Fresh Install, 3DMark2001 score is under 10,000
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Fresh Install, 3DMark2001 score is under 10,000

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Manchester, England, UK
    Posts
    2,560

    Fresh Install, 3DMark2001 score is under 10,000

    I accidentally screwed up my XP installation (my stupid fault, tinkering with the registry ) and had to re-install it.

    I never do a re-installation over the top of an existing OS, so I formatted and tried Win2k Pro.

    After the installation had completed I installed the CAT 3.1's, DX9, Via Hyperion 4-in-1s (what's with the name now) and then 3DMark2001.

    I ran it but it just showed a black screen and crashed. I rebooted and tried again, same thing. I had had this problem in the past, after a previous OS installation, so I just re-installed the CATs and tried 3DMark again. Perfect

    After the run, I thought I was going to get 10400+ 3DMarks, because that's what I was getting on my last Win2K installation at stock speeds. Sadly, I got 9951

    Anyone have any idea why my score has dropped. It did it in my old install of WinXP as well, my score was a lot lower than previous runs.

    I have checked all my BIOS settings, and they have been set the same since I had a massive tweaking session just after I got the KX7 This is really annoying, because I want my 5 digit score, not a stupid 4 digit score... (no disrespect to all the 4 digit dudes out there... I'm sayin my score is stupid, your scores are fine )
    Last edited by agw_01; May 16th, 2003 at 06:57 AM.
    Desktop - XP2100 @ 2.4GHz, Abit NF7-S, 1gb DDR500 Crucial Ballistix, 120 + 160gb HDD, Windows XP
    Laptop - Athlon 64 3000, 1gb RAM, 40gb HDD, Radeon Mobility 200, Windows Vista
    Server - P4 1.8GHz, 768mb RAM, 2x 40gb HDDs, Win2k3 Server

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    Make sure you have the exact same OS and video tweaks enabled as you did on your other system. If anything, the score should be the same or better than the one you got in WinXP.

    I recently installed Win98 on my current system for the first time in over a year and was surprised to find that I got a slightly higher score than I did in Win2k. This wasn't the case when I had a VIA chipset mobo though...
    My Guitar Hero 2 Xbox Live Ranking
    Main Rig (click this link for specs)
    Certified in: Nothing at all!
    Certifiable: 100% hands-on, real-world experience

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Overclocking my computer some more :)
    Posts
    302
    Wraithchild do you think if you bought an actual 9800pro you could get 6000 in 3D mark '03?
    Last edited by coyote81; May 17th, 2003 at 03:16 AM.
    AMD AthlonXP 1700 T-Bred "B" @2.07GHz (180x11.5)
    Thermaltake Volcano 9 w/80mm Blue/red LED Fan
    Asus A7N8X Deluxe nForce2 Motherboard...Rev 1004
    Western Digital 40GB hard drive 8MB cache
    256MB Crucial DDR333
    Radeon Hercules 8500LE 128MB
    NVidia SoundStorm Audio
    Chieftec Dragon Yellow Case
    Window Kit and Duel Blue Cold Cathodes
    Austin 450W Power Supply

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Originally posted by coyote81
    Wraithchild do you think if you bought an actual 9800pro you could get 6000 in 3D mark '03?
    That's cold man. Are you poking fun at him?

    Back to the thread. Have you installed all the service packs and patches you had befor? Were you running DX 9 befor with Windows 2K Pro? Anything set differant in the video properties?
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Manchester, England, UK
    Posts
    2,560
    I can't think of anythin that is different. I have been tinkering with my BIOS settings again, score changed by about 4 although I did format again and put WinXP back on. My score went upto 10010.

    With everything at stock I used to get 10122, and with my RAM at 166/333 I used to get 10427

    I have no idea what is going on. I've tried the same drivers (CATs, VIA 4-in-1 etc) and the score still remains the same. I'm very mad at this machine now and I want to kick it, but no It's had enough, lol
    Desktop - XP2100 @ 2.4GHz, Abit NF7-S, 1gb DDR500 Crucial Ballistix, 120 + 160gb HDD, Windows XP
    Laptop - Athlon 64 3000, 1gb RAM, 40gb HDD, Radeon Mobility 200, Windows Vista
    Server - P4 1.8GHz, 768mb RAM, 2x 40gb HDDs, Win2k3 Server

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Manchester, England, UK
    Posts
    2,560
    Originally posted by coyote81
    Wraithchild do you think if you bought an actual 9800pro you could get 6000 in 3D mark '03?
    lol, nasty

    Oh Coyote81... My mate showed me some guys work on DeviantArt (an art website) and it has your avatar on it. Is that your work?
    Desktop - XP2100 @ 2.4GHz, Abit NF7-S, 1gb DDR500 Crucial Ballistix, 120 + 160gb HDD, Windows XP
    Laptop - Athlon 64 3000, 1gb RAM, 40gb HDD, Radeon Mobility 200, Windows Vista
    Server - P4 1.8GHz, 768mb RAM, 2x 40gb HDDs, Win2k3 Server

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    That 59xx bench was done within a few days after I downloaded 3DMark03. I haven't bothered trying it now because frankly, it just isn't as exciting as benching 3DMArk01, but I can guarantee I'd get at least 6300 3DMarks with my paltry aircooled 9700. If you want to challenge me, go ahead. Rules: Many will enter, few will win. lol

    [edit]And if I had a 9800 Pro, I think 7,000+ would easily be within reach.
    My Guitar Hero 2 Xbox Live Ranking
    Main Rig (click this link for specs)
    Certified in: Nothing at all!
    Certifiable: 100% hands-on, real-world experience

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    1,070
    Heh, now, now guys

    Hmm....if I had a 9800PRO I would take you on Wrathchild But, unfortunately my Powercolor 9700PRO doesnt overclock worth a shizzle. I just cant seem to hit 200Mhz on this motherboard either...195 is as far as she'll go stable. I've tracked it down to the memory, but dont have the ambition or the NEED to replace it with anything better. Sometimes you just have to be happy with what you have...my god, what am i saying.

    195FSB on a 512MB stick of DDR400 that only cost $70 isnt all bad
    Last edited by venom650_19; May 17th, 2003 at 04:07 PM.
    DFI LANparty UT-DR SLi
    Athlon64 3000+ @2.5Ghz(Venice)
    2GB Mushkin PC3200
    Twin PNY 7900GTX's SLi
    Audigy 2/Logitech Z560's
    21" Gateway Widescreen LCD
    22" Gateway Widescreen LCD

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Come on I can take you with my Geforce4 Ti 4200... Oh wait. No I cant. I suck!
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The Matrix
    Posts
    528
    i'll take you on wathchild...all stock man..if you want? and you can run oced...
    Main BoxAthlon 64 FX-53 @2.4ghz| 2GB HyperX
    PC4000 | Asus A8V-Delx. | BFG 6800U | 2xWD Raptor 74Gb raid 0| Audigy2 | Dell 19" LCD FPM | XP Pro
    Linux Box -Athlon 64 2800 | MSI K8T NEO |
    9700p | SB Live! Value | 80Gb Seagate Barracuda | Sony DL DVDRW | Ubuntu 64bit
    LaptopDell 600M 1.5Ghz Cent. | 512mb | DVDRW
    Mac G5 Dual 2.3Ghz | 4Gb Ram | Radeon 9650 | 250Gb sata | Dell 19" Flat CRT

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    I'm not ignoring you. I'm in the middle of moving- I just graduated.
    My Guitar Hero 2 Xbox Live Ranking
    Main Rig (click this link for specs)
    Certified in: Nothing at all!
    Certifiable: 100% hands-on, real-world experience

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Manchester, England, UK
    Posts
    2,560

    Thumbs up

    Congrats wrathchild
    Desktop - XP2100 @ 2.4GHz, Abit NF7-S, 1gb DDR500 Crucial Ballistix, 120 + 160gb HDD, Windows XP
    Laptop - Athlon 64 3000, 1gb RAM, 40gb HDD, Radeon Mobility 200, Windows Vista
    Server - P4 1.8GHz, 768mb RAM, 2x 40gb HDDs, Win2k3 Server

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    Hey thanks man!
    My Guitar Hero 2 Xbox Live Ranking
    Main Rig (click this link for specs)
    Certified in: Nothing at all!
    Certifiable: 100% hands-on, real-world experience

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Manchester, England, UK
    Posts
    2,560

    Thumbs up Update!

    Just thought I would let you all know that i've sorted it

    The second stick of RAM in my machine didn't like running at max timings, so I had to have them set at the crappy settings, thus the drop in performance. I've just changed it with a stick of Geil RAM which is very nice btw, and I'm back up and running with max timings and 10225 3DMarks @ stock (which is faster than what I usually get)

    Thanks to everyone who replied, and I'm glad I've got it sorted.
    Desktop - XP2100 @ 2.4GHz, Abit NF7-S, 1gb DDR500 Crucial Ballistix, 120 + 160gb HDD, Windows XP
    Laptop - Athlon 64 3000, 1gb RAM, 40gb HDD, Radeon Mobility 200, Windows Vista
    Server - P4 1.8GHz, 768mb RAM, 2x 40gb HDDs, Win2k3 Server

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •