Jerky Games
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Jerky Games

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    139

    Unhappy Jerky Games

    i have the specs below ... and today i made some new changes to my cooling system which dropped the temp from 60 on full load to 35 on full load also (45 idle to 25), although i made this i found that 3D mark and some games r Jerky ... meaning : they work fine but every 4 seconds for example the game pauses for an instant and then resumes !, i have 2 266 RAMs and 1 333 and i'm working 266 for all as my MB doesn't support 333, note : the frame rate is not the problem as i have measured it it's very good (30 Fps normally in heavy games and with medium configs).
    CPU: Pentium 4 530J, 3.0, 1MB Cache, 35/55c
    RAM: Spectek 2048MB (512x4), DDR2-533, Dual Channel, 4-4-4-12
    MB: Gigabyte GA-8I945P-G, Intel 945P
    GFX: XFX XXX 6800GS PCX @485, 256MB @1100, 40/60c
    HDD: WD 160GB, SATA2, 8MB Cache, 7200 RPM, 55/60c
    OS: Windows XP Pro SP2, DX 9.0c
    PSU: Task International 450 Watt PSU, Dual Auto Speed Fans, 12v/26A, 3.33v/28A, 5v/32A

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The Matrix
    Posts
    528
    what kind of HDD do you have as your primary drive?

    sam.
    Main BoxAthlon 64 FX-53 @2.4ghz| 2GB HyperX
    PC4000 | Asus A8V-Delx. | BFG 6800U | 2xWD Raptor 74Gb raid 0| Audigy2 | Dell 19" LCD FPM | XP Pro
    Linux Box -Athlon 64 2800 | MSI K8T NEO |
    9700p | SB Live! Value | 80Gb Seagate Barracuda | Sony DL DVDRW | Ubuntu 64bit
    LaptopDell 600M 1.5Ghz Cent. | 512mb | DVDRW
    Mac G5 Dual 2.3Ghz | 4Gb Ram | Radeon 9650 | 250Gb sata | Dell 19" Flat CRT

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    139
    the samsung one
    CPU: Pentium 4 530J, 3.0, 1MB Cache, 35/55c
    RAM: Spectek 2048MB (512x4), DDR2-533, Dual Channel, 4-4-4-12
    MB: Gigabyte GA-8I945P-G, Intel 945P
    GFX: XFX XXX 6800GS PCX @485, 256MB @1100, 40/60c
    HDD: WD 160GB, SATA2, 8MB Cache, 7200 RPM, 55/60c
    OS: Windows XP Pro SP2, DX 9.0c
    PSU: Task International 450 Watt PSU, Dual Auto Speed Fans, 12v/26A, 3.33v/28A, 5v/32A

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    139

    Talking

    thanks guys but i discovered that the DU Meter program was the reason for the jerking !!!!!!!!!!!
    CPU: Pentium 4 530J, 3.0, 1MB Cache, 35/55c
    RAM: Spectek 2048MB (512x4), DDR2-533, Dual Channel, 4-4-4-12
    MB: Gigabyte GA-8I945P-G, Intel 945P
    GFX: XFX XXX 6800GS PCX @485, 256MB @1100, 40/60c
    HDD: WD 160GB, SATA2, 8MB Cache, 7200 RPM, 55/60c
    OS: Windows XP Pro SP2, DX 9.0c
    PSU: Task International 450 Watt PSU, Dual Auto Speed Fans, 12v/26A, 3.33v/28A, 5v/32A

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    A P4 1.6Ghz is not very fast. That would be about the same as an Athlon 1.2Ghz. Your on a slower 400MHz bus and that likely is a single channel DDR. You memory is very slow. The 512MB L2 cache means you have a Northwood core in there. If your motherboard supports it see if you can just up the bus speed to 533Mhz. This will give you a moderate overclock and you should have no problem doing this at stock voltage and cooling.

    You video card should do OK at 800x600 or even 1024x768 as long as you do not use anistropic filtering or anti-alaising as these will drop your performance by quite a bit. Also 30FPS is OK for some games, but not all. Some games might even be able to make use of 1280x1024, but no more than that.

    I have found that if I get little hick-ups in games it is usually because of slow memory than anything else. See if there are any tweeks in the BIOS for your memory (6-3-3 timmings, T1, cas2, 4Way...). Even though your frame rate might only go up a tiny bit it will help smooth things out. It also makes Windows seem "zippier".
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Sorry I did not notice you handle from the other post. I'm horrible with names. If that is a Northwood core (which it should be with a 512MB L2 cache), then it should be able to do 2.4Ghz without too much trouble and if you set your bus speed to 133MHz you will only be running at 2.13Ghz. Just set your memory to run sinchronous so it will still be running at 266Mhz. You can try more memory tweeks later.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    139
    well i tried to overclock it but it never exceeded 2.0 GB (120 bus), my previous MB (8IR-533 - the model before the one i have) reached 2.13 GB very well and kept there for a long long time till i sold it .. this new MB isn't like the previous one .. i don't know y it does that !!!!!!
    CPU: Pentium 4 530J, 3.0, 1MB Cache, 35/55c
    RAM: Spectek 2048MB (512x4), DDR2-533, Dual Channel, 4-4-4-12
    MB: Gigabyte GA-8I945P-G, Intel 945P
    GFX: XFX XXX 6800GS PCX @485, 256MB @1100, 40/60c
    HDD: WD 160GB, SATA2, 8MB Cache, 7200 RPM, 55/60c
    OS: Windows XP Pro SP2, DX 9.0c
    PSU: Task International 450 Watt PSU, Dual Auto Speed Fans, 12v/26A, 3.33v/28A, 5v/32A

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •