STB Velocity 128 better than onboard graphics?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: STB Velocity 128 better than onboard graphics?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1

    Question STB Velocity 128 better than onboard graphics?

    For many years I have used the built in video on my motherboard a AX3S Pro by the company AOPEN.
    This uses the i815e chipset with integrated graphics.

    I have now been given a STB Velocity 128 that I will used with Windows XP.

    Is it worth it to install this card, or will I be better off with the onboard video.

    I don't really play games, more surf the net and watch DVD.

    Thanks,

    Amy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    620
    having the separete card is good because it lets you use all of you RAM.
    both the integrated and velocity are pretty crap when it comes to games, but if all you want it for is to display an image then it doesn't really matter. except for the point i made above. which in itself isn't really a deal breaker.
    Last edited by drzaius2; October 13th, 2004 at 08:58 PM.
    Main
    AMD XP-M 2500+ @ 2200 (200x11), 1.65v Thermalright SK-7 w/ Thermaltake Smart fan2 Abit NF7-S v2.0, Forceware 5.10 OCZ 1.5gb OCZ PC3200 2.5-3-3-10 Radeon 9800XT 128mb w/ Zalman VF-700cu Maxtor 250gb SATA HD LG DVD-RWPioneer 10x DVD Enlight 7250 w/ 2 80mm Enermax Noisetaker EG495P-VE SFMA Logitech Z2300 Speakers Samsung 753DF WinXP Pro SP2 DX9.0c


    Certifed: MCSA, A+, Linux+, Security+, Net+

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Finding drivers can sometimes be a hastle for older cards, but my Voodoo3 2000 AGP card with 16MB was about 5-10 times faster than an i810 motherboard with integrated graphics.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Independence, MO
    Posts
    8,071
    I'm not sure how well the Velocity128 will do with DVD playback. Also, it it's an AGP card, make sure your board supports it. I'm not sure what speed AGP slot the 815e chipset uses, but I do know the velocity128 is an older 3.3v AGP 1x/2x card. Bad things could happen if it were plugged into a 2x/4x board (which I think you probably have). I wouldn't want you to end up with nothing by mistake.

    If your current setup is doing the job, it might be better to just leave well enough alone.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA, USA
    Posts
    3,463
    I used to have an STB Velocity 128. It did DVD playback pretty good- it was a VERY good card for the time, and was the base of what became the TNT and TNT2, so you can compare it to those. I'd say go for it! You don't be playing Doom 3, but it'll play Quake2 like a champ Standard nvidia det drivers work with it AFAIK (they used to at least), so drivers shouldn't be a problem. Or if you need, I think I may still have my copy around somewhere... ('course they'd be win95 drivers, which might not work so hit with XP.) One thing I didn't like about this card was that the TV Out sucked big-time; in all other respects, I was extremely happy with it!

    I don't think you CAN plut a 1x card into a 4x slot; aren't they keyed diffent expressly to prevent that?
    Last edited by grover; October 14th, 2004 at 12:12 PM.
    Pentium IV 2.4C Northwood- M0 stepping @ 3.2GHz HT
    Air Cooled w/ SP-94 heatpipe & 92mm Vantex Tornado at 45C
    4x256=1gb dual-channel 2-3-3-6 OCZ PC800DRAM @ 890MHz 3-4-4-8
    MSI Neo2-PLS w/I865PE & SATA @ 4x267=1068MHz
    BFG GeForceFX 5900@485/967MHz = 6284 3DMark2003s; dual-head 21" CRT & 19" LCD

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Independence, MO
    Posts
    8,071
    I don't think you CAN plut a 1x card into a 4x slot; aren't they keyed diffent expressly to prevent that?
    No, cause I did it a month ago. That's why many of the older motherboards had an LED next to the AGP slot that let you know NOT to turn on your system with the current AGP card. 2 of my old 4x motherboards had this feature, for good reason, no doubt.

    As for drivers, I think nVidia offers old drivers for these cards on their website. That's where I found mine.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    If it is pre-TNT, then it might not be any better than an i815 set-up. It would be a close one. that card has not been made for a long time and what drivers nVidia has for it might be pretty limitted. Hopefully you do not need it for WindowsXP.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •