done tweakin, 2GHz 1700+ on KT133
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: done tweakin, 2GHz 1700+ on KT133

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New London, CT
    Posts
    1,888

    done tweakin, 2GHz 1700+ on KT133

    before: duron 650 @ 6.5x108 702MHz
    after: 1.6V 1700+ @ 18x116 2088MHz
    wont boot at 18.5x and up, and i get Win2k faults at 117 FSB

    256MB PC133 @ CAS2 Turbo
    128MB PC100 @ CAS2 Turbo
    1.75V core, 41C, 37MHz PCI

    abit kt7, non-A non-RAID, A9 BIOS
    specs are in another thread, i can repost if you want it all
    heres the benchies, hosted on the OC'ed PC itself:

    WCPUID
    Sandra CPU
    Sandra MultiMedia
    Sandra Memory
    Sandra Cache

    the whole upgrade would work on the original system with just the $60 CPU. i spent some more on the upgrade overall, but nothing else helped get these results. beats $500 for a new PC.
    Last edited by deltree_windows; August 14th, 2005 at 10:15 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Houston TX. USA
    Posts
    2,308
    Man thats nice!
    That board never dreamed of speeds like that, the ultimate upgrade, good job

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    That's a pretty good bus speed for a KT133 board. My board topped out at 112Mhz, but could run it 100% stable there all day (well actually for several years) with the memory at 149Mhz max timings. I am still running my Duron 600 at 900Mhz after all this time on my Abit KT7.

    Did you unlock that thing or are the multipliers remapped on it for the higher ones? As far as I knew those older board never supported past 12.5x.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Calgary, Can.
    Posts
    422
    Welcome to the "KT7's That Just Won't Die Club". Look's like you picked up a good CPU to boot, nice O/C. I think I will bite the bullet soon and go to N-Force2 system, going to miss this board, it's been the most stable board I've ever owned.
    2600Bartty@2284(208*11,1.75V)
    Abit NF7-S 2.0 (BIOS 1.4)
    Radeon 8500 128mb @199mhz
    256MB Corsair XMS 3200*2
    SK-7/Panaflo 32cfm
    WD 80G-8mb cache
    Toshiba 16x DVD
    lite-on 52* Burner
    Viewsonic G90f
    Antec TP 430W PSU

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    11,079
    Hmm, i've got an A7V pro here just dying for a cpu
    R.I.P Rangeral, To one of HWC's best moderators and a great guy

    By the way, what does BTW stand for?

    It is better to be tried by 12, than carried by 6.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New London, CT
    Posts
    1,888
    i had to unlock the upper multipliers. i took a very small strand from a braided wire and jumpered between socket holes AJ27 and one of the Vcc's in row 26. no soldering, no cutting traces, no special conductive liquid, no precision tools. oddly enough, the default boot was 5x, and it remapped to 20x. the same trick will work for unlocking lower multipliers for the faster Tb-B's, just take AJ27 to a ground in row 28 instead

    112 seemed to be the topline FSB for most people, a couple got to 118/38. i should probably mention i had replaced the stock hs/f from the northbridge with a similar-sized bare heatsink from an old video card. it had fins that were twice as long to make up for the lack of fan. the fan had crapped out about 2 years ago.

    i can get another 3C cooler with my original Alpha PAL6035, but the damn thing is too loud, ~40dB vs the 26.5dB Speeze.

    Justintime- you wouldnt mean the duron i couldnt unlock would you...?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    11,079
    LOL, no, might just do some experimenting and get me a T Bred B for it.
    R.I.P Rangeral, To one of HWC's best moderators and a great guy

    By the way, what does BTW stand for?

    It is better to be tried by 12, than carried by 6.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New London, CT
    Posts
    1,888
    good... good...
    as i recall the a7v was the first kt133 board that people found would work with the upper TB-B multi's

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,255
    The Tbreds should work with the KT7A, too right? KT133A board. The Palomino works with it, thinking of getting a 2400+ for it
    HWC FORCE3D ICQ AL= 57497564
    OCN ICQ AL= 67864797

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New London, CT
    Posts
    1,888
    yes, from what i understand. the 2400+ already has the upper multipliers unlocked, so get the latest BIOS, drop in, and clock away.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Yah. Lots of people had trouble with the fans on those KT7 boards. My fan needed to be cleaned and oiled about every 3-6 months (depending on use). It seemed to run stable thought with the fan dead (at least for a few weeks every now and then). One thing I really liked about that board is that it supported very low voltages. At the stock 600Mhz my Duron ran at like 1.35v (instead of the higher 1.6v). I had the thing at 950Mhz, but I just didn't see the point. I ran it at 935Mhz for a few months, but ended up running it at 8x112. My unlocking did not last that well and the .5 multipliers stop working most of the time when I booted up so I could not use 8.5 reliably. Still running a stock GlobalWin FOP32-1 on the thing, but the fan clips rattle a bit. The kids mostly use that computer anyways.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,255
    The fan on my KT7A chipset went dead some time ago, didn't have a spare one so I'm running the chipset heatsink without a fan on it. I have severe case cooling though. dual 120CFM 120mm intakes connected to rheobus and 2x high performance exhaust fans connected to rheobus. Case temp is 30C when all fans are at 7V and 23C when all fans are at 12V. (CPU fan is always at 12V)
    HWC FORCE3D ICQ AL= 57497564
    OCN ICQ AL= 67864797

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New London, CT
    Posts
    1,888
    i really dont think heat is too big an issue on the kt133. even with just a little heatsink, it doesnt even get warm to the touch. the abit was meant as an OC board and the fan was either a marketing move or overestimate of heat dissipation

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NB Canada
    Posts
    2,643
    the fan on my ol kt7a ran for fine for the time i had it (about a year) and then i sold it to my friend whos running a Tbred b 2100+ on her until he gets a nforce2 board... I kinda miss that board

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Manchester, England, UK
    Posts
    2,560
    hehe awesome overclock

    I guess the KT133 is still a nice chipset to have, even if it only supports PC100/PC133 SDRAM

    The fan on my KX7 started grinding the other day and this board is only a couple of months old. So, I took that tiny little heatsink off, and put AS3 on the Northbridge and it has been running fine, without a fan for days!
    Desktop - XP2100 @ 2.4GHz, Abit NF7-S, 1gb DDR500 Crucial Ballistix, 120 + 160gb HDD, Windows XP
    Laptop - Athlon 64 3000, 1gb RAM, 40gb HDD, Radeon Mobility 200, Windows Vista
    Server - P4 1.8GHz, 768mb RAM, 2x 40gb HDDs, Win2k3 Server

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •