Really Weird LCD Problem
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Really Weird LCD Problem

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,508

    Really Weird LCD Problem

    im having a really weird problem with my LG L1715S 17" LCD.

    lastnight i noticed a line of what looked like dead pixels right down the monitor from top to bottom, so i plugged in my old iiyama 17" CRT and the line wasn't their. pluged the LCD back in and it was their again, so i thought it must be the monitor. it was only happening when displaying the colour blue though.

    i then fixed it in a really weird way by doing the following...

    you know when you click and hold your left mouse button and move the mouse it creates a little box thing? well i done that right down the line and it dissapeared

    so its been fine all day but its done it again tonight!

    ive tried removing the monitor drivers and restarting etc but its still their so going to remove the video card drivers and try that.

    anyone had this problem?

    EDIT: its happening at 1024X768 too in the exact same place.

    EDIT 2: It also seems to be flickering slightly and sometimes dissapearing at some places so its not a full line anymore where lastnight it was.
    Gigabyte Z87M-D3H l Pentium DC 3.2GHz l 16GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Radeon 7750 OC Edition l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Dell OptiPlex 745 l Intel C2D E6600 2.4GHz l 4GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Lenovo ThinkPad T61 l C2D T7700 2.4GHz l 8GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,508
    Here's some pictures for you of the problem. sorry about the quality they were taken with my webcam.



    Gigabyte Z87M-D3H l Pentium DC 3.2GHz l 16GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Radeon 7750 OC Edition l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Dell OptiPlex 745 l Intel C2D E6600 2.4GHz l 4GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Lenovo ThinkPad T61 l C2D T7700 2.4GHz l 8GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,265
    Try setting yout monitor to factory defaults, then adjust the phase, if the line remains,

    try the monitor on another comp.
    You could just leve it on, hooked up to the server, for example.

    If the line is still there when used on another comp, then, I gues, RMA it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,508
    ive tried all the factory defaults etc but never thought about trying it on another computer ill plug it into my laptop since thats what im using at the moment

    thanks

    EDIT: just pluged it into my laptop and it looks like its RMA time
    Last edited by Martin_89; January 16th, 2005 at 09:49 AM.
    Gigabyte Z87M-D3H l Pentium DC 3.2GHz l 16GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Radeon 7750 OC Edition l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Dell OptiPlex 745 l Intel C2D E6600 2.4GHz l 4GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Lenovo ThinkPad T61 l C2D T7700 2.4GHz l 8GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,508
    just ran the winamp visualisations and it dissapeared after it!

    now that i think back i was running them before it appeared in the first place
    Gigabyte Z87M-D3H l Pentium DC 3.2GHz l 16GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Radeon 7750 OC Edition l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Dell OptiPlex 745 l Intel C2D E6600 2.4GHz l 4GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Lenovo ThinkPad T61 l C2D T7700 2.4GHz l 8GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,508
    its back again!!

    looks like its defo getting RMA'd
    Gigabyte Z87M-D3H l Pentium DC 3.2GHz l 16GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Radeon 7750 OC Edition l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Dell OptiPlex 745 l Intel C2D E6600 2.4GHz l 4GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Lenovo ThinkPad T61 l C2D T7700 2.4GHz l 8GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

  7. #7
    ol' man is offline workin fingas to the bone
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    9,664
    I would check the cable too though. Have you checked that? I doubt that is the problem but my LCD started giving me problems lately. I found out it was the cable. I replaced it and everything was fine. It was nothing like your problem though.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,508
    ill try and get a spare cable to check it because its dissapeared again!
    Gigabyte Z87M-D3H l Pentium DC 3.2GHz l 16GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Radeon 7750 OC Edition l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Dell OptiPlex 745 l Intel C2D E6600 2.4GHz l 4GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Lenovo ThinkPad T61 l C2D T7700 2.4GHz l 8GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •