USA
    Posts
    1,253
    Wireless gave me trouble, thats why I don't use it. If you can run ethernet cables through your house it'll be easier
    Intel 2500k @ 4.5 GHz | Sapphire 6870 1GB | 8GB DDR31600 | Gigabyte Z68A-D3H-B3 | 640 GB WD Caviar Black | 500GB WD something | ASUS Xonar DS | Logitech Z-5300e | Logitech G500 | Das Keyboard Cherry MX Brown | Dell S2740L

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    3,387
    what are your GPU temps like? it could be your card overheating and throttling back.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •