EE's and other electronically gifted
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: EE's and other electronically gifted

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951

    Talking EE's and other electronically gifted

    Let's say I have a chip LM2636 on a certain peice of hardware. I don't know what voltage is being delivered currently, all I want is 10% more. Is there a resistor I can solder in the right place to do this, or do you need more info.


    You can go to national.com, and get the total specs. It's a 20 pin chip.

    Any help is much appreciated. I downloaded the data sheet, but it's way over me.
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New London, CT
    Posts
    1,888
    is it power or input signal you want to boost?

    it is rated for 2.7-5.5V, so a PC 5V line should be plenty for power. if you need a better signal input, look into an opamp/analog amplifier chip.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951
    Output...I think.

    OK, I tested it with a multimeter from pin 5(vcc) to pin 3(pwrgrnd), and got a 3.2v reading. Is there a way to mod what it currently has to get 3.5v?


    Right now pin 5(vcc) to pin 8(IFB) have a resistance of 10KOhm. What will happen if I use a couple micrograbbers, and a 7.5KOhm resistor to short these? Will the chip be fooled into deliverign more voltage?


    Wish I had payed more attention in the electronics class I had in college. So much for the. "When will I ever use this in real life?"
    Last edited by NewBlackDak; February 17th, 2003 at 09:44 AM.
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Hmm... I dunno. Tricky because it responds to a VID code and not to a potential across configuration pins (it's a programmable controller). You'll have to present logic at certain pins to set the voltage (using a DIP switch or something). Have a closer look at the spec sheets.

    Wish I could help more, sorry.

    MuFu.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951
    Well if what you say is correct, and looking at the data sheet I could:

    break the vid1 and vid6 connections to get 3.5
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    VID4 VID3 VID2 VID1 VID0 Rated Output Voltage (V)

    0 0 0 0 0 2.05
    1 1 1 1 1 (shutdown)
    1 1 1 1 0 2.1
    1 1 1 0 1 2.2
    1 1 1 0 0 2.3
    1 1 0 1 1 2.4
    1 1 0 1 0 2.5
    1 1 0 0 1 2.6
    1 1 0 0 0 2.7
    1 0 1 1 1 2.8
    1 0 1 1 0 2.9
    1 0 1 0 1 3.0
    1 0 1 0 0 3.1
    1 0 0 1 1 3.2
    1 0 0 1 0 3.3
    1 0 0 0 1 3.4
    1 0 0 0 0 3.5
    VID4 to VID0 are pins 14 to 18 on the spec sheet I am looking at - better double check which packaging you have before you go changing anything. Looks like you have to pulldown VID0 and VID1 from that table.

    MuFu.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951
    Originally posted by NewBlackDak
    Well if what you say is correct, and looking at the data sheet I could:

    break the vid1 and vid6 connections to get 3.5

    oops that should have said vid1 and vid0!

    Maybe I should just install a 5 switch dip.

    The only thing now is where do I get the logic for the currently closed pins, so I can have complete control over the voltage this thing pumps out.
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Well you can take a logic level 1 voltage from any 5V power rail I guess. Dunno, man - in a little over my head here, lol.

    MuFu.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951
    Originally posted by MuFu
    Well you can take a logic level 1 voltage from any 5V power rail I guess. Dunno, man - in a little over my head here, lol.

    MuFu.
    HEHE!! You too huh?

    No guts no glory right?
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New London, CT
    Posts
    1,888
    oops, i was looking at the wrong datasheet. LM26 != LM2636

    are you just trying to set permanent 3.5v output from this chip? if so, VID3:0 can all be tied to ground (PGND/SGND) and the VID4 pin can be tied to +5v (Vcc). you dont want to just cut the VID3:0 lines because you could have floating charges that are not necessarily ground.

    jumping those pins is probably easiest. less work than a DIP switch.

    just remember that if any previous lines are still connected to VID4:0 you could have a shorting problem, especially if VID0 and 1 are sending it 5V. cut the traces there if needed, but keep the pins tied to ground.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    LM2636, isn't that the regulator on the Radeon-series cards? Thought so anyways... btw, I think mine was putting out something like 1.35v on my Radeon64DDR VIVO. Can't remember the reading on my 8500..

    LM2636 isn't what controls the memory voltages though, just if that's what you were thinking...
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Originally posted by DuronClocker
    LM2636, isn't that the regulator on the Radeon-series cards?
    Yeah, and about a billion motherboards.

    MuFu.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Shaddup!
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951
    This particular one I'm looking at is on an HP motherboard that has a p-100 in it. The thing has bus adjustments for 50/60/66/75/83, and multi adjustments from 1.5-4.5. I was just going to tinker with it, and see what I could get from a p100 with a volcano5 on it.


    DuronClocker, after seeing your post, I broke out the VIVO and took a look at the 8500. Sure enough they both have this chip on them. Is this for core voltage on them, because that's what it does on the mobo in question?


    What does control the vmem on the VIVO? I might as well try and hack that since it has been in a static bag since my brother gave it back. "KILL" 2 birds with one stone. I don't wanna mess with the 8500 though, until I have a replacement lined up.
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Just sent this to you in reply to your PM as well, but here ya go... http://www.angelfire.com/electronic2/dcmods/radvivo/

    I never did get around to updating that page, but I think I'll get on it soon enough to add any info I have and throw it up on XiBase. I now have an original Radeon64DDR VIVO, whereas I used to have the VIVO SE. The email address in there also isn't valid (well it is...somewhere...), so if you need help just PM me or email me at dean@xibase.com. That said, everything else there is good stuff.

    The LM2636M controls the "IO voltage" of the card. That's as specific as I was able to find out.. Many of the circuits on the card itself uses a 1.25v reference voltage IIRC, which isn't quite the 1.35v that is outputted by the LM2636. Probably related to at least some regulators though. Don't mess with it unless ya have some better cooling on the card though, just in case
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •