What is Vtt voltage?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: What is Vtt voltage?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Posts
    455

    What is Vtt voltage?

    What is Vtt voltage? and why is mine only at 1.25v instead of 1.5v?
    What affect does this have?

    ------------------
    CelT 1.2@1.5
    ST6 mobo
    Maxtor ATA133 7200rpm 20gig
    256Mb PC133 CAS2
    R8500LE (310/325)
    W98SE / Directx8.1
    3DMARK2001 8137

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,790
    Sounds like it might be a "termination" voltage". Is this listed as a seperate voltage to the I/O and core voltages? BTW, what's your core voltage reported as?

    If you post what other voltages are reported then we might be able to figure it out by process of elimination.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Posts
    455
    vcore 1.48
    vtt 1.25
    vio3.34
    +5 is 5.06
    +12 is 12.23
    -12 is -12.11
    -5 is -5.1
    5vsb is 5.09
    vbat 3.01


    thanks


    ------------------
    CelT 1.2@1.5
    ST6 mobo
    Maxtor ATA133 7200rpm 20gig
    256Mb PC133 CAS2
    R8500LE (310/325)
    W98SE / Directx8.1
    3DMARK2001 8137

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    4,144
    Vcore is ... well core voltage, or the voltage supplied to the CPU.

    VIO is the input output voltage used primarily for the PCI and AGP cards, but is also used for the 3.3V logic chips on the main board. Once upon a time VIO was simply VCC or in english +5Vdc which most chips made worked on. This was the TTL (Transistor to Transistor Logic) gate standard for quite a long time. Since die shrinks have occured, logic gates require less voltage and less curent than the old days, and the current "standard" is 3.3V. Look for this to change to 2.5V in the near future.

    +12, -12, +5 and -5V are all the old standards that have been included in powersupplies since the creation of silicon transistors. These voltages are created by your powersupply and routed to your motherboard. On the motherboard, switching regulator chips that are controlled automatically from the bios programming of the board regulate all other supply voltages.

    And finally (to answer your question) VTT is (as UART has suggested) termination voltage. It is used to power the RAM on your computer. This is kept seperate from VIO and VCORE on better motherboards in order to allow different voltages for all 3 subsystems. As memory undergoes more die shrinks, this voltage will get lower also.

    Hope this helps.

    ------------------
    With greater knowledge comes greater understanding!
    With greater knowledge comes greater understanding!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    I thought it was the cache voltage for the chip. ol' man would really be the one to answer this one..

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ 2.35v/4.05v mods
    AthlonXP 1600+ @ 1800+ 1.55v 41'C
    256MB Corsair PC150
    Radeon 64DDR SE @ 315/240 w/ ramsinks + default coresink...one volt mod done!
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Oh, and to answer the second part of your question, this voltage should be 1.25v. The Cel-T, like I believe all new .13um processors, differing votlage between the VTT and VCC. VCC is the core voltage. The reason behind this is something like the cache is designed differently and requires less voltgae. I do know that this is a part of the pin trick to get it to work on a BX board...you have to be able to drop the VTT voltage so the chip doesn't fry itself. Kind of like the old Pentium-class split-voltage chips that required split voltages (like the K6-2 and some Cyrix's).

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ 2.35v/4.05v mods
    AthlonXP 1600+ @ 1800+ 1.55v 41'C
    256MB Corsair PC150
    Radeon 64DDR SE @ 315/240 w/ ramsinks + default coresink...one volt mod done!
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Posts
    455
    S*it I love this board, so many intelligent people....I just wish some of them would answer my questions
    Really thanks guys, I have had a look around too...and I also now think the vtt should be 1.25
    The reason I was worried it was low, was because my bios lists it as 1.5v then reports it as 1.25v

    ------------------
    CelT 1.2@1.5
    ST6 mobo
    Maxtor ATA133 7200rpm 20gig
    256Mb PC133 CAS2
    R8500LE (310/325)
    W98SE / Directx8.1
    3DMARK2001 8137

  8. #8
    ol' man is offline workin fingas to the bone
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    9,664
    All the vtt pins on the tualtin are on the side of the cache. I would guess it supplys the cache bus with its juice? Yes the tualatin is supposed run with a 1.25v vtt while the cumine ran with 1.5v. i though the ram ran on a I/O voltage of 3.3v or whatever it is set at on your mobo.

    ------------------
    1.2Ghz cel-t @ 1.6GHz/1.65v

    Off Topic Central

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    3,849
    Yeah, isn't SDRAM at 3.3V and DDR SDRAM at 2.5V?

    ------------------
    Gin - The driver's choice

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Yep

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ 2.35v/4.05v mods
    AthlonXP 1600+ @ 1800+ 1.55v 41'C
    256MB Corsair PC150
    Radeon 64DDR SE @ 315/245 w/ ramsinks + default coresink + vmem mod...workin on core mod
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •