How could i reduce the sensibility in my car alarm?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How could i reduce the sensibility in my car alarm?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Panama city, Panama
    Posts
    990

    How could i reduce the sensitivity in my car alarm?

    it has a small microphone that "listens" for the break sound if someone breaks the window glass.
    but sometimes my dog barks and it activates the alarm... how could i reduce the sensitivity?

    Should i cover the microphone with a specific material or something?

    and by the way: the alarm has no control for that, only for the movement sensor not for the microphone
    ...and remember...
    ...Panama Rules...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,325
    If there's no way to adjust the sensitivity of the microphone, I'd cover it with a piece of selotape. I'm guessing it would still be triggered by loud noises, such as breaking windows.

    I guess it's no real loss if it wasn't triggered by sound as you still have the moment sensors - if someone steals something lying on your backseat, the alarm may or may not go off, but the thieves will still get what they want. If they try to steal the car, the movement sensors will be triggered anyway.

    Nick
    Main PC: A64 3200+ | 1024MB Kingston RAM (Dual Channel) | WD 160GB | Seagate SATA 160GB w/NCQ | Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe | Connect3D ATi X800XL Pci-E | Coolermaster ATC-710 case | Antec NeoPower 480w PSU | Toshiba 27wl46 27" TFT

    HwC member's gallery - Upload your picture here

    Team HwC Folding@Home results - Find out how to sign up here!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Norfolk VA
    Posts
    75
    Make and model of the alarm would be helpful. I've installed hundreds of car alarms and seen the frazzled people that result from mis-adjusted sensors.
    Every alarm I ever installed, from high end Cliffords and Vipers to cheesy no-name brands, all sensors had adjustments somewhere. I know you say yours doesn't - if thats true, then you probably need to junk it anyway.
    The end result, however, is that sensors and sirens really mostly end up being useless. If a thief busts out your window and grabs your *(name valuable item here)* do you really think that a siren and blinking tailights will make them put it back?
    Most of the higher end cars we did, were mostly anti-theft (of the vehicle), anti-carjack, and extra remote-controlled features, like window and lock controls, remote engine start, and things like that. Sensors and such are 99% annoyance.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Panama city, Panama
    Posts
    990
    I am not sure, the company where i installed it says it's brand "lockar", but i dont know, in the booklet it says nothing about "lockar".

    I guess is a no brand alarm.
    in the booklet says sensor meter (which control only for hits and movements) NOT FOR THE MICROPHONE I wonder, I thought in covering that microphone with masking tape, but i would like to read suggestions.

    gracias
    ...and remember...
    ...Panama Rules...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Panama city, Panama
    Posts
    990
    It looks like covering the microphone with masking tape has not fixed my problem, my dog still barks and sometimes it gets activated because of his bark.

    I DO NOT want to take out the microphone, but i DO NOT want to have my alarm activated for every simple sound.

    what else could I do? (seriously)
    ...and remember...
    ...Panama Rules...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    6,334
    instead of tape, which doesnt absorb much sound, i would try rolling a sock or some other cloth over the mic a few layers. eventually, you will get the mic to loose sensitivity.

    As for a more presice solution, maybe a resistor in-line would work. seeing as i couldnt tell you what one to get, go with an adjustable potentiometer. I really dont know what size you would need, maybe start with a 10k, im sure that will have enough resistance to stop the mic, and you can adjust it down to almost no resistance....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    1,461
    Quote Originally Posted by YankeeMan
    It looks like covering the microphone with masking tape has not fixed my problem, my dog still barks and sometimes it gets activated because of his bark.

    I DO NOT want to take out the microphone, but i DO NOT want to have my alarm activated for every simple sound.

    what else could I do? (seriously)
    OK, not serious but maybe you need to cover the dog's mouth with the masking tape instead
    CPU: Athlon X2 7850 Blackbox edition o/c'd to 3400mhz
    Motherboard: Asus M2N68-AM SE2
    Memory: 4gb Kingston KVR RAM
    Video: BFG Geforce gtx 260 oc v2
    Hard Drives: 1TB Barracuda 7200.12, 500GB WD, 320GB WD, 320GB WD 250GB WD, 250GB Seagate
    Case: APEVIA X-CRUISER-BK Black Steel case
    Power Supply: OCZ 700W StealthXStream Power Supply
    Optical: 22x LG DVD R/W

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Nanaimo,B.C. Canada
    Posts
    2,162
    A dap of silicone would work better than tape ,but it may not be able to be removed as easy if you change your mind.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    6,334
    i think the mic may be picking up vibrations through the chassis, as tape doesnt seem to help. maybe mounting it differently would help, like use foam washers on the mounts or something....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Panama city, Panama
    Posts
    990
    what could you suggest me to mount that foam ??? because it's driving me crazy.

    cheers.
    ...and remember...
    ...Panama Rules...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •