how to share a tv tuner card among three computers
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: how to share a tv tuner card among three computers

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1

    Talking how to share a tv tuner card among three computers

    I have a local network within 4 computers and one of them have a tv tuner card, i need to know how can i share this card to others via network obviusly, im runnin over windows and two computers in linux/windows, i need the answer pls, any clue can help me

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    12,263
    You can't, except with remote desktop and the quality would be very poor at best.

    Intel I5 750 @ 2.67 Ghz, 4gb GSkill DDR3 1600, GB P55M-UD2, XFX Radeon 5850. , Seagate Constellation ES 1 TB, Seasonic Gold 620w, Win Vista Ultimate, Toshiba 32" HDTV


    E6750 Core 2 Duo, 2GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800, GB P35C-DS3R MB, ATI Radeon X1950XT, Seagate 7200.9 320GB, Win XP Pro SP2, Enermax Liberty 500w


    HWC Folding@Home Team -- Learn How to Join the Team Here ---Detailed Stats

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    6,916
    Quote Originally Posted by jankerson
    You can't, except with remote desktop and the quality would be very poor at best.
    Remote desktop etc won't work at all; you just get a black window or a message saying "overlay not available" or similar. You'll need something designed to stream video over a network.
    Safe computing is a habit, not a toolkit.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Independence, MO
    Posts
    8,071
    ...except with remote desktop and the quality would be very poor at best.
    Oh my, that's an understatement! I don't think MS ever designed remote desktop with audio and video streaming in mind.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New London, CT
    Posts
    1,888
    Run a linux MythTV backend server with the tuner card.

    Run a MythTV or WinMyth frontend on the clients.

    However, similar to satellite systems, you can only tune one channel per tuner card, so you better hope you all want to watch the same thing.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,332
    Frameservers are what you are after. They serve frames from whatever device.

    There are many.

    Still the tuner can only tune a single channel at a time.

    I suggest you all get TV cards.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,332
    and usually video overlays don't show up because they are not RGB (maybe YUY2+, UVUY etc)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    1
    As for me, i prefer using this software https://www.flexihub.com/share-tv-tu...r-network.html to share a TV tuner among other computers. Moreover, this is a cross-platform solution, which can be found helpful by someone.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •