Is it worth overclocking your vcard? - Page 2
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 37

Thread: Is it worth overclocking your vcard?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Manchester, England, UK
    Posts
    2,560
    ASUS POS8X bios ver. 1004
    Ol' man might be right. Does this mean that you don't like the board, because you think it's POS (piece of sh*t) or is it me just making up some stupid connection out of nothing?

    Oh, and
    P4 2.8HGz
    Just thought I would point it out to you
    Desktop - XP2100 @ 2.4GHz, Abit NF7-S, 1gb DDR500 Crucial Ballistix, 120 + 160gb HDD, Windows XP
    Laptop - Athlon 64 3000, 1gb RAM, 40gb HDD, Radeon Mobility 200, Windows Vista
    Server - P4 1.8GHz, 768mb RAM, 2x 40gb HDDs, Win2k3 Server

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    680
    Heh thanks for pointing that out. Yeh this board is a turd and now I'm goign to try and return my card, but I doubt I will be able to get my money back, but I guess I'll try. So dissapointed with the picture quality.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Manchester, England, UK
    Posts
    2,560
    Not a problem.

    So, how old is the 9800? A few days? I'm sure it shouldn't be a problem if you tell them what you have told us.

    I've taken stuff back which was a few weeks old and got a refund.

    Good luck.
    Desktop - XP2100 @ 2.4GHz, Abit NF7-S, 1gb DDR500 Crucial Ballistix, 120 + 160gb HDD, Windows XP
    Laptop - Athlon 64 3000, 1gb RAM, 40gb HDD, Radeon Mobility 200, Windows Vista
    Server - P4 1.8GHz, 768mb RAM, 2x 40gb HDDs, Win2k3 Server

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    680

    Thumbs down

    I knew it....bastards "the seal is broken, we cannot exhange".

    Good, that's the last time I do business there.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Manchester, England, UK
    Posts
    2,560
    So sorry to hear that Tuxy.

    Well, I'm sure you can get almost what you paid for it. I mean, it's practically brand new right? Had a few hours of use?

    Shouldn't be a problem. Best of luck!

    Also, have to tried to overclock your CPU again? Does the machine crash?
    Desktop - XP2100 @ 2.4GHz, Abit NF7-S, 1gb DDR500 Crucial Ballistix, 120 + 160gb HDD, Windows XP
    Laptop - Athlon 64 3000, 1gb RAM, 40gb HDD, Radeon Mobility 200, Windows Vista
    Server - P4 1.8GHz, 768mb RAM, 2x 40gb HDDs, Win2k3 Server

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    373
    I'm gonna be the moaner here!!!

    WHY DO 9700PRO/9800PRO 5900ULTRA owners need to overclock for ???? the cards are mighty!!! can run anything u throw at it so Y twat with it????????????

    The mind boggles if ya games r smooth LEAVE IT!!
    The RiG
    P4 3ghz
    2gb ddr 400
    256mb X800XTPE
    Enermax Coolergiant
    amdduron800@hotmail.com

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NB Canada
    Posts
    2,643
    Originally posted by Shuffl@
    I'm gonna be the moaner here!!!

    WHY DO 9700PRO/9800PRO 5900ULTRA owners need to overclock for ???? the cards are mighty!!! can run anything u throw at it so Y twat with it????????????

    The mind boggles if ya games r smooth LEAVE IT!!
    You have never felt the need to push soemthign to its limit? I know sometimes accidents do happen, but if you are careful and know what you're doing, overclocking and tweaking is fairly safe.
    I hav overclocked every cpu I have owned, modified many video, starting with epoxying a new heatsink and adding a fan to my voodoo3 2000 @ 3000 when I was 14. I have found modding hardware very useful. I lapped the concave core on my geforce 3 ti 500 and added a new heatsink to it. This made a big difference in the temperature of the core.. and allowed me to overclock that card to nice speeds.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    373
    Yes ive felt the urge and paid the price LOL what i meant was geforce 3 / 4 etc some cards need to be clocked to play games well but new cards like what i mentioned do not!
    The RiG
    P4 3ghz
    2gb ddr 400
    256mb X800XTPE
    Enermax Coolergiant
    amdduron800@hotmail.com

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NB Canada
    Posts
    2,643
    ohh yeah, but at the time, my geforce 3 ti 500 was #1, or pretty close to it with the good old radeon 8500. I guess it just depends on the mods, and the skill you have. I dont think I have the experience to tackle a volt mod that requires very good soldering, as I dont have the tools or then experience.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Nothing wrong with sensible overclocking, IMO.

    Tuxy, it's very difficult to get a grasp of how your system is performing at the moment. Set your 9800 Pro and CPU at stock clockspeeds and run 3dm03 with *default* settings (i.e. set the D3D performance/quality slider to the middle positon in the "3D" Advanced Display Properties section). You should get 5k+.

    It's pretty much impossible that a 9800 Pro can give substantially different image quality to a 9700 Pro as a "swop-out" replacement (and definitely not in the ways you mention). What "blurring" effects are you talking about? Do you mean FSAA?

    Didn't you try setting the CPU to default clockspeeds when you thought there was something wrong with your 9700 Pro?

    MuFu.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    680
    It's definitely my AGP slot, my mobo is starting to go. After a year of overclocking a board that wasn't a good overclocker. I'm probably going to get the P4S8X-X. I don't want to reformt my PC, and this baord will be a decent o/c'r. I think I can manage 3.1-3.2GHz and that's all I want really.

    Unfortunately I haven't had any luck yet selling my card. I'm even trying to offer 50 bucks off what I spent, I desperately need the money back. Then I can get my new baord and be happy again with my system.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Manchester, England, UK
    Posts
    2,560
    Tuxy, have you tried putting the card on eBay?

    Also, have you had any more crashes with the 9700 since you set your processor down to stock speeds?
    Desktop - XP2100 @ 2.4GHz, Abit NF7-S, 1gb DDR500 Crucial Ballistix, 120 + 160gb HDD, Windows XP
    Laptop - Athlon 64 3000, 1gb RAM, 40gb HDD, Radeon Mobility 200, Windows Vista
    Server - P4 1.8GHz, 768mb RAM, 2x 40gb HDDs, Win2k3 Server

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    680
    My PC only crashes with certain games. But I tried playign the NFSU demo and the performance slowed to a crawl, with my 9700pro. I'm running stock CPU for a week now.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Manchester, England, UK
    Posts
    2,560
    Hmmmm, sounds very much like the problem I had with my KT266 Gigabyte board.

    When I changed to a KT333 the problem went away. I hope your new motherboard fixes the problems!
    Desktop - XP2100 @ 2.4GHz, Abit NF7-S, 1gb DDR500 Crucial Ballistix, 120 + 160gb HDD, Windows XP
    Laptop - Athlon 64 3000, 1gb RAM, 40gb HDD, Radeon Mobility 200, Windows Vista
    Server - P4 1.8GHz, 768mb RAM, 2x 40gb HDDs, Win2k3 Server

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    680
    Thanks. Still trying to decide which mobo to get.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •