WTF?? My 3.3V on my PSU is $%&#$@ up!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: WTF?? My 3.3V on my PSU is $%&#$@ up!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    259

    WTF?? My 3.3V on my PSU is $%&#$@ up!

    I just noticed that my 3.3V is showing 1.52V. Is this right or am I missing something?? Everything else looks OK. I have an Enermax 350W PSU.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Epox 8RDA+ (Rev 1.2 w/ C1 Stepping)
    XP 1700+ TBred B (OC'ed 2450 MHz)
    SLK-800(A), Enermax 350W
    Buffalo Technology PC3200, 256MB X 2
    ATI Radeon 9500 Modded to 9700 Pro
    WDC 120 GB (8MB Cache)
    Sony Trinitron 19" & KDS 17" TFT LCD
    Logitech iFeel Optical Mouse

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NB Canada
    Posts
    2,643
    its possable that is wrong, whats it say in the bios ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Your computer would not be running if teh reading is correct.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    259
    I totally uninstalled MBM 5 and reinstalled it and now it's working correctly. Thanks!

    Epox 8RDA+ (Rev 1.2 w/ C1 Stepping)
    XP 1700+ TBred B (OC'ed 2450 MHz)
    SLK-800(A), Enermax 350W
    Buffalo Technology PC3200, 256MB X 2
    ATI Radeon 9500 Modded to 9700 Pro
    WDC 120 GB (8MB Cache)
    Sony Trinitron 19" & KDS 17" TFT LCD
    Logitech iFeel Optical Mouse

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    2,676
    I would be worried about your CPU temp, and if that reading is correctly.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951
    Holy crap 77C!!

    I'd be worried about that too.
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    1,905
    jesus what heatsink you running there?
    maybe you should clock it down a notch
    A64 3000+ at 3.2ghz
    1gb OCZ Plat 2
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D
    Galaxy 7800GTX
    600W Enermax
    Regassed prommie with R507a

    Ah the new updatedness of my sig.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    11,079
    hopefully a misconfigured sensor, seriously check and case cooling if and sink if not!
    R.I.P Rangeral, To one of HWC's best moderators and a great guy

    By the way, what does BTW stand for?

    It is better to be tried by 12, than carried by 6.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    1,905
    surely at 77C though he would have had some unstability
    A64 3000+ at 3.2ghz
    1gb OCZ Plat 2
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D
    Galaxy 7800GTX
    600W Enermax
    Regassed prommie with R507a

    Ah the new updatedness of my sig.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    11,079
    some cpus refuse to crash at that temp, specially Athlons , hoping sensor still, as just noticed his 5V is way below tolerable limits of 4.75V and if thats not under load (even if it was) i'd worry
    R.I.P Rangeral, To one of HWC's best moderators and a great guy

    By the way, what does BTW stand for?

    It is better to be tried by 12, than carried by 6.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    259
    As you can tell from the 2nd pic, in the systray, I'm running Folding@home and Prime95 to test stability. I ran it overnight and it was rock solid with no errors reported in Prime95.

    The temperture reading on the board is directly off the internal CPU diode, therefore, it will read 10-15*C higher than what other boards will read. I'm running the SLK-800 with an 80mm fan. Here's the reading at idle.

    Epox 8RDA+ (Rev 1.2 w/ C1 Stepping)
    XP 1700+ TBred B (OC'ed 2450 MHz)
    SLK-800(A), Enermax 350W
    Buffalo Technology PC3200, 256MB X 2
    ATI Radeon 9500 Modded to 9700 Pro
    WDC 120 GB (8MB Cache)
    Sony Trinitron 19" & KDS 17" TFT LCD
    Logitech iFeel Optical Mouse

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    11,079
    The diode gives a closer approximation of the real temp than an off board sensor will, your psu is struggling with that voltage and will prolly die if prolonged, btw run p95 in torture mode alone, as it has a low processor priority by default thus you're not running it to its full potential, so it might not warm up enough to get errors.
    R.I.P Rangeral, To one of HWC's best moderators and a great guy

    By the way, what does BTW stand for?

    It is better to be tried by 12, than carried by 6.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    259
    For some reason this Enermax 350W PSU has never given me a full 5V. It has always been anywhere from 4.6 to 4.8V but never above that. Is mine defective or is Enermax known for this?? Thanks.
    Epox 8RDA+ (Rev 1.2 w/ C1 Stepping)
    XP 1700+ TBred B (OC'ed 2450 MHz)
    SLK-800(A), Enermax 350W
    Buffalo Technology PC3200, 256MB X 2
    ATI Radeon 9500 Modded to 9700 Pro
    WDC 120 GB (8MB Cache)
    Sony Trinitron 19" & KDS 17" TFT LCD
    Logitech iFeel Optical Mouse

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Its known that Enermax PSUs don't run well on EPoX Athlon boards. The 5V rail always seems to be messed up in these combinations..
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    259
    Originally posted by DuronClocker
    Its known that Enermax PSUs don't run well on EPoX Athlon boards. The 5V rail always seems to be messed up in these combinations..
    So, do you think I should be OK with this or should I start shopping for a new PSU? I use this PC daily and it has been rock solid thus far (fingers corssed ).
    Epox 8RDA+ (Rev 1.2 w/ C1 Stepping)
    XP 1700+ TBred B (OC'ed 2450 MHz)
    SLK-800(A), Enermax 350W
    Buffalo Technology PC3200, 256MB X 2
    ATI Radeon 9500 Modded to 9700 Pro
    WDC 120 GB (8MB Cache)
    Sony Trinitron 19" & KDS 17" TFT LCD
    Logitech iFeel Optical Mouse

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •