NFSU2 and GF6600
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: NFSU2 and GF6600

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Metro Manila Philippines
    Posts
    426

    NFSU2 and GF6600

    Recently got the Leadtek A6600TD. The one with a GF 6600. I was expecting it to play NFSU2 smoothly but to my surprise, it ****ed. Why's this so? Before I got this card I got a temporary one, an ATi R9550 with 256MB and it ran somewhat as fast. What do you guys think is the problem? Or maybe I should install some other version instead of 77.72?
    Core 2 Quad Q9550, ASUS P5QL PRO, 8GB PC2-6400, 120GB SSD, 2x1TB SATA, GeForce GTX 260 SP216

    Core 2 Duo E8500, ASUS P5Q SE2, 8GB PC2-8500, 2x1TB SATA, GeForce GTX 275

    Core 2 Duo E7500, MSI G41M-P28, 4GB PC3-10600, 500GB SATA, GeForce GTX 650

    Pentium E6600, MSI P35 Platinum, 6GB PC2-6400, 500GB SATA, GeForce 8800GT

    P4 650, ASUS P5GD1 PRO, 4GB DC PC3200, 2 x 300GB SATA, GeForce 9500GT

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    6,334
    try uninstalling the old ati drivers first? its been noted that leaving cross-brand video drivers on systems can muck things up

    ps- my 9700p with barton 3200 runs that game no problem moderate resolution

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Make sure you have the latest graphics and chipset drivers along with DX9.0c. See if there are any patches for the game too.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Metro Manila Philippines
    Posts
    426
    I actually have the latest driver and stuff. Problem is, game goes choppy when all the eyecandy is enabled. I wasn't expecting the card to be this weak. I'll try using an older driver. Coz' it felt faster with my 6600GT using 71.89. I hope it works.
    Core 2 Quad Q9550, ASUS P5QL PRO, 8GB PC2-6400, 120GB SSD, 2x1TB SATA, GeForce GTX 260 SP216

    Core 2 Duo E8500, ASUS P5Q SE2, 8GB PC2-8500, 2x1TB SATA, GeForce GTX 275

    Core 2 Duo E7500, MSI G41M-P28, 4GB PC3-10600, 500GB SATA, GeForce GTX 650

    Pentium E6600, MSI P35 Platinum, 6GB PC2-6400, 500GB SATA, GeForce 8800GT

    P4 650, ASUS P5GD1 PRO, 4GB DC PC3200, 2 x 300GB SATA, GeForce 9500GT

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    The non-GT 6600 is pretty slow - barely half the speed of the 6600GT in many cases. You can try overclocking the core, as many people have success reaching ~500MHz, but the memory is unlikely to budge much.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Metro Manila Philippines
    Posts
    426
    I see. But I was expecting the 6600 to be at least double the speed of a R9550. I mean since the reviews say that. OC'd the card to 350/600 and still the same thing. - only a li'l bit better.
    Core 2 Quad Q9550, ASUS P5QL PRO, 8GB PC2-6400, 120GB SSD, 2x1TB SATA, GeForce GTX 260 SP216

    Core 2 Duo E8500, ASUS P5Q SE2, 8GB PC2-8500, 2x1TB SATA, GeForce GTX 275

    Core 2 Duo E7500, MSI G41M-P28, 4GB PC3-10600, 500GB SATA, GeForce GTX 650

    Pentium E6600, MSI P35 Platinum, 6GB PC2-6400, 500GB SATA, GeForce 8800GT

    P4 650, ASUS P5GD1 PRO, 4GB DC PC3200, 2 x 300GB SATA, GeForce 9500GT

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Try running 3DMark as a gauge of DirectX performance. If it is underperforming due to to a driver problem it should be evident there. You should be able to get a lot more out the core than 350Mhz, if you want to try overclocking further.

    You're right in assuming it should be a lot faster than a 9550, given that it's a similar speed to the 9600XT (which is essentially a 9550 with twice the core clock and 150% the memory clock).
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    6,334
    the plain 66 is that much slower than the gt huh? thats crazy... but yeah it shouldnt matter that game runs good without crazy hardware. i would second todds idea about game patches, i remember the first undgerground didnt run good at all until i patched it

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,505
    My GT ran it at 1280X1024 with everything set to medium-high but it wouldn’t run it any higher. So it’s probably correct that you’re having problems
    Shuttle System l Intel Core2Extreme l 8GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    IBM ThinkPad T60 l 2GHz Core2Duo l 4GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    6,334
    thats considerd high resolution though martin, isnt it? he should have no trouble playing the game at a very manageable 1024x768, and its not bad to look at either, i remember turning down the world detail or something made a huge difference as well.... with all of the settings at high the game looks glitzy, but really having only half reflections and such doesnt hurt the feeling of the game.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Metro Manila Philippines
    Posts
    426
    It so seems that this card ain't got it. I was thinking of going back to the shop and having this replaced with something like X700 Pro. It just might be better. Maybe.
    Core 2 Quad Q9550, ASUS P5QL PRO, 8GB PC2-6400, 120GB SSD, 2x1TB SATA, GeForce GTX 260 SP216

    Core 2 Duo E8500, ASUS P5Q SE2, 8GB PC2-8500, 2x1TB SATA, GeForce GTX 275

    Core 2 Duo E7500, MSI G41M-P28, 4GB PC3-10600, 500GB SATA, GeForce GTX 650

    Pentium E6600, MSI P35 Platinum, 6GB PC2-6400, 500GB SATA, GeForce 8800GT

    P4 650, ASUS P5GD1 PRO, 4GB DC PC3200, 2 x 300GB SATA, GeForce 9500GT

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,505
    i played it at 1024X768 on my 9600XT overclocked pretty far and it ran _ok_ not great but ok, i cant remember what the settings were at
    Shuttle System l Intel Core2Extreme l 8GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    IBM ThinkPad T60 l 2GHz Core2Duo l 4GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Quote Originally Posted by Bulge
    It so seems that this card ain't got it. I was thinking of going back to the shop and having this replaced with something like X700 Pro. It just might be better. Maybe.
    The X700 Pro would be quite a bit faster, yep. Actually, I recently built a n A64 3000+ system that used a 6600 (shipping error!) then an X700 Pro. I played NFS:UG2 at 1024x768 on both and the difference was substantial. 4xFSAA at 1024x768 with all the quality settings cranked will probably be fluid on your system.

    If you can stretch to a 6600GT (or X800GT if it's available soon?) that would be even better.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    The Inquirer says next week for the x800GT as they want to sell 60,000 for the back to school rush. The 128MB version is only $150 and the 256MB version with slightly faster clocked memory is likely going to be around $180. If you can unlock the extra pipelines, this would be a mighty card.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •