Overclocking Pentium II Processor
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Overclocking Pentium II Processor

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3

    Overclocking Pentium II Processor

    How can I overclock my Pentium II processor on this configuration?

    -MB Acorp 6ZX86
    -Pentium II processor @ 350 MHz
    -128 MB SDRAM PC133
    -Hard Disk Fujitsu3040AT 4GB
    -S3 Savage 4 Video Card with 16 MB RAM
    ...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    620
    i looked through the manual online.. and found that the board only supports 66, 100 and 133mhz FSB's.. you CPU is on a 100, so to o/c it, you have to go up to 133, which i highly doubt will run as 3.5x133 = 466mhz.. even if the CPU can take that. your PCI bus will be running way out of spec, 44.3mhz, and i doubt, even more so, that you HD or AGP card can't take that.

    you can upgrade the processor though.. it supports P3's.. all you need to buy is a socket 370 to slot 1 adaptor and away you go.
    Main
    AMD XP-M 2500+ @ 2200 (200x11), 1.65v Thermalright SK-7 w/ Thermaltake Smart fan2 Abit NF7-S v2.0, Forceware 5.10 OCZ 1.5gb OCZ PC3200 2.5-3-3-10 Radeon 9800XT 128mb w/ Zalman VF-700cu Maxtor 250gb SATA HD LG DVD-RWPioneer 10x DVD Enlight 7250 w/ 2 80mm Enermax Noisetaker EG495P-VE SFMA Logitech Z2300 Speakers Samsung 753DF WinXP Pro SP2 DX9.0c


    Certifed: MCSA, A+, Linux+, Security+, Net+

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    The CPU will likely handle a 133MHz bus, but if that uses an older I-440 BX chipset or something like that then it does not have the correct AGP multiplier (some do have the right PCI though) for 133MHz.

    You might be able to still find a program like SoftFSB that lets you adjust the bus speed by 1Mhz incriments in Windows. I have not heard anything about this program in a long time as motherboard started having options built into them like that by the time the PIII came out (mostly do to Abit's great overclocking features in the system BIOS).

    I have a Celeron 366 that is based on the same type of core and I can do 550Mhz with it.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Austin, Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,771
    I'm guessing from the model number it is a 440ZX chipset. Less fully featured than the BX.
    Mike
    Mechanical Engineer
    Dell Computer Corporation
    Server Development

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    I know that does not support 133Mhz correctly. Not a good chipset.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    620
    it is a ZX chipset.. i found the mobo maker and looked it up.

    i know the ZX doesn't support 133.. but there are a few BX boards that do.

    i know Asus (CUBX) and Abit (BX133) released BX boards that say they support 133.. but i've just been looking over the online manuals for them and only the CUBX actually does.. PCI bus and all.. i'm not sure how.. but it says it does..

    the BX133 can't though.. it says that the board can support it, but it can't guarantee it as the PCI bus would be out of spec.

    strange eh?

    check this pic out: www.geocities.com/silis01/abitasus.JPG
    you'll need to type it in as geocities doesn't like direct links..

    the abit BX133 is on the left and asus CUBX is on the right.
    Main
    AMD XP-M 2500+ @ 2200 (200x11), 1.65v Thermalright SK-7 w/ Thermaltake Smart fan2 Abit NF7-S v2.0, Forceware 5.10 OCZ 1.5gb OCZ PC3200 2.5-3-3-10 Radeon 9800XT 128mb w/ Zalman VF-700cu Maxtor 250gb SATA HD LG DVD-RWPioneer 10x DVD Enlight 7250 w/ 2 80mm Enermax Noisetaker EG495P-VE SFMA Logitech Z2300 Speakers Samsung 753DF WinXP Pro SP2 DX9.0c


    Certifed: MCSA, A+, Linux+, Security+, Net+

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    The i440 chipset only has the 2/3 AGP multiplier, so it only supports a 100MHz bus. They do support a 1/4 PCI bus though. That means everything is in spec, but the AGP slot. A few companies released boards like this, but they did not get along with all graphics cards. Some of the nVidia cards (TNT2 mostly back then if I recall correctly) could take up to a 100MHz AGP bus (150MHz bus at 2/3 AGP). This is way beyond the 66Mhz stock speeds. Most newer cards are a bit more finicky and you are lucky if you can get beyond a 75MHz AGP bus.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •