Ultra ATA 100 Harddrive, Ultra DMA 33 MoBo
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ultra ATA 100 Harddrive, Ultra DMA 33 MoBo

Ultra ATA 100 Harddrive, Ultra DMA 33 MoBo

I read in another thread that ultra ata and ultra dma are the same thing. So I know that part.

My question is this. Will an Ultra ATA 100 harddrive work on a motherboard that only supports Ultra DMA 33?

I know I have to get the 80 wire cable.

The drive is a Seagate U Series 5
    Model: ST340823A
    5400 RPM
    40 GB

The Motherboard is a Jetway 7ZXAN
    "I'm no expert. That's why I'm here."

- "An egg never bounces twice."
    -----------------------------------------------
    "The computer is a moron."
    - Peter F. Drucker

Your drive will work, no problem.

It'll automatically run at ATA33. You won't need to get a 80 wire cable either because your motherboard don't need one.

Of course, if you already have it, you might as well use it, but no need to waste money in a new one. Just use the old cable.

The PATA100 hard drives are backwards compatible so it'll run on older systems, so long as those older systems support the drives size.

Hopefully that motherboard of yours isn't limited to 32GB drives, otherwise you'll need to use Seagates drive overlay software to have it fully supported.

ol' man is offline workin fingas to the bone
    Originally posted by Bink
    The PATA100 hard drives are backwards compatible so it'll run on older systems, so long as those older systems support the drives size.

Hopefully that motherboard of yours isn't limited to 32GB drives, otherwise you'll need to use Seagates drive overlay software to have it fully supported.
    Or partition it. Had to do it with a 160gb drive cause winXP and win2k don't support HD's above 136gb.

WXP SP1 does support HDs larger than 137GB. I just formatted my 160GB Seagate at it's full capacity.