Targus Mini Usb hub, needs power?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Targus Mini Usb hub, needs power?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Big Bear Lake, California
    Posts
    1,559

    Targus Mini Usb hub, needs power?

    Got one of these today from an auction. Do I need the power supply for this 4 port mini usb hub or extension? Or will it work properly without extra power?
    Thanks
    JB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    6,916
    Depends on what you attach. For keyboard, mouse etc it'll probably be fine without the power supply. For devices with higher power requirements it'll get problematic without the power supply attached.
    Safe computing is a habit, not a toolkit.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Big Bear Lake, California
    Posts
    1,559
    You mean like a printer? I think that each usb port needs so much voltage to run them don't they?
    I also have a pcmcia card that has only two usb's in it and in the middle of the device is a place to plug in power as well.
    Thanks
    JB

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    6,916
    A USB port can supply up to a certain amount (I think 500mA) of power. If you connect devices to an unpowered hub which use less than that in total, it's fine -- the hub can just share the power from the PC. If your total requirement is more than that, you'll have issues unless the hub has its own power supply.
    Safe computing is a habit, not a toolkit.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Big Bear Lake, California
    Posts
    1,559
    So if I do find a ps then it should be rated at 2000ma for all 4 ports?
    Thanks
    JB

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    6,916
    Same as any other piece of equipment -- use whatever voltage and current rating the device is expecting. With any luck the label on the hub will tell you what it needs, or else you might find out at the manufacturer's web site.
    Safe computing is a habit, not a toolkit.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Big Bear Lake, California
    Posts
    1,559
    Yes it does. Thanks
    Thanks
    JB

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •