Formating a Floppy with XP
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Formating a Floppy with XP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,193

    Formating a Floppy with XP

    What a pain in the neck. I just put together a system for my friend mother (where his old parts after he upgraded) and I put XP Pro on it and th elast thing I checked before I was about to take it to her was if the CDROM and Floppy drives worked. The CDROM had no issues but the floppy can read and write but NOT format. When i attempt to format a floppy, I get one of these two messages:

    - Windows was unable to complete the format

    - Windows cannot format this drive. Quit any disk utilities or other programs that are using this drive, and make sure that no window is displaying the contents of the drive. Then try formatting again

    Here is the strange thing. I have tried at least 3 floppies in my 2K system first before I tried them in her system and they all formated great. I take those same three to her system and I get those messages. Then if I take them back to my 2K system (or even try them in her XP rig for that matter), it will not even read them and cannot format them and I get the message:

    - This disk is not formated, would you like to format now?

    and of course I say yes but nothing. I have never seen anything like this. I have searched a little on it and see that others are having the same problem but no solutions have been given.

    Any help or ideas?
    Last edited by Burnt Powder; May 21st, 2003 at 04:20 PM.
    Current System
    - Antec Nine Hundred
    - Q6600 G0 Stepping @ 3.0GHz
    - Gigabyte GA-P35-DQ6
    - Corsair XMS2 (4x1GB) PC2-8500
    - eVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 560 Ti
    - PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad
    - Enhance Technology Quadrapack Q14SS
    - HP Smart Array P400 SAS/SATA Controller w/ 512MB BBWC
    - 4 x 72g 15,000rpm 2.5inch SAS Drives @ RAID5
    - 2 x 750g 7,200rpm 3.5inch SATA Drives @ RAID1
    - 2 x LG DVD±R Burners
    - Hanns·G HH-281HPB 28" Display
    - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit w/ SP1

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,203
    Presuming that you have already double checked the floppy drive settings in the CMOS,

    Floppy drive in your friends' system may be defective and damaging your floppies as well.
    Test with your floppy drive in your friends' system.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,193
    Originally posted by Shinma
    Presuming that you have already double checked the floppy drive settings in the CMOS,

    Floppy drive in your friends' system may be defective and damaging your floppies as well.
    Test with your floppy drive in your friends' system.
    Thought of or tried all three prior to posting originally
    Current System
    - Antec Nine Hundred
    - Q6600 G0 Stepping @ 3.0GHz
    - Gigabyte GA-P35-DQ6
    - Corsair XMS2 (4x1GB) PC2-8500
    - eVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 560 Ti
    - PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad
    - Enhance Technology Quadrapack Q14SS
    - HP Smart Array P400 SAS/SATA Controller w/ 512MB BBWC
    - 4 x 72g 15,000rpm 2.5inch SAS Drives @ RAID5
    - 2 x 750g 7,200rpm 3.5inch SATA Drives @ RAID1
    - 2 x LG DVD±R Burners
    - Hanns·G HH-281HPB 28" Display
    - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit w/ SP1

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,203
    Since you stated that the floppy drive in question has been verified to be in working order,
    I would guess that at least the FORMAT in WindowsXP is corrupted or such...

    You could try the following:

    Use REGEDIT,
    Locate:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E980-E32511CE-BFC1-08002BE10318},
    Delete the UpperFilters (and LowerFilters if any),

    Restart system.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,193
    I will give that a shot Shinma. You know what is REALLY odd. Later on this evening after I made that post about my buddies mothers system, my buddies wife called me and said that there new system was doing the same damn thing.

    I really hope what you said fixes the problem. I will let you know.

    ***UPDATED***

    Just look for them at that location with regedit and found neither of them so there was nothing there to delete. (UpperFilters or LowerFilters).
    Last edited by Burnt Powder; May 22nd, 2003 at 12:24 AM.
    Current System
    - Antec Nine Hundred
    - Q6600 G0 Stepping @ 3.0GHz
    - Gigabyte GA-P35-DQ6
    - Corsair XMS2 (4x1GB) PC2-8500
    - eVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 560 Ti
    - PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad
    - Enhance Technology Quadrapack Q14SS
    - HP Smart Array P400 SAS/SATA Controller w/ 512MB BBWC
    - 4 x 72g 15,000rpm 2.5inch SAS Drives @ RAID5
    - 2 x 750g 7,200rpm 3.5inch SATA Drives @ RAID1
    - 2 x LG DVD±R Burners
    - Hanns·G HH-281HPB 28" Display
    - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit w/ SP1

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,203
    Originally posted by Burnt Powder
    ... my buddies wife called me and said that there new system was doing the same damn thing...

    Not a good sign.
    They do run an up to date virus scanner, I hope?
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,193
    Originally posted by Shinma



    Not a good sign.
    They do run an up to date virus scanner, I hope?
    Yes they run NAV 2003 Professional. But anyway, there is something good to report. I got the floppy working in his mothers system. I did not really do anything special except disconnect and reconnect the cables from the back of the floppy (they were correct and seated properly to begin with and I did this twice before) and now it works without any hitches. I hope that his is as easy as his mothers was to fix
    Current System
    - Antec Nine Hundred
    - Q6600 G0 Stepping @ 3.0GHz
    - Gigabyte GA-P35-DQ6
    - Corsair XMS2 (4x1GB) PC2-8500
    - eVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 560 Ti
    - PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad
    - Enhance Technology Quadrapack Q14SS
    - HP Smart Array P400 SAS/SATA Controller w/ 512MB BBWC
    - 4 x 72g 15,000rpm 2.5inch SAS Drives @ RAID5
    - 2 x 750g 7,200rpm 3.5inch SATA Drives @ RAID1
    - 2 x LG DVD±R Burners
    - Hanns·G HH-281HPB 28" Display
    - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit w/ SP1

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,203
    Good luck.
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •