128MB vs 256MB 9700Pro?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: 128MB vs 256MB 9700Pro?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Overclocking my computer some more :)
    Posts
    302

    128MB vs 256MB 9700Pro?

    How big of a differance is the extra memory going to be?
    Is it worth the wait?
    What will be the expected price?

    Thanks
    AMD AthlonXP 1700 T-Bred "B" @2.07GHz (180x11.5)
    Thermaltake Volcano 9 w/80mm Blue/red LED Fan
    Asus A7N8X Deluxe nForce2 Motherboard...Rev 1004
    Western Digital 40GB hard drive 8MB cache
    256MB Crucial DDR333
    Radeon Hercules 8500LE 128MB
    NVidia SoundStorm Audio
    Chieftec Dragon Yellow Case
    Window Kit and Duel Blue Cold Cathodes
    Austin 450W Power Supply

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    There is no 9700 Pro 256MB planned, AFAIK. There's a 9800 Pro 256MB and a 9800 Pro 256MB w/DDR-II in the works. The benefits won't be too great intially - have a look at the performance of the forthcoming GeForceFX 5900 Ultra (256MB) compared to the non-Ultra (128MB) to get a feel for things. They should be launched in about 1 1/2 weeks' time and the price of the Ultra is probably going to be $499.

    MuFu.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    12,263
    I don't really see the need for 256mb of memory on a Video card if you are playing games at this time.


    Maybe in a few years from now, but not yet..


    Now for CAD work, that's another story..

    Intel I5 750 @ 2.67 Ghz, 4gb GSkill DDR3 1600, GB P55M-UD2, XFX Radeon 5850. , Seagate Constellation ES 1 TB, Seasonic Gold 620w, Win Vista Ultimate, Toshiba 32" HDTV


    E6750 Core 2 Duo, 2GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800, GB P35C-DS3R MB, ATI Radeon X1950XT, Seagate 7200.9 320GB, Win XP Pro SP2, Enermax Liberty 500w


    HWC Folding@Home Team -- Learn How to Join the Team Here ---Detailed Stats

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    I am told that one of the nVidia tech demos they are going to use to launch the 5900 Ultra currently uses 344MB of textures (!!!). They are working frantically to try and get the size down, because it's very impressive (~an abandoned gas station with a bunch of snazzy, realtime lighting effects) but runs very slowly at the moment due to necessary AGP fetches.

    I think some UT2003 maps already use ~<128MB of textures and the likes of Doom III, STALKER, HL2 etc probably will as well when configured for highest quality. It's not as if these games won't run without 256MB RAM; they'll just run very slowly.

    MuFu.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    12,263
    MuFu,


    We will have to see what happens when they come out.


    I never believe anything til I see it first.


    Doom 3 will be out towards the end of the year so we will have wait anyway.

    Intel I5 750 @ 2.67 Ghz, 4gb GSkill DDR3 1600, GB P55M-UD2, XFX Radeon 5850. , Seagate Constellation ES 1 TB, Seasonic Gold 620w, Win Vista Ultimate, Toshiba 32" HDTV


    E6750 Core 2 Duo, 2GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800, GB P35C-DS3R MB, ATI Radeon X1950XT, Seagate 7200.9 320GB, Win XP Pro SP2, Enermax Liberty 500w


    HWC Folding@Home Team -- Learn How to Join the Team Here ---Detailed Stats

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Oh, I agree with you completely - there is no *need* for 256MB cards right now. Like there's no *need* for watercooled PCs, 1GB Corsair XMS RAM, Blue LED fans, case windows etc etc.

    MuFu.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Jacksonville, AR. USA
    Posts
    154
    I want one of them there disco machines. All those pretty lights turn me all the way on. But for the topic at hand. I have an Asylum GF4 Ti4200 128MB card and I have not really seen that much of a difference between that and a GF3 Ti200 card.
    I was born with a pretty face.

    Win 7 64bit
    Intel i7-930 /w 6GB OCZ 1600 DDR3 12800
    EVGA X58 Motherboard
    2 X PNY 460GTX 1GB Video Card
    Seagate 1TB SATA2 HDD w/Rosewill External Case
    2 WD 500GB HDD
    Corsair 750 Power Supply
    Samsung PX2370 LED Backlight 23" monitor
    Asus DVD SATA2 DL Burner
    HP DVD 1260i SATA2 DL Burner
    Realtek HD onboard soundcard
    Logitech G15 Keyboard & MS Sidewinder mouse
    Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
    Antec Skeleton Case

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    1,070
    Man
    Originally posted by MuFu
    There is no 9700 Pro 256MB planned, AFAIK. There's a 9800 Pro 256MB and a 9800 Pro 256MB w/DDR-II in the works. The benefits won't be too great intially - have a look at the performance of the forthcoming GeForceFX 5900 Ultra (256MB) compared to the non-Ultra (128MB) to get a feel for things. They should be launched in about 1 1/2 weeks' time and the price of the Ultra is probably going to be $499.

    MuFu.
    I thought there was suppose to be a tremendous difference from going to a 9700PRO to a 256MB 9800PRO with DDR-II??? At least thats what I have been reading.

    NVidia is releasing their new board that fast??? Did they come up with a better cooling solutiong than the Hoover Vaccum 2kdb system they were using before?

    Ma, I dont research computer stuff for 2 weeks and look what happens, its catch-up time again Damn college and work for getting in the way!
    DFI LANparty UT-DR SLi
    Athlon64 3000+ @2.5Ghz(Venice)
    2GB Mushkin PC3200
    Twin PNY 7900GTX's SLi
    Audigy 2/Logitech Z560's
    21" Gateway Widescreen LCD
    22" Gateway Widescreen LCD

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Originally posted by venom650_19
    Man

    I thought there was suppose to be a tremendous difference from going to a 9700PRO to a 256MB 9800PRO with DDR-II??? At least thats what I have been reading.
    Yeah, sorry I meant performance on a per-clock basis. The 400/450MHz+ version will of course be faster if they release it.

    NVidia is releasing their new board that fast??? Did they come up with a better cooling solutiong than the Hoover Vaccum 2kdb system they were using before?
    Not really, but the "Ultra" model uses a similar cooler to the one on the current 5800 non-Ultra, so no dustbuster.

    MuFu.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Cedarville, MI, US
    Posts
    25
    I thought there was suppose to be a tremendous difference from going to a 9700PRO to a 256MB 9800PRO with DDR-II??? At least thats what I have been reading.
    I didn't know they even established a DDR-II standard yet... Why isn't it being seen on motherboards???
    ~Kc8uca~
    Intel P4 3Ghz 800FSB
    MSI Neo-FIS2R 875P 800FSB
    2x 256MB DDR400 Dual Channel
    15" Viewsonic LCD
    Tt XaserIII Aluminum w/ window
    ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
    Creative Labs Audigy2
    Microsoft IntelliMouse
    Logitec Elite KB
    RAID0
    {
    Seagate 120GB ; SATA
    WD 80GB ; ATA/100
    }
    52x24x52 CD-RW
    16x DVD
    Windows Server 2003
    Mandrake 9.1

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    853
    I didn't know they even established a DDR-II standard yet... Why isn't it being seen on motherboards???

    Dude

    Higher Ram speeds/New Ram technologies are almost universially seen on high end video cards way before they hit motherboard designs.
    Nforce 2 Mobo-oem stock
    Athlon Xp3000-Stock
    768 mgs PC2100 @ 2.5/3/3
    Radeon 9700 PRO/365/342
    Western Digital 8mg cache ATA-133/160G/7200 HD
    Win XP Home SP1
    19" KDS "Extreme Flat"

    Laptop
    Athlon 64 3200+
    512mg Ram
    Mobile Radeon 9600
    80G Hard Drive


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    As far as I know the stuff nVidia is calling DDR2 is not the same thing as what JEDEC is calling DDR2. I think the JEDEC DDR2 is supposed to be quad band memory with data bits being sent 4 times per cycle (DDR sends 2 per cycle). The stuff nVidia uses is supposed to just be tweeked DDR, that can clock a bit faster and is lower latency (or something like that. It still does 2 reads per cycle liek DDR1. ATI has a similar memory like nVidias DDR2, but they are calling it GDR-II or something like that. I wish JEDEC would just call it QDR for Quad (instead of Double).
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Overclocking my computer some more :)
    Posts
    302
    It would help unconfuse things a bit, but every Manufactuer has to have "Brand Reconition" that's where they make sure the consumer see's a difference between them and their competitors.
    Which is why we see that ATI is way better atm.
    AMD AthlonXP 1700 T-Bred "B" @2.07GHz (180x11.5)
    Thermaltake Volcano 9 w/80mm Blue/red LED Fan
    Asus A7N8X Deluxe nForce2 Motherboard...Rev 1004
    Western Digital 40GB hard drive 8MB cache
    256MB Crucial DDR333
    Radeon Hercules 8500LE 128MB
    NVidia SoundStorm Audio
    Chieftec Dragon Yellow Case
    Window Kit and Duel Blue Cold Cathodes
    Austin 450W Power Supply

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951
    Anybody remember when people were saying, "I have no idead why anyone would need more than 1 MB of RAM."
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    I still remember reading an article back when my brother got his 8Mhz IBM AT and there was a 12Mhz one out already. The article said that the speed of computers would top out at about 30-35Mhz since the electricity could not travel any faster down the curuits. Man that makes me laugh looking back at it.

    Now admittadly the benifit of this faster hardware is not as much as it used to be. Back in the old days games ran really slow on most computer (like Quake2) and it took years for the hardware to catch up in the way of CPU speed and graphics card power. I remember upgrading my system and running Quake 2 on my K6-2 350 and Voodoo3 200 and was amased I could run 1024x768 and it looked pretty smooth. This game came out in the days of the P75 and a Voodoo1. And benchmarks like crusher still took my system to its knees. It was not untill I got my Duron 600@900 that I had completely conquired the game performance wise (still with my Voodoo3). As time went by, though, the hardware grew faster than the software. My Duron 600@900Mhz did not run so good on my K6-2 450, but ran 45FPS at 1024x768. With my Duron I could do 75FPS, but had to lower the resolution to 800x600. Then I got my GeForce2 GTS and I could run 1024x768x32 at 75fps.

    Things were really looking up. Then I got my Geforce4 Ti 4200 about the tiem RtCW came out and I could run that game without a hitch on my new AthlonXP 1600+. Well now cards like the Radeon 9800 Pro and 3 Ghz CPUs are out and vertually no game can put these systems to there knees. Even FSAA and AF are being turned on. Game developers are falling farther and farther behind. Even Doom3 will likely run on just about any computer made within two years of its launch that does not use integrated graphics. This game only uses DX8.1 and DX 9.0A is already out. It will likely take at least 2-3 more years befor the games will start to catch up to the hardware from today and look where the hardware will be in 2-3 years. Think 5-6 Ghz or faster CPUs. Dual cores will be a possiblity by then. 2-4GB of RAM will be more common. Graphics cards with 1Ghz cores, half a gig of memory, 16 fully pipelined texture units, and 50-100GPS data throughput. Real time cinimatic features would be a reallity by then, but the games to take advantage of all this power would likely be 3-5 years out by then. Sad, but true.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •