Radeon 8500, 8500le, and the Geforce4
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Radeon 8500, 8500le, and the Geforce4

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    6,334

    Radeon 8500, 8500le, and the Geforce4

    Well, seeing what video card im using right now, i think the Radeon 8500le 64mb i just bought will be an improvement, but did my hastely purchase set me back a little with the 'le' version?

    Whats the difference between the regular version and the LE? Can i overclock this card to give it a noticeable gain?

    And how does this card compare to Geforce4 cards? I hear its faster than a MX440 DDR, but is it that much slower than a Ti4200?

    Any other info on this particular card would be great, maybe what catalyst drivers are good for it, and what overclocking utility i should use. And should i put a 'socket a' hsf on it? Or is the regular setup good enough?

    also, will i finally be able to play games like gta3 and the like at 1024x768? the g4 mx440 would do it, but it was a little slow.... no matter though that thing is now rottin in hell hheehehehehahaha

    thank you
    Last edited by krupted; April 19th, 2003 at 06:47 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,265
    mine which is from Hercules (see sig) and OCed the way it is (sig) its pretty much on par with GF4200, of-course 4200 can be OCed quite a bit higher (with heavy cooling 4600 speeds are achievable I think)

    as far as mx4 440 goes we are probably talking 2x the score in 3Dmark so not really the same league

    BTW difference between LE and non-le is only in core/mem speed
    ATI R8500 is at 275/275 if I remember right

    you might wanna use "radedit" instead of utility (thats after you know achievable speed) which edits your cards bios
    utility I used for checking is rage 3dtweak

    Hercules has pretty good core cooling (basically blue orb) so I only slaped some heatsinks on ram (nothing fancy)

    since I am on lcd i play everything 1024/786 and the only game giving me some trouble at default settings was UT2003
    when some open maps would go to low 30 for couple of secs
    benchmark is a solid 104/63 fps though

    Oh and if you watch any movies or play games on TV you will not be disapointed
    Last edited by F_A_L_C_O_N; April 20th, 2003 at 10:11 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    433
    I have an Radeon 8500LE and can overclock it past the "8500" default settings. The 8500 is 275/275. My 8500le came clocked at 250/275 and I can run stable at 275/300, however it also has the Hyunix 3.3ns ram. Not 'state of the art', but good enough for me.
    AMD Athlon X2 3800+
    Foxconn 6100K8MA-RS
    Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9 60GB
    1 GB OCZ PC3200
    Leadtek GeForce 6600GT
    Echo Gina
    HP Deskjet 5150
    Optiquest Q95 19"
    Windows XP Home

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Overclocking my computer some more :)
    Posts
    302
    I have the ATI Radeon Hercules 8500LE, I have no problem running in any game I have tried. I have stock cooling and it works great, used to have it Overclocked, but I deleted something in Rage 3D Tweak and now it won't reinstall, have to wipe the HDD, but have all important stuff saved on CD's anyway.
    AMD AthlonXP 1700 T-Bred "B" @2.07GHz (180x11.5)
    Thermaltake Volcano 9 w/80mm Blue/red LED Fan
    Asus A7N8X Deluxe nForce2 Motherboard...Rev 1004
    Western Digital 40GB hard drive 8MB cache
    256MB Crucial DDR333
    Radeon Hercules 8500LE 128MB
    NVidia SoundStorm Audio
    Chieftec Dragon Yellow Case
    Window Kit and Duel Blue Cold Cathodes
    Austin 450W Power Supply

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    6,334
    cool! this sounds like a decent purchase.... specially for the price.... the card should come today so ill let you know how it goes......

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    us
    Posts
    1,411
    with your current setup I think there would be little difference between a 8500le, 8500 and gf4 ti.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    433
    Looking at your profile, moving from a TNT2 vanta to a Radeon 8500le should be a signifcant boost in gaming performance.
    AMD Athlon X2 3800+
    Foxconn 6100K8MA-RS
    Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9 60GB
    1 GB OCZ PC3200
    Leadtek GeForce 6600GT
    Echo Gina
    HP Deskjet 5150
    Optiquest Q95 19"
    Windows XP Home

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Just be carefull. I know NewEgg had some OEM Radeon 8500LEs that were clocked lower than normal. If I recall correct they ran at 225 or 230Mhz core/memory. I think this was an overorder from a major OEM like Dell that dumped them back on the "grey" market. ATI was not happy about this, but at least NewEgg did list the speeds on it.

    The LEs ran at a slightly lower voltage on the core and memory. This made it pretty hard to overclock them much. There was a way to connect a few points on the board with a pencil to slightly increase the voltage and make it much easier to overclock to and past the non-LE speeds. Most would do 300/300 without any trouble.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    6,334

    Got my 8500le!

    I like it a lot! i would say it is about twice as fast as the mx440. The picture quality, ESPECIALLY in tv-out is NO CONTEST, its amazing! i thought i just had an old crappy tv, now it almost looks like my monitor!!!


    One thing thats wierd though, i cant seem to get agp fast writes to say ON. theyre enabled in the bios, but in the control panel its off. I click it to ON, restart, and when i come back theyre OFF again.....


    It came with default speeds of 230mem and 250core. i dont think this is too terrible, as i have it now clocked at 270mem and 285 core. I dont want to go much higher until i replace the heatsink/fan and get some sinks for the memory. Its samsung memory, that should be good stuff, eh?

    I think the biggest difference is now i can play anything at 1024x768 whereas i had to run 800x600 get get fluid games.


    And i hear about bios flashes, what gives on those? anything else i can do to make this card a little quicker?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    6,334
    take that back, it seems to run fine at 300 core and 285 mem, damn, should i try higher? on stock cooling? maybe ill just go play some games

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •