TNT on older CPU????
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Thread: TNT on older CPU????

Hybrid View

TNT on older CPU????

Hi all, hope somebody can offer a little advice. I'm currently on a system with a Cyrix 200(non-mmx) and old 1Mb Cirrus card. I've been wanting to upgrade my vid card for sometime, but so much has come out in past six months that I didn't know what to do. Also, and this is critical, I'm a college student (=poor) about to enter grad school (=dirt poor), so money is a HUGE factor for me right now. I'm going to strongly hint for one for x-mas, but I need to know what to ask for first.

I've heard wonderful things about the new TNT chipsets and that's really what I'm leaning towards getting right now. I keep hearing that you need a fast CPU to notice the diff, but HEY, I'm coming from a 1 meg card here! I would imagine anything is faster than that!! Am I correct, or will the vid card actually slow my system down? I've also considered a Voodoo2 accelerator, mainly because the only game I currently play on-line is glide-enhanced. But I've heard you need a 2Mb 2D card for that. Is this true?

I should add as a footnote, that if the finances work out, I'm going to upgrade my m/b and CPU to one of the new AMD lines (either K6-3 or K7) early next year. With that in mind, what kind of card would you all recommend?
    Make it idiot proof and someone will make a better idiot

The TNT won't slow down your system or something. You just won't see it's full potentials on a slow CPU, that's all. Like driving a Ferrari on a 2 lane countryside dirt road. (At least, it'd be faster than walking) hehe

Anyways, in my oppinion, if you're poor (like me) I'd recommend you to go for an Intel I740 card. It's 2D/3D card at quite a nice price. The performance is however not the best out there, but at this price, it's worth the money.