Lazy Asus GeForce FX 5900 Ultra
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Lazy Asus GeForce FX 5900 Ultra

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    34

    Lazy Asus GeForce FX 5900 Ultra

    I only noticed now this forum. lol, yesterday when i searched for forums to post my problem i only noticed the "gaming hardware" forum from here so i posted this over there.

    Anyway, can anyone help me out here?

    Link to the thread

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    I'm not sure if this effects your card or not, but the GeForceFX 5800 Ultra used a seperate power connector to feed extra juice to the card. If this was not plugged in the card ran at a slower speed. Download an overclocking utility like Power Strip and see what the card is clocked at. That is the only thing I can think of.

    Also make sure you have installed the latest motherboard drivers. With some motherboards, the ones Window installs will kill your performance. This was a HUGH issue with VIA chipsets. You could see performances drop in half without the right chipset drivers for the motherboard.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    34
    No, the extra power is supplied so the problem is not that.

    I have the VIA Hyperion 4.48 drivers (latest at their site if i am not mistaken).

    I tried it at my brothers place, he has an AMD Athlon XP 2100, lesser memory and an asus mboard which is older then my epox.
    Although the score in 3dmark is only 300-400 points higher he gets an average of 7-10fps's more.

    I wonder if the card is not messed up...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Your score looks fine to me. Perhaps a little on the low side, but I certainly wouldn't expect 14-15k, untweaked on an 1800+.

    MuFu.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    34
    How about on a 2100+ ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    34
    But MuFu, don't you think it's wrong for the 5900 Ultra to score 11400points and for the Gf 4 Ti 4600 to score 11800points on the same system? Without any overclocking.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Originally posted by Fila
    But MuFu, don't you think it's wrong for the 5900 Ultra to score 11400points and for the Gf 4 Ti 4600 to score 11800points on the same system? Without any overclocking.
    I wouldn't expect 14-15k on a 2100+ either, but yes - what you point out is a little strange. I get about 12500, BTW.

    What is your 3DM2003 overall score?

    MuFu.
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    34
    Indeed it's my 133fsb cpu that's holding the card back. I need a new processor... but still that thing with the fx scoring 400 points lower is strange.

    I don't recall the 3dmark 03 score because since then i've been doing lots of windows reinstallments and usually just installed 01 for a quick look.

    But now i came across a new problem with the GF.

    In Win 98se, after i install the drivers and reboot the computer windows does not want to boot. It gives me "Windows Protection Error". Everytime, i tried with 44.69 drivers from Asus and nVidia and with 44.03 drivers from nVidia and still it gives me the WPE. However in XP it works, no problem.


    But i don't want XP i want to stick to my trusty 98... any possible solution on how to avoid WPE? Can it perhaps by any miracle be disabled?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    373
    I stopped a WPE by setting the bios to fail safe and then tweaking slowly 1 at a time booting after each tweak until i got it balanced just right.
    The RiG
    P4 3ghz
    2gb ddr 400
    256mb X800XTPE
    Enermax Coolergiant
    amdduron800@hotmail.com

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •