A bit of 6600GT overclocking results
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: A bit of 6600GT overclocking results

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,265

    Thumbs up A bit of 6600GT overclocking results

    Tried some OCing of the new XFX 6600GT today.
    Which, BTW, is always a dangerous thing after a rather sleepless night

    At this point Id like to send condolences to everyone affected by the ongoing disaster and frankly new year days celebrations were a bit muted even down here.

    Back on the topic, man this card overclocks.
    With Riva tuner installed, it goes up to 572/1140 and thats only by utilizing "detect optimal frequencies" button

    No artifacts in 3dmark 2001SE, after I left it running for couple of hours to get something to eat.

    at this clock I get:
    8397 in 3dmark 2003 (7793 default on fresh install)
    and
    3560 in 3dmark 2005 (3167 default on fresh install)

    and Aquamark3 score is:
    52240 (it was bellow 50000 on default)

    Now this are not optimized results by any means. With everyday stuff of about 200MB of ram running in the background and Nvidia 66.93 drivers at default settings.
    But then again, these are realistic results, since I doubt many ppl actually create different windows profile, to play the game

    Also I am pretty sure this card can go higher, I am just not willing to push it yet until its thoroughly tested at these speeds.
    Actually I am even lowering it speeds to 550/1100 for everyday use, bc frankly there is enugh power there to run HL2 as is and to run UT2004 any faster, Id need something of a X800XTpe class and especially A64 CPU, since the game is CPU bound.

    Oh and the quality of TV-out still keeps amazing me, this is the first card when one is actually able to surf the net via the TV, not that this is in any way advisable.
    Windows high definition clips are simply perfect and HL2 looks incrediable, really no card I ever had comes close to what the quality of this TV output is, not to mention it actually runs at 1024*786 on a TV.
    Last edited by F_A_L_C_O_N; January 1st, 2005 at 11:14 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,265
    There were some reports on Rage3d of XFX cards with subpar cooling solution.
    This is mine:



    and its a good one, the one also tested on Anandtech, where they said its by far the coolest of the bunch.
    And man they were right, I have yet to see temp to rise over 50C, quite amazing, IMO

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Nice going. That should keep you frag'n along at a good clip.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,265
    Thanks Todd

    This card really is a keeper.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,506
    whats the standard clock speeds on it?
    Gigabyte Z87M-D3H l Pentium DC 3.2GHz l 16GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Radeon 7750 OC Edition l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Dell OptiPlex 745 l Intel C2D E6600 2.4GHz l 4GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Lenovo ThinkPad T61 l C2D T7700 2.4GHz l 8GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,265
    500/1000
    some AGP versions have slower ram, thus 900 memory, but XFX, for now at least, ships PCIe equivalent.

    I have heard some are hitting 600 core on air and looks like this one is capable of similar stuff.
    I dont wanna push it though, at least not yet

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    85
    Awesome

    When I test stability, I usually just run 3dmark05 through a few times. Although, with ATITool, it'll run a stability check where it pretty much just pushes the thing to the limit then checks for artifacts. Pretty cool program.

    I'm kind of wishing I would have waited a bit before getting a new video card. I got a 9800PRO (overclocked to above XT speeds, of course ) a few months ago, but now I'm kind of feeling left behind. My friend just got an XFX 6800 card, and now I'm jealous

    Anyway, good luck with the OCing

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,506
    on my second out of the 3 9600XT's the core hit 620MHz from the 500MHz stock.

    this one does about 550MHz and starts crashing
    Gigabyte Z87M-D3H l Pentium DC 3.2GHz l 16GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Radeon 7750 OC Edition l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Dell OptiPlex 745 l Intel C2D E6600 2.4GHz l 4GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Lenovo ThinkPad T61 l C2D T7700 2.4GHz l 8GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    853
    Falcon,

    I want one of those cards.

    Where did you get yours and how much should I expect to pay?
    Nforce 2 Mobo-oem stock
    Athlon Xp3000-Stock
    768 mgs PC2100 @ 2.5/3/3
    Radeon 9700 PRO/365/342
    Western Digital 8mg cache ATA-133/160G/7200 HD
    Win XP Home SP1
    19" KDS "Extreme Flat"

    Laptop
    Athlon 64 3200+
    512mg Ram
    Mobile Radeon 9600
    80G Hard Drive


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,265
    I paid about 250$ for it, which seems like a fair price to me

    Infact you probably wont be able to find it any cheaper around EU.

    In US, I guess, you could get one for around 220$

    newegg has them for 225$ + shipping

    BTW dont expect too much of an improvement over your 9700PRO, especially with older titles.

    To get real boost, you would need 6800GT 256MB
    Last edited by F_A_L_C_O_N; January 4th, 2005 at 09:49 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    One game that tested stability for me was Call of Duty. I have a Radeon 9600 in one of my LAN Party machines and I cranked the thing 450Mhz and it ran 3DMark2003 just fine. It almost instantly locked in Call of Duty. At 425 it lasted only about 3 minutes. I had to set it to 400/500. Stock was 325/400, so I guess I cant complain. I was hoping more from the memory mostly.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,265
    I downloaded COD demo

    set everything on max and played for a while
    np

    as for HL2 crashes I got, I get them no matter what the GPU speed or CPU OC.
    disabling fast writes helped, however, I still got sent back to desktop once.

    I think it has nothing to do with the game itself, but with steam running in the background, somehow crashing the game.

    Might be something to do with NIS or maybe SP2 or possibly even bad dl on the initial install

    Honestly I am not too concerned, couse instability isnt manifasting itself anywhere else, so it has to be game specific, whatever it is.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    It could be your CPU also. I was running my Barton-M at 2.32 for a few weeks without any trouble, but the thing locked just installing Doom3. I clocked it back to 2.2 and it hardlocked almost instantly after loading the game. Clocked it to 2.08 and it ran flawlessly. HL2 is not as CPU intensive, but you never know what can cause crashes like that.

    I have not re-installed HL2 on my new system, but Doom3 runs flawlessly.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,265
    I did lower the CPU speed and it made no difference, however I have not yet lowered BUS and havent done any extensive testing on it since I OCed the video card.
    I might leave memtest running overnight to see if it has something to do with it.
    240Mhz BUS/mem without CPC is about the speed of 220Mhz BUS with CPC ON anway, so no real loss there.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •