running Doom 2 under XP?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: running Doom 2 under XP?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Columbus, GA USA
    Posts
    392

    running Doom 2 under XP?

    I decided to play some Doom 2 in anticipation of Doom 3 and for nostalgia. So I pulled out my old D2 CD and installed it. Well in Win XP the thing runs like crap. It's quite jerky. What can I do to relive my doom 2 moments withough it looking like I'm trying to play it on a 386 with 2 MB ram?
    Last edited by Dan W; August 5th, 2003 at 10:26 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    5,972
    Have you tried using one of the win32 ports? I personally use jDoom.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Columbus, GA USA
    Posts
    392
    Yep actually after I posted that message I found a few and they ran it ok and with much better graphics although they took a little to set up.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    519
    Cool link Huge!
    I haven't seen these before. Have to give them a try.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43400
    Posts
    1,233
    Tell me I'm not dreaming!

    Those graphics are way improved! I've got to give it a try. Now where are my Doom CDs
    Spent some quality time with the demon of mine,
    "I like the way you struggle, but you know I'm here to win"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,404
    The graphics are improved.
    I should give it a try.

    Now i need to find my where I stored Doom.
    Intel Q6600 | Asus P5K SE | 4 GB DDR2 800 | 500GB Seagate SATA | 250GB Seagate SATA | 18x Pioneer SATA DVD-RW | 1 GB Geforce GTX 650 Ti | Logitech Keyboard & Mouse | 650 Watt Cooler Master PSU | Benq 22" LCD

    Learn How to Join our Folding@Home Team - Detailed Folding@Home Stats

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    11,079
    Yup, i've used a bunch of engines, legacy, jdoom etc.. they provide a sorta graphical update for sure, and win 2000 and XP need those to play doom games.
    R.I.P Rangeral, To one of HWC's best moderators and a great guy

    By the way, what does BTW stand for?

    It is better to be tried by 12, than carried by 6.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    Do any of these ports enable a 60fps mode (Doom is locked at 30fps, regardless of what timedemo shows you)? I thought the Doom Legacy team was working on this.
    My Guitar Hero 2 Xbox Live Ranking
    Main Rig (click this link for specs)
    Certified in: Nothing at all!
    Certifiable: 100% hands-on, real-world experience

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Englewood, Ohio
    Posts
    338
    Doom legacy ran fine on my win2k system... Not sure if it unlocks the FPS though.
    Athlon XP(palomino) 1800+
    ShuttleAK35GT2(kt333) mobo
    Corsair XMS 512MB PC2700 DDR RAM@cas-2
    ATI FireGL Z1
    19" Viewsonic P90F


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Atlanta Georgia
    Posts
    98
    Hehe, i see some familiar posters here...

    Anayways. I was feeling the same need for Doom do get myself together when Doom 3 is released. I just typed in Doom 2 in kazza and downloaded the game. I didnt think it would work but it did, it was a mod doom...it was played with so that it would run on current OS's like XP and even linux. You had more options, like changing any controls, even changing the resolutions. And there was also a jum button

    I do know for a fact that Final Doom WILL WORK in XP

    Do if i were you i would jsut get Final doom instead
    My craptacular system spec's
    AMD Athlon @1400mhz
    Nvidia Geforce 3 Ti 200(Currently clocked at 250 Core and 550 RAM)
    512MB Crucial DDR RAM
    Thermalright Delta 68.6cfm fan
    Ghetto Rigged Antec full tower case/self-installed Plexy glass with 120mm blue LED fan
    300 watt power supply
    Two 6 watt Altec Lansing wine glass speakers with a 18 watt 3' sub
    Cordless Logitech Keyboard with a Logitech Infrared mouse
    60gig Seagete hardrive
    17" MAG Innovision Moniter
    32x12x40 Lite-On Burner
    OS = Windows XP Pro





Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •