Duel Channel or 3 Sticks or RAM
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Duel Channel or 3 Sticks or RAM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Overclocking my computer some more :)
    Posts
    302

    Duel Channel or 3 Sticks or RAM

    Hello, I was going to someday purchase 2 sticks of 512MB DDR3200, so I could take advantage of Duel Channel, now I would like to get a 3rd stick of memory also, and was wondering if it would interfere with the Duel Channel?

    Thanks, and would Crucial be a good one to stick with or shall I get Corsair XMS?

    P.S. Into serious Overclocking.
    Last edited by coyote81; April 11th, 2003 at 04:24 AM.
    AMD AthlonXP 1700 T-Bred "B" @2.07GHz (180x11.5)
    Thermaltake Volcano 9 w/80mm Blue/red LED Fan
    Asus A7N8X Deluxe nForce2 Motherboard...Rev 1004
    Western Digital 40GB hard drive 8MB cache
    256MB Crucial DDR333
    Radeon Hercules 8500LE 128MB
    NVidia SoundStorm Audio
    Chieftec Dragon Yellow Case
    Window Kit and Duel Blue Cold Cathodes
    Austin 450W Power Supply

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,038
    - With nforce2, if three sticks are inserted, dual ddr is in effect. That is because both channels are filled with memory. One channel has one memory slot while the other has two memory slots (look like they're close together). The total amount of memory in Dual DDR is equal to the lowest common density across the two channels times two. So, if you have 512MB of memory in channel one and 256MB memory in channel two, you have 512MB of memory in Dual DDR and 768MB of total memory capacity. Having, I assume, three 512MB memory modules inserted would be 1GB in Dual DDR mode and 512MBx3 of total memory capacity.

    - I would go for 1GB of memory. 512MB in each channel. That is, two 512MB memory modules or two 256MB memory modules and one 512MB memory module.

    - For serious overclocking, go with the Corsair XMS.

    Last edited by Kid Chaos; April 12th, 2003 at 12:53 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Overclocking my computer some more :)
    Posts
    302
    Thanks Kid Chaos, I was hoping for that answer. I like the idea of having over 1.5GB's of RAM when I need it. Now just have to save up for it.
    AMD AthlonXP 1700 T-Bred "B" @2.07GHz (180x11.5)
    Thermaltake Volcano 9 w/80mm Blue/red LED Fan
    Asus A7N8X Deluxe nForce2 Motherboard...Rev 1004
    Western Digital 40GB hard drive 8MB cache
    256MB Crucial DDR333
    Radeon Hercules 8500LE 128MB
    NVidia SoundStorm Audio
    Chieftec Dragon Yellow Case
    Window Kit and Duel Blue Cold Cathodes
    Austin 450W Power Supply

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Do you do any serious video or audio editing that would make use of the 1.5GB of RAM? Might want to stick with 512MB for a while (just buy a second stick of 256MB) or 1GB (2x512MB) if money limits.
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Overclocking my computer some more :)
    Posts
    302
    No, just video games, and the usual stuff, but nothing like video, or audio editing, except ripping songs from WinMX.

    I had heard something about having too much RAM hindering gameplay, saying that too much would slow it down instead of speed it up, is this true?

    Also my friend has this memory, Is it a good buy you think? http://www.hardcorecooling.us/product.asp?3=199
    AMD AthlonXP 1700 T-Bred "B" @2.07GHz (180x11.5)
    Thermaltake Volcano 9 w/80mm Blue/red LED Fan
    Asus A7N8X Deluxe nForce2 Motherboard...Rev 1004
    Western Digital 40GB hard drive 8MB cache
    256MB Crucial DDR333
    Radeon Hercules 8500LE 128MB
    NVidia SoundStorm Audio
    Chieftec Dragon Yellow Case
    Window Kit and Duel Blue Cold Cathodes
    Austin 450W Power Supply

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,267
    Unable to comment with any certainty on those particular modules,
    Since they appear to be limited to that vendor...
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Whitehall, Pa (United States)
    Posts
    804
    They could be good... they could be crap... that's what you get when you buy something with an unknown name. You have to think to yourself if it's worth the chance. Since they seem to be legit (and at a great price) you might want to try them. They are guaranteed it seems, and that price is great for pc3200 cas2 ram!
    2500+ Barton @ 2.2ghz (200x11)
    Abit NF7-S rev2.0
    Alpha 8045
    Radeon 9800 Pro
    2x 512mb Corsair XMS pc3200
    2x 120gb WD-SE HDDs
    Enermax 431w Whipser
    Lian Li pc61-usb

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,038
    May want to check the customer comments for HardcoreCooling at ResellerRatings.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    1,070
    Im his buddy with the memory

    Working just fine for me. Been using it the past couple weeks with no problems. It uses the copper Vantec heat spreader and WinBond memory chips. I grabbed this stick to see if it was good for the price. I like it! Actually, Im ordering another 512MB stick to ulitize my dual channel in a couple days.

    More than worth the money to me

    PS...I had no issues with shipment or anything of the sort either. One thing about this memory though, I HAVE NOT tried a higher FSB than 187 with this memory. If your looking for higher than that with this stick of RAM...I am unsure of this. I will try higher sometime when I get the time to mess with it again if anyone is interested.
    Last edited by venom650_19; April 13th, 2003 at 03:06 AM.
    DFI LANparty UT-DR SLi
    Athlon64 3000+ @2.5Ghz(Venice)
    2GB Mushkin PC3200
    Twin PNY 7900GTX's SLi
    Audigy 2/Logitech Z560's
    21" Gateway Widescreen LCD
    22" Gateway Widescreen LCD

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Whitehall, Pa (United States)
    Posts
    804
    I'm considering ordering 2x 512mb sticks now... I was planning on getting crosair pc3200... We'll see what happens. I did notice they had freggin pc3700 at that site. That's the fastest I've seen to date.
    2500+ Barton @ 2.2ghz (200x11)
    Abit NF7-S rev2.0
    Alpha 8045
    Radeon 9800 Pro
    2x 512mb Corsair XMS pc3200
    2x 120gb WD-SE HDDs
    Enermax 431w Whipser
    Lian Li pc61-usb

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Overclocking my computer some more :)
    Posts
    302
    Wuzup101, I am not sure I can suggest that memory, because it's more money and you can set the same settings in your bios. so I would stick with PC3200 then raise it yourself, if your unsure how to do this go to overclockers.com.

    Last edited by coyote81; April 13th, 2003 at 02:25 PM.
    AMD AthlonXP 1700 T-Bred "B" @2.07GHz (180x11.5)
    Thermaltake Volcano 9 w/80mm Blue/red LED Fan
    Asus A7N8X Deluxe nForce2 Motherboard...Rev 1004
    Western Digital 40GB hard drive 8MB cache
    256MB Crucial DDR333
    Radeon Hercules 8500LE 128MB
    NVidia SoundStorm Audio
    Chieftec Dragon Yellow Case
    Window Kit and Duel Blue Cold Cathodes
    Austin 450W Power Supply

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    But that's considered overclocking it. I'd rather have PC3700 (if within reasonable price, I have NOT checked either of these sites out *yet*) to be guaranteed that I will hit 233MHz with my RAM because my board can run 233MHz RAM with my 186MHz FSB. If you go on that route, why not just get PC2100 and run it at 200MHz

    As for seeing PC3700, its been goin around now from OCZ and GeIL both I believe..
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •