new lappy!!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: new lappy!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    kentucky
    Posts
    818

    new lappy!!

    my dad just ordered a new one, a dell inspiron 6000 to play online poker tourneys. he wants to make it to one of the wpt events by winning a sattelite tourney. it has a 1.3 ghz intel, 256 megs ram, 40 gig hd, integrated video, 24x cd burner/ dvd player, and a 15 inch widescreen. im planning on some movie watchin, warcraft 3 playin, and some burnin. we got a free color printer/scanner/copier, carrying case, and we bought a wifi router and card for it. im gonna leave my pc hardwired, just hook in the router, and he will be wireless. man this thing is gonna be freaking great for full screen dvd watching! i cant wait!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,265
    You might consider getting extra 256Mb of ram (its really cheap nowdays) other then that it looks good, should do all you mentioned, even play WC3.

    That 1.3 Celeron-M is actually rather fast (probably about as fast as 2,4-2,6Ghz P4) and GMA900 is one of the better integrated solutions out there, on par with the speed of MR9600SE, which is what I have in mine.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    I like the idea of widescreen laptops for watching DVDs. You can lie in bed with some decent cans on and put the thing really close to your face for that "cinema experience".

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    12,263
    It will work fine for he wants to use it for.

    Intel I5 750 @ 2.67 Ghz, 4gb GSkill DDR3 1600, GB P55M-UD2, XFX Radeon 5850. , Seagate Constellation ES 1 TB, Seasonic Gold 620w, Win Vista Ultimate, Toshiba 32" HDTV


    E6750 Core 2 Duo, 2GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800, GB P35C-DS3R MB, ATI Radeon X1950XT, Seagate 7200.9 320GB, Win XP Pro SP2, Enermax Liberty 500w


    HWC Folding@Home Team -- Learn How to Join the Team Here ---Detailed Stats

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,508
    Quote Originally Posted by MuFu
    I like the idea of widescreen laptops for watching DVDs. You can lie in bed with some decent cans on and put the thing really close to your face for that "cinema experience".
    LOL my dad does this with mine but i get shoted up every 10 mins because he presses the eject button on the DVD-Rom by mistake and he doesnt know how to work a computer
    Gigabyte Z87M-D3H l Pentium DC 3.2GHz l 16GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Radeon 7750 OC Edition l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Dell OptiPlex 745 l Intel C2D E6600 2.4GHz l 4GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Lenovo ThinkPad T61 l C2D T7700 2.4GHz l 8GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    kentucky
    Posts
    818
    lol its already ordered, and i dunno how or have any desire to add ram. it should run pretty fast.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    12,263
    Quote Originally Posted by resStealth
    lol its already ordered, and i dunno how or have any desire to add ram. it should run pretty fast.

    Not really with only 256mb of ram.

    Min would be 512mb for the best smoothest operation with XP.

    Remember you have intergrated graphics and are running XP.

    Open a few browser windows and email and you are running on the swap file.

    Intel I5 750 @ 2.67 Ghz, 4gb GSkill DDR3 1600, GB P55M-UD2, XFX Radeon 5850. , Seagate Constellation ES 1 TB, Seasonic Gold 620w, Win Vista Ultimate, Toshiba 32" HDTV


    E6750 Core 2 Duo, 2GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800, GB P35C-DS3R MB, ATI Radeon X1950XT, Seagate 7200.9 320GB, Win XP Pro SP2, Enermax Liberty 500w


    HWC Folding@Home Team -- Learn How to Join the Team Here ---Detailed Stats

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    kentucky
    Posts
    818
    thing is though, its not going to see multi tasking. just poker, or a dvd, one at a time

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    12,263
    Xp will take about 200mb to run by itself, the graphics will take the rest.

    Intel I5 750 @ 2.67 Ghz, 4gb GSkill DDR3 1600, GB P55M-UD2, XFX Radeon 5850. , Seagate Constellation ES 1 TB, Seasonic Gold 620w, Win Vista Ultimate, Toshiba 32" HDTV


    E6750 Core 2 Duo, 2GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800, GB P35C-DS3R MB, ATI Radeon X1950XT, Seagate 7200.9 320GB, Win XP Pro SP2, Enermax Liberty 500w


    HWC Folding@Home Team -- Learn How to Join the Team Here ---Detailed Stats

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    kentucky
    Posts
    818
    hmm well thats not good. thing is, this 56 meg compaq runs, dell must know something that we dont to make it run. they say it is incredibly fast. will wait and see, if not i may convince him to send it back in and get a ram upgrade.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,265
    Well it wont run bad, the trick is not in Dell (nothing special there), but in WinXp.

    When it has less ram, it also uses a bit less (at elast thats what I noticed checking task manager), but eventually you will get less and less ram avilable, so after working for say couple of hours or more you will basically run out of ram. Comp will still work but will get slower.

    As for WC3, forget it with 256MB of ram, it will slow down to the crawl, you will need 512MB at least.

    BTW if your dad wants to play poker online make sure you reboot before he starts and then has only poker program opened, couse you definitely wouldnt want to get some problems while betting.

    And last but not least after you instal SP2 to get at least some sort of fire wall (not bad, but does nothing for programs contacting the net from your computer), you will also need some sort of anti virus software which will impact the amount of ram available.

    Dell will of course say everything is fast, but trust me 512MB is WinXP minimum for satisfactory working enviroment and with todays ram prices it shouldnt really be a problem. You dont need to get the ram from Dell, local comp shop will install one for you and most of the ram will work without problems.
    You can of course do the upgrade yourself as well. Dell should have a manual on their site for where the ram is, then all you have to do is get the right kind of speed (preferably check with the shop if it plays well with particular Dell laptop and/or Intel motherboard and if you can exchange it) then slide it into the empty slot and gently push it down, so it locks. Simple
    I think this should not impact the warranty in any way, but check with Dell if you are not sure. I know HP has no problem with ppl installing ram.
    Last edited by F_A_L_C_O_N; August 9th, 2005 at 05:45 PM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    kentucky
    Posts
    818
    i know how, but im not comfortable doing it. if nothing else, ill take it to a shop.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,508
    if you can install ram in a desktop then you can do it in a laptop, its easyer!
    Gigabyte Z87M-D3H l Pentium DC 3.2GHz l 16GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Radeon 7750 OC Edition l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Dell OptiPlex 745 l Intel C2D E6600 2.4GHz l 4GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Lenovo ThinkPad T61 l C2D T7700 2.4GHz l 8GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    kentucky
    Posts
    818
    lol ill read the manual when it gets here. ships out the 17th of this month

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma, USA
    Posts
    1,253
    Quote Originally Posted by jankerson
    Not really with only 256mb of ram.

    Min would be 512mb for the best smoothest operation with XP.

    Remember you have intergrated graphics and are running XP.

    Open a few browser windows and email and you are running on the swap file.
    Heh, I remember trying to run XP on my pentium 2 It was SLOW!
    Intel 2500k @ 4.5 GHz | Sapphire 6870 1GB | 8GB DDR31600 | Gigabyte Z68A-D3H-B3 | 640 GB WD Caviar Black | 500GB WD something | ASUS Xonar DS | Logitech Z-5300e | Logitech G500 | Das Keyboard Cherry MX Brown | Dell S2740L

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •