Savage3d w/ FIC VA-503+ Mobo?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Savage3d w/ FIC VA-503+ Mobo?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 1998
    Location
    Spokane, WA, USA
    Posts
    6

    Savage3d w/ FIC VA-503+ Mobo?

    Hey there, I have a FIC VA-503+ Motherboard with the VIA MVP3 chipset. I was wondering if S3's Savage 3d card works with my motherboard. I think I read somewheres that it said that the Savage is designed for the Intel BX chipset. Dunno, like to hear from somebody.
    Thanks,
    Andy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Jamestown, NY, USA
    Posts
    215
    Andy,
    Try the topic:
    Savage3D/Banshee/TNT??

    On Tom's Motherboard Forum At Delphi.com somebody gave the address of a site with a review of the
    savage. Sounds like a great card but I think it might have a few bugs left in it.

    Good luck.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Posts
    1,424
    I will say this: s3 recently relesed 3d-now enhanced drivers for the Supercharged Savage 3d that put it almost on par with a V2. Why dont you hold out for a month, the Savage 4 will be out in march, and I must say it will kick some serious butt.

    Oh yeah: Dont beleive this bull that any card is designed for Intel chipsets, EVERY AGP card is "designed" for intel chipsets, simply because thats where AGP originated from.
    This signature space FOR SALE

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Posts
    1,424
    I will say this: s3 recently relesed 3d-now enhanced drivers for the Supercharged Savage 3d that put it almost on par with a V2. Why dont you hold out for a month, the Savage 4 will be out in march, and I must say it will kick some serious butt.

    Oh yeah: Dont beleive this bull that any card is designed for Intel chipsets, EVERY AGP card is "designed" for intel chipsets, simply because thats where AGP originated from.
    This signature space FOR SALE

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Jamestown, NY, USA
    Posts
    215
    MadCat

    I did not notice the date on Andy_b29's post did you? Kind of an old one. I just noticed the part about the Savage. I am in the market for a new agp for my own FIC VA-503+ with AMD 350. Not in any hurry so will wait for the Savage 4.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    5
    I have the 503+ motherboard with a K6-2 300 and I tried 4 different tnt agp cards and could get none of them to work properly. Best I could do was 10 minutes between lockups. Used the latest drivers for each (and the not latest drivers); used the latest bios for the motherboard, all with bad results. After much netsurfing, I got the distinct impression that AGP slot on socket 7 motherboards is a work in progress.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •