TV Tuner Card Question.
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: TV Tuner Card Question.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,506

    TV Tuner Card Question.

    Hi ive got a Leadtek TV Tuner card that is Cable ready.

    ive got Telewest cable downstairs and Telewest broadband up here in my room. my mate told me if i got a splitter then i could split the connection from the wall to the modem to go to the modem and the tv tuner card and that way i could pick up the free channels. has anyone tried this before? also what do i need to do it?
    Gigabyte Z87M-D3H l Pentium DC 3.2GHz l 16GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Radeon 7750 OC Edition l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Dell OptiPlex 745 l Intel C2D E6600 2.4GHz l 4GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Lenovo ThinkPad T61 l C2D T7700 2.4GHz l 8GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Clarksburg, WV
    Posts
    239
    My Time Warner broadband line runs on the same line as my cable, so I'd assume your's would also. Check where your cable line enters the house (usually the basement). It should have a splitter that divides your broadband and cable lines. This would confirm it. All you would need is a simple cable splitter from your local electronics store, should be no more than a few bucks. Plugs straight into the tuner card from a line from the splitter. Check with Telewest, as they may allow you to add as many cable lines as you'd like without any problems. I know here with Time Warner, you own the lines that are inside of the house, and can change, add, rearrange the lines all you want without any breach of contracts. It may be listed on their website.
    Aspire Turbo case w/6 case fans
    Abit AN7 rev C1 nForce2 Ultra 400
    AMD Athlon XP-M 2500+ @ 2.205GHz
    Thermalright SLK900A w/92mm Tornado
    Abit Radeon 9600XT All In Wonder 594/796
    Geil Dual Channel 512MB(256MBx2) DDR PC-3200 6-3-2-2.5
    Sound Blaster® X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty
    2-Maxtor Ultra Series Kit 120GB SATA L01M120 Raid0 (OS & Programs)
    Western Digital Special Edition 120GB WD1200JB 8MB (Data)
    Lite-On CD-Rom 48x
    NEC 4X DVD +RW/-RW Drive
    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition SP2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,506
    cheers for that.

    the line comes through the front garden and then into a little box on the side of the house. their is a line goes through the wall to another little box behind the TV. Their is then another line that comes from the box outside up the wall and then through the wall into my room.

    what type of cable is it that runs from the wall to my modem i got told it was coaxial cable?
    Gigabyte Z87M-D3H l Pentium DC 3.2GHz l 16GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Radeon 7750 OC Edition l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Dell OptiPlex 745 l Intel C2D E6600 2.4GHz l 4GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Lenovo ThinkPad T61 l C2D T7700 2.4GHz l 8GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Clarksburg, WV
    Posts
    239
    Yup, coaxial it will be. They usually use a higher quality line for the modem and digital set top boxes. For basic cable, just pick up a coaxial line, one long enough for your needs. take your line to your upstairs room and modem and attach the splitter. Then use a high quality coaxial to run into your modem from one end of the splitter, and aonther coaxial line from the splitter to the tv tuner card (this doesn't need to be high quality).
    Last edited by insanityfell; January 8th, 2005 at 07:49 PM.
    Aspire Turbo case w/6 case fans
    Abit AN7 rev C1 nForce2 Ultra 400
    AMD Athlon XP-M 2500+ @ 2.205GHz
    Thermalright SLK900A w/92mm Tornado
    Abit Radeon 9600XT All In Wonder 594/796
    Geil Dual Channel 512MB(256MBx2) DDR PC-3200 6-3-2-2.5
    Sound Blaster® X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty
    2-Maxtor Ultra Series Kit 120GB SATA L01M120 Raid0 (OS & Programs)
    Western Digital Special Edition 120GB WD1200JB 8MB (Data)
    Lite-On CD-Rom 48x
    NEC 4X DVD +RW/-RW Drive
    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition SP2

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,506
    ahh cool thank you very much.

    so i should be fine with the following components?

    2-Way F Splitter
    Coaxial Cable
    High Quality Coaxial Cable
    F Type Crimp Plug
    Metal Coax Plug (standard Aerials)
    Gigabyte Z87M-D3H l Pentium DC 3.2GHz l 16GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Radeon 7750 OC Edition l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Dell OptiPlex 745 l Intel C2D E6600 2.4GHz l 4GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Lenovo ThinkPad T61 l C2D T7700 2.4GHz l 8GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Clarksburg, WV
    Posts
    239
    Yup, that's everything you'll need. Enjoy your new tv viewing experience!
    Aspire Turbo case w/6 case fans
    Abit AN7 rev C1 nForce2 Ultra 400
    AMD Athlon XP-M 2500+ @ 2.205GHz
    Thermalright SLK900A w/92mm Tornado
    Abit Radeon 9600XT All In Wonder 594/796
    Geil Dual Channel 512MB(256MBx2) DDR PC-3200 6-3-2-2.5
    Sound Blaster® X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty
    2-Maxtor Ultra Series Kit 120GB SATA L01M120 Raid0 (OS & Programs)
    Western Digital Special Edition 120GB WD1200JB 8MB (Data)
    Lite-On CD-Rom 48x
    NEC 4X DVD +RW/-RW Drive
    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition SP2

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,506
    i really cant thank you enough insanityfell, you have been a great help to me.

    ill post back with my results!
    Gigabyte Z87M-D3H l Pentium DC 3.2GHz l 16GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Radeon 7750 OC Edition l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Dell OptiPlex 745 l Intel C2D E6600 2.4GHz l 4GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Lenovo ThinkPad T61 l C2D T7700 2.4GHz l 8GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Clarksburg, WV
    Posts
    239
    Not a problem, hope it goes well!
    Aspire Turbo case w/6 case fans
    Abit AN7 rev C1 nForce2 Ultra 400
    AMD Athlon XP-M 2500+ @ 2.205GHz
    Thermalright SLK900A w/92mm Tornado
    Abit Radeon 9600XT All In Wonder 594/796
    Geil Dual Channel 512MB(256MBx2) DDR PC-3200 6-3-2-2.5
    Sound Blaster® X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty
    2-Maxtor Ultra Series Kit 120GB SATA L01M120 Raid0 (OS & Programs)
    Western Digital Special Edition 120GB WD1200JB 8MB (Data)
    Lite-On CD-Rom 48x
    NEC 4X DVD +RW/-RW Drive
    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition SP2

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 1998
    Location
    Just in Italy
    Posts
    937
    Just make sure you do not split it to many times. I ended up running a fresh split from the box outside.

    It was because they (apartment) actually split the spit to go to each of the bedrooms (3) and that reduced the signal enough to cause itermiten problems.

    May not affect you, but someting to look for.
    AMD64 3200, 1 Gb Ram, ATI 9800xt(256)
    AMD 2700+, 1Gb Ram, Geforce4600 VIVO
    AMD 2000+, 1 1/8Gb Ram, ATI 8500 (128)
    AMD 1800+, 1Gb Ram, ATI 9600 pro(128)
    Intel 1.6Ghz (478), 768Mb Ram, 8500 (128)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Clarksburg, WV
    Posts
    239
    Very good point. I always hated seeing apartment complexes do that. As long as there are only the three connections (downstairs cable box, upstairs tv and broadband) it shouldn't affect you. The cable company originally split our incoming line to three rooms. I added the one going to the second floor and the one in the basement for myself. Haven't noticed a change.
    Aspire Turbo case w/6 case fans
    Abit AN7 rev C1 nForce2 Ultra 400
    AMD Athlon XP-M 2500+ @ 2.205GHz
    Thermalright SLK900A w/92mm Tornado
    Abit Radeon 9600XT All In Wonder 594/796
    Geil Dual Channel 512MB(256MBx2) DDR PC-3200 6-3-2-2.5
    Sound Blaster® X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty
    2-Maxtor Ultra Series Kit 120GB SATA L01M120 Raid0 (OS & Programs)
    Western Digital Special Edition 120GB WD1200JB 8MB (Data)
    Lite-On CD-Rom 48x
    NEC 4X DVD +RW/-RW Drive
    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition SP2

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,506
    Ill look out for that then, cheers.

    what sort of problems? just image quality?
    Gigabyte Z87M-D3H l Pentium DC 3.2GHz l 16GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Radeon 7750 OC Edition l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Dell OptiPlex 745 l Intel C2D E6600 2.4GHz l 4GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Lenovo ThinkPad T61 l C2D T7700 2.4GHz l 8GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Clarksburg, WV
    Posts
    239
    If this is your first time splicing cable lines, you'll want to practice first. It took me several tries to get it right. Use this PDF guide. Also, cable lines are very picky about being bent. I've lost reception before just from a cable line that was bent too far. I loss some of both audio and video. Was like watching HBO from an antenna! If you're splitters cause problems, the first sign is usually video quality. It could hurt your audio as well though. Biggest thing to watch is the braided wire in between the insulation. Don't let it contact the coaxial line, that's where you start to lose reception. But, allow it to make good contact with the connectors. I had problems getting the right length out of my splice, the rest is pretty easy.
    Last edited by insanityfell; January 10th, 2005 at 03:59 PM.
    Aspire Turbo case w/6 case fans
    Abit AN7 rev C1 nForce2 Ultra 400
    AMD Athlon XP-M 2500+ @ 2.205GHz
    Thermalright SLK900A w/92mm Tornado
    Abit Radeon 9600XT All In Wonder 594/796
    Geil Dual Channel 512MB(256MBx2) DDR PC-3200 6-3-2-2.5
    Sound Blaster® X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty
    2-Maxtor Ultra Series Kit 120GB SATA L01M120 Raid0 (OS & Programs)
    Western Digital Special Edition 120GB WD1200JB 8MB (Data)
    Lite-On CD-Rom 48x
    NEC 4X DVD +RW/-RW Drive
    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition SP2

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,506
    cheers, well hopefully the parts should be here by thursday/friday so ill try it then and post back my results.
    Gigabyte Z87M-D3H l Pentium DC 3.2GHz l 16GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Radeon 7750 OC Edition l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Dell OptiPlex 745 l Intel C2D E6600 2.4GHz l 4GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    Lenovo ThinkPad T61 l C2D T7700 2.4GHz l 8GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Abita Springs , LA USA
    Posts
    1,121
    couldn't he just get two already made up coax cables and one two way splitter, that way he doesn't have to worry about making up the cables?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Clarksburg, WV
    Posts
    239
    Sure he could. But he may also be able to save some by buying the bare wire himself. Plus, those preconnected cable lines are not of great quality. He's using this to transmit broadband to his modem also, see he's actually better of doing it himself.
    Aspire Turbo case w/6 case fans
    Abit AN7 rev C1 nForce2 Ultra 400
    AMD Athlon XP-M 2500+ @ 2.205GHz
    Thermalright SLK900A w/92mm Tornado
    Abit Radeon 9600XT All In Wonder 594/796
    Geil Dual Channel 512MB(256MBx2) DDR PC-3200 6-3-2-2.5
    Sound Blaster® X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty
    2-Maxtor Ultra Series Kit 120GB SATA L01M120 Raid0 (OS & Programs)
    Western Digital Special Edition 120GB WD1200JB 8MB (Data)
    Lite-On CD-Rom 48x
    NEC 4X DVD +RW/-RW Drive
    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition SP2

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •