Geforce4 Ti 4200 64MB or 128MB?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Geforce4 Ti 4200 64MB or 128MB?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Kuching, Malaysia
    Posts
    22

    Geforce4 Ti 4200 64MB or 128MB?

    Which one should i get....
    The price between 64MB and 128MB is nearly 100
    Any suggestion?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,038
    If there is a considerable price difference between the two, pick the 64MB version. Both will be fast enough to play any game.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Plymouth, England
    Posts
    1,399
    I agree, unless you're talking about 100 Yen or Rupees! Sure, it's nice to get the 128MB to make the card last longer but not at that price, just enjoy the money elsewhere, like on some games or a new CPU.

    Bennyboy.
    If you've got your money for nothing, who cares if the chicks are free!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The Matrix
    Posts
    528
    i just go the PNY Verto Ti 4200 64mb version
    All i got say is it pretty much rocks. Its over clocked slightly(look at my signature) but for the most part you really dont need to overclock it. i ran 9790marks on 3dmark2000se and overclocked i got 12987...its a good card. well made too
    Main BoxAthlon 64 FX-53 @2.4ghz| 2GB HyperX
    PC4000 | Asus A8V-Delx. | BFG 6800U | 2xWD Raptor 74Gb raid 0| Audigy2 | Dell 19" LCD FPM | XP Pro
    Linux Box -Athlon 64 2800 | MSI K8T NEO |
    9700p | SB Live! Value | 80Gb Seagate Barracuda | Sony DL DVDRW | Ubuntu 64bit
    LaptopDell 600M 1.5Ghz Cent. | 512mb | DVDRW
    Mac G5 Dual 2.3Ghz | 4Gb Ram | Radeon 9650 | 250Gb sata | Dell 19" Flat CRT

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466

    Re: Geforce4 Ti 4200 64MB or 128MB?

    Originally posted by tamp0i
    Which one should i get....
    The price between 64MB and 128MB is nearly 100
    Any suggestion?
    Definitely the 128MB card. 100 extra is not a lot to pay for considerable performance benefits in most modern games. The 128MB version is clocked lower by default (and uses slower rated RAM) but this is outweighed by the advantage of having a larger framebuffer in many situations. You can overclock the memory to 500MHz+ fairly easily, anyway.

    MuFu.
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    39.4834 N 87.3261 W
    Posts
    658
    I agreee. A ~25USD price difference is quite reasonable. High end games really make use of the full 128mb of RAM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The Matrix
    Posts
    528

    sorry for the reply earlier...it was quite stupid

    i meant 3DMark2001 SE
    and i have my signature correct now..
    geez....sorry guys...i was at work and i had a T down...
    later....
    Main BoxAthlon 64 FX-53 @2.4ghz| 2GB HyperX
    PC4000 | Asus A8V-Delx. | BFG 6800U | 2xWD Raptor 74Gb raid 0| Audigy2 | Dell 19" LCD FPM | XP Pro
    Linux Box -Athlon 64 2800 | MSI K8T NEO |
    9700p | SB Live! Value | 80Gb Seagate Barracuda | Sony DL DVDRW | Ubuntu 64bit
    LaptopDell 600M 1.5Ghz Cent. | 512mb | DVDRW
    Mac G5 Dual 2.3Ghz | 4Gb Ram | Radeon 9650 | 250Gb sata | Dell 19" Flat CRT

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •