Game Spy
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Game Spy

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    202

    Game Spy

    Does anyone here use this network....?

    My question is with my dial up at 33.6 speed an I going to be allowed to join games of Rogue Spear or MOHAA?

    I tried a different one a while ago and kept getting kicked off because of my connect speed.
    Gateway 840GM
    ATI X700 Pro
    WinXP MCE
    TV Tuner Card

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    SA, Australia
    Posts
    248
    Get broadband!
    P4 2.8 800FSB
    Gigabyte 8IK1100
    Corsair 2 x 256MB Matched PC3200
    Built by ATI 9800 Pro
    Leadtek 2000XP Deluxe
    Segate 80Gig Barracuda IV x2
    Pioneer DVD Rom
    Pioner DVD+-RW 106D
    Windows XP Home
    Antec 1080 AMG
    Antec 430Watt Truepower supply
    19" LG Studioworks 900B
    D-Link DSL-200 modem
    512k ASDL connection

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    202
    .....wish I could, wish I might, wish upon a star tonight.....


    I live so far in out in the country color TV only started 2 years ago......

    No broadband options.
    Gateway 840GM
    ATI X700 Pro
    WinXP MCE
    TV Tuner Card

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    955
    You can probably find a server to join but it just isn't worth it. At 33.6k (and probably slightly less), you're going to have SO MUCH LAG, that any game is just going to be unplayable. With Rogue Spear, you're going to get into situations where you seen an enemy, aim, shoot, but when your modem catches up with you, the enemy would have gone about 100 yards down the road! Why have you got such a slow modem anyway? A 56ker only costs about $30.
    Athlon XP 3200+, TT Silent Boost (its rubbish as well as loud) Gigabyte nForce2 mobo (stable but lacks tweaking options), GF4 Ti4200 128mb, Lian-Li V2000

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    202
    I have a 56k modem and MSN claims to also, but when I checked it against a speed check thing I once found listed here it was actually 33.6.tech.msn.com/internet/speedtest.asp
    Last edited by Smitty00; February 16th, 2003 at 09:19 PM.
    Gateway 840GM
    ATI X700 Pro
    WinXP MCE
    TV Tuner Card

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    1,461
    When you connect to the internet make sure that there are no cheap phones, or speakerphones or answering machinces hooked up to the phone line. One of these devices can cause noise and give you a lower connection. When I had dial up I had to unplug my answering maching just to connect.
    CPU: Athlon X2 7850 Blackbox edition o/c'd to 3400mhz
    Motherboard: Asus M2N68-AM SE2
    Memory: 4gb Kingston KVR RAM
    Video: BFG Geforce gtx 260 oc v2
    Hard Drives: 1TB Barracuda 7200.12, 500GB WD, 320GB WD, 320GB WD 250GB WD, 250GB Seagate
    Case: APEVIA X-CRUISER-BK Black Steel case
    Power Supply: OCZ 700W StealthXStream Power Supply
    Optical: 22x LG DVD R/W

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •