Dell Latitude LS CPU
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Dell Latitude LS CPU

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    6

    Question Latitude LS processor

    Hi Just wondering if some one will be kind to tell me what type of processor I need to buy to replace the faulty one in my dell latitude LS. I know it is a P111 but am not sure if the one used in the C series will be ok. Many thanks for your help
    Neant2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    6

    Dell Latitude LS CPU

    Hi Guys
    I have been told that the processor of Dell latitude LS if faulty. Can someone please tell me all the latitude series have the same processor. I want to replace it with a used one but do not know which one to get> I know that it is P111.
    many thanks for your help
    neant2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Independence, MO
    Posts
    8,071
    Are you sure the CPU is faulty? Rarely do CPUs fail. Typically the motherboard or some other component dies first.
    Give what you cannot keep to gain what you cannot lose.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C., Canada
    Posts
    8,096
    Quote Originally Posted by ThreeOnTheTree
    Are you sure the CPU is faulty? Rarely do CPUs fail. Typically the motherboard or some other component dies first.
    I strongly second that opinion.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,266
    Quote Originally Posted by neant2
    ... all the latitude series have the same processor...
    No.
    Even among the LS series, references to P!!! 350 to P!!! 500 is mentioned.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    6
    Thank you all for your replies.
    In fact I had the laptop checked and I was informed that it is the CPU that has failed. The laptop just freezes after about five minutes. when I restart it I get no picture at all. Then if I leave it for a few mins and turn it on again it does the same freezing stuff after some five mins.
    It is a P3. 500 mgz. Any further suggestion will be welcome
    many thanks

    Neant2

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    6
    Hi its me agin.
    The guy who checked it put the CPU in another laptop and it the same problem occurred
    cheers
    neant2

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    11,079
    Using the same cooling mechanism? Maybe overheating.
    R.I.P Rangeral, To one of HWC's best moderators and a great guy

    By the way, what does BTW stand for?

    It is better to be tried by 12, than carried by 6.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •