how much really faster is the 9700 pro than the 9700 NP?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: how much really faster is the 9700 pro than the 9700 NP?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The Matrix
    Posts
    528

    how much really faster is the 9700 pro than the 9700 NP?

    i'm ordering a new vid card...
    i sold the ti 4200 tonight...
    i have the choice of a 9500 pro, a 9700 NP, or nothing...lol
    i just dont have the extra cash to spend on a 9700 pro right now...

    i do need a card like really fast... what ever i get will be overnighted...

    one more thing... i have overclocked the crap out of this ti 4200
    280core and 580mem... why the heck does it suck so bad to do 2 sample AA on unreal 2 or on just about anything? the framerate drops by at least 10 or 20 as far as i can tell....geez...
    i know the rest of my rig is doing its job well...the card's just not hanging in there so its time to get rid of that nasty nvidia bottleneck...
    Main BoxAthlon 64 FX-53 @2.4ghz| 2GB HyperX
    PC4000 | Asus A8V-Delx. | BFG 6800U | 2xWD Raptor 74Gb raid 0| Audigy2 | Dell 19" LCD FPM | XP Pro
    Linux Box -Athlon 64 2800 | MSI K8T NEO |
    9700p | SB Live! Value | 80Gb Seagate Barracuda | Sony DL DVDRW | Ubuntu 64bit
    LaptopDell 600M 1.5Ghz Cent. | 512mb | DVDRW
    Mac G5 Dual 2.3Ghz | 4Gb Ram | Radeon 9650 | 250Gb sata | Dell 19" Flat CRT

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    11,079
    got a 9700 non pro, had a pro which i sold to a mate in fast need, the difference is unnoticable and its only a core/memory speed difference at that, not architecture such as with the 9500 and 9700. was using a Ti4200 too, man that blew goats nads, luckily it developed ram errors after a while as i o'ced to 300/640. This is the result that error :
    Attached Images Attached Images
    R.I.P Rangeral, To one of HWC's best moderators and a great guy

    By the way, what does BTW stand for?

    It is better to be tried by 12, than carried by 6.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    11,079
    the new kid on the block: Hercules 9700, does pro+ speeds at stock but keeping at default as i don't want a repeat of the ti4200
    Attached Images Attached Images
    R.I.P Rangeral, To one of HWC's best moderators and a great guy

    By the way, what does BTW stand for?

    It is better to be tried by 12, than carried by 6.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The Matrix
    Posts
    528

    my best friend has a 9700 pro...man its awesome

    he's running a epox board (model i dont know)
    athlon 2700
    512 DDR
    9700 pro
    windows xp pro
    he scored 4300marks on 3dmark03


    i ran it on my ti 4200 and got 1000 from the tests it could run..

    the battle of proxycron looked amazing...never dropped under 15fps...

    with my hardware...do you think i could get that close with a 9700np?
    is the PowerColor brand a good brand for the 9700? i found it for 223 bucks on pricewatch...here it is
    Last edited by sam_fisher; February 24th, 2003 at 12:48 AM.
    Main BoxAthlon 64 FX-53 @2.4ghz| 2GB HyperX
    PC4000 | Asus A8V-Delx. | BFG 6800U | 2xWD Raptor 74Gb raid 0| Audigy2 | Dell 19" LCD FPM | XP Pro
    Linux Box -Athlon 64 2800 | MSI K8T NEO |
    9700p | SB Live! Value | 80Gb Seagate Barracuda | Sony DL DVDRW | Ubuntu 64bit
    LaptopDell 600M 1.5Ghz Cent. | 512mb | DVDRW
    Mac G5 Dual 2.3Ghz | 4Gb Ram | Radeon 9650 | 250Gb sata | Dell 19" Flat CRT

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    I would get a non-Pro. I have the Pro and it is awesome, but obtained it through a trade. Buying new, a 9700NP makes much more sense.

    Unless you get one of the versions with Infineon RAM, you can flash the Pro BIOS onto a non-Pro and ~80% of the time it will run at Pro speeds and overclock virtually as well as a 9700 Pro whether it has Samung 2.86ns or Hynix 3.6ns BGA (R300-based cards are limited by their memory interface to about 340-350MHz - the RAM shouldn't really figure until 340MHz+). The other ~20% of cards seem to hit a barrier at ~300MHz - we haven't been able to determine the cause of this yet (the Pro BIOS doesn't help), although some of the cards have a "mystery" extra capacitor on the back which is being looked into.

    MuFu.

    P.S. sam_fisher. I get about 4750 in 3DMark03 and 13200 in 3DMark2001SE. Doesn't really show off it's performance over a Ti4200 too well - the huge increases (like 100-200%) come when running FSAA + AF. At 1280x1024 with 4xFSAA and 16xAF in 3DMark2001SE I get about 8500.
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    1,905
    see this is why i dont like 3dmark03
    i was close to mufu`s scores in 3dmark01 with 12425
    but get 3dmark03 i get 1300
    damn dx9 cards
    A64 3000+ at 3.2ghz
    1gb OCZ Plat 2
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D
    Galaxy 7800GTX
    600W Enermax
    Regassed prommie with R507a

    Ah the new updatedness of my sig.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •