KVM Switches???
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: KVM Switches???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    405
    Posts
    121

    KVM Switches???

    Hi all... i'll be buildin a computer soon out of some old parts that i have from upgradin and it'll prolly be used as my file server to store programs n stuff like that and prolly my printer server too (arg... hope i don't hafta pay for the ink everytime it goes out) and i was thinkin of gettin a KVM switch to connect both computers to 1 monitor, 1 keyboard and 1 mouse so i don't hafta get seperate peripherals for it. But after readin, some people said that the image isn't as good or isn't as its supposed to be as for the long cables that the KVM switch comes with and also, some people also said that the mouse sometimes doesn't respond too, also prolly the length of the cables for the cause of that. So what do you guys think??? i really want to get one so i don't hafta get seperate peripherals for the upcomin computer and as i'm a gamer and i want the best quality picture while gamin. thanks
    XP1800+
    Coolermaster HHC-001 HSF
    Abit NF7
    2 - 256 sticks PC2100 Dual Channel
    Western Digital 120 Gig 8MB
    Gainward Gforce 4 TI 4200 128MB (280/590) w/ TT Gforce 4 VGA cooler
    Sound Blaster Audigy 2
    330W Enermax PSU
    TDK 48x/24x/48x
    Lite On 16x DVD-Rom
    Windows Xp w/ SP 1
    Mag Innovision 17" LCD
    Dual Sunbeam Blue CCFL


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    2,675
    I think KVM switches are the greatest thing since sliced bread.

    Havenít heard about any problems with the cable lengths since they are the same length as the regular cables.
    "Imagine a world where dogs took bad owners to the pound."


    http://www.hopeforpaws.org/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,273
    Sticking with a name brand, decent model ...
    Should assist any avoiding compatiblity issue(s) headaches.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    405
    Posts
    121
    Could you or anybody else recommend some good brands of KVM switches??? thanks
    XP1800+
    Coolermaster HHC-001 HSF
    Abit NF7
    2 - 256 sticks PC2100 Dual Channel
    Western Digital 120 Gig 8MB
    Gainward Gforce 4 TI 4200 128MB (280/590) w/ TT Gforce 4 VGA cooler
    Sound Blaster Audigy 2
    330W Enermax PSU
    TDK 48x/24x/48x
    Lite On 16x DVD-Rom
    Windows Xp w/ SP 1
    Mag Innovision 17" LCD
    Dual Sunbeam Blue CCFL


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    2,675
    IOGEAR MiniView Micro 2-Port KVM Switch with 6' Built-In Cables $39.99

    This is the cheapest one around. Have seen it on sale for 29.99. Belkin makes them too. Just let you wallet be your guide. Some of the high end ones come with an electronic switch box that you can use to switch between pc instead of using your keyboard if you need that..

    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....6&type=product
    "Imagine a world where dogs took bad owners to the pound."


    http://www.hopeforpaws.org/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,273
    I would say ditto to the mid-upper end Belkin products.
    If your wallet is large enough,
    There is also the APC brand as well.

    Suggest a KVM with the selector switch right on the box rather than those requiring selection via the keyboard.

    When shopping around,
    Verify that the connection used by your mouse and keyboard is supported. ie. Serial, PS/2, USB...

    Belkin



    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    605
    I have that IOGEAR one from Best Buy (the one in the link above). So far so good! I can't tell the difference between having monitor, keyboard, and mouse connected directly or throught the KVM. So I have no complaints.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •