Is it worth overclocking your vcard?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 37

Thread: Is it worth overclocking your vcard?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    680

    Question Is it worth overclocking your vcard?

    I'm going to be replacing my damaged 9700pro with a 9800pro this weekend. After a year of overclocking and experimenting with modified heatsinks and software it finally had enuf. I'm not sure how much of it was down to my inexperience at the time or perhaps vcards just can't take the increased clock?

    I'm kinda dissapointed that I cannot find a 9700 pro anymore, and even more dissapointed that the 9800 pro is not much of an improvement. So if I overclock it with stock sink and fan but with a side mounted 75cfm fan, will the card last or should I not bother? I'm not going to do anything to physically void the warranty.

    I've learned my lesson with my 9700pro. It's an expensive one. Comments?

  2. #2
    ol' man is offline workin fingas to the bone
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    9,664
    You 9800pro will be a little faster though and it may have better HS construction. I know my 9800pro does 450/380 on default voltages. I think for now running the 9800pro at stock would be more than enough to suffice?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    514
    what company makes u'r 9800pro? i've never seen one that runs 450/380 stock...i've only seen 380/340...
    P4C 2.8ghz o/c'ed to 3.36ghz
    Asus P4C800 Deluxe mobo
    2 x 512mb Kingston HyperX pc4000 DDR
    nVidia GeForce 6800
    Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Gamer
    160GB 7200rpm SATA Seagate
    74GB 10000rpm Western Digital Raptor
    ATI TV Wonder Pro

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    6,334
    yeah if the 9800pro isnt fast enough for your games you have other problems..... and to answer your question, basically no, o/c video cards does little in the grand scheme, if your new game wont run because your card, you need a new card. A few framerates is all you squeeze out of most games.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    680
    Cool. That's what I figured. Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    680
    SH!T

    I just installed my 9800pro, and my PC STILL crashed?! I was running 3DMARK03 and half way through the video went black and my monitor light went from green to amber. I had to reset my PC.

    WTF! Did I just replace a perfectly fine 9700pro? Is my mobo to blame? OMG I can't beleive this sh!t.

    please help.

    I just reemmebred that about a month ago I notced that running 3dmark03 the performance dropped dramatically. I went from 5000+ to under 2000. I'm still getting the same thing with the new card.
    Last edited by Tuxy; December 13th, 2003 at 02:04 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,505
    try running your CPU at stock speeds.

    And i would leave the card at stock speeds untill the time comes when you need more speed then overclock.
    Shuttle System l Intel Core2Extreme l 8GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    IBM ThinkPad T60 l 2GHz Core2Duo l 4GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    680
    Yeh that's what I'm doing now, and I think that's the problem. 3dmark03 ran without crashing. I'm so upset right now I waisted 450 bucks on a new card

    Hopefully I can sell it to some one.

    *update* CAT 3.9 drivers in case you were wondering

    Just did a comparison between the 2 cards on my system. The 9700pro managed 900+ in 3dmark03 with max. detail @1024 x 768. You could really see the blurring effects nicely becasue it ran so damn slow. But atleast it gave me a chance to admire the picture quality.

    Then I installed the 9800pro and I managed 1900 score. But the picture quality was no where near as good. The detail was set on max. within ATI settings plus 3dmark, and the lighting and blurring effects just weren't there?
    Last edited by Tuxy; December 13th, 2003 at 05:05 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    680
    Here's the image quality I was talking about. This is my 9800pro with anti aliasing at 6 samples, texture filtering at anisotrophic 16
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NB Canada
    Posts
    2,643
    hmmm picture doesnt work

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,505
    yup im getting the same problem with the picture not working.

    That is a bit of a bummer about spending all that money on a card. can't you return it to the store that you got it from?
    Shuttle System l Intel Core2Extreme l 8GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    IBM ThinkPad T60 l 2GHz Core2Duo l 4GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    680
    I doubt I can return it. Here are the images.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    680
    With my 9700 pro, the effects more mroe exaderated. For insatnce in the ogre game test, the volume lighting effect through the window was like a mist. The Glowing effects where much brighter and fuller, the blurring effects where very noticeable. With these it's too subtle.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Tuxy; December 13th, 2003 at 08:50 PM.

  14. #14
    ol' man is offline workin fingas to the bone
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    9,664
    Your AGP bus may be failing. I know serious sam can get corrupted on my HD and have weird glitchies but I never experienced that with 3dmark.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    6,505
    yea i see what you mean the 9700PRO looks well better.
    Shuttle System l Intel Core2Extreme l 8GB Ram l 64GB OCZ SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    IBM ThinkPad T60 l 2GHz Core2Duo l 4GB Ram l 60GB Kingston SSD l Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •