GeForce2 Ultra vs GeForce3 Ti200
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: GeForce2 Ultra vs GeForce3 Ti200

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    San Diego CA
    Posts
    290

    GeForce2 Ultra vs GeForce3 Ti200

    The winner is?
    Last edited by gyx; January 21st, 2003 at 03:19 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    1,230
    Personally I'd go with the GF3 TI200. If nothing else, no GF2 has pixel shaders. (Look at the water in Morrowind on both cards for example.)

    'Course, you could just get a cheap Radeon 8500 LE instead, and it'll be better than both.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    11,079
    the Ti200 Geforce 3 has a chance at Ti500 speeds or more.
    R.I.P Rangeral, To one of HWC's best moderators and a great guy

    By the way, what does BTW stand for?

    It is better to be tried by 12, than carried by 6.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Falköping, Sweden
    Posts
    364
    GeForce3 Ti200.

    Bought a cheap one, still it's able to handle speeds just above Ti500. And the pixel shaders are a nice feature.
    "In the end, the one with the biggest gun wins."
    - General Custard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NB Canada
    Posts
    2,643
    1 more vote for geforce3 ti 200

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,404
    Another vote for GeForce 3 Ti200

    Looks like the GeForce 3 Ti200 is going to win
    Intel Q6600 | Asus P5K SE | 4 GB DDR2 800 | 500GB Seagate SATA | 250GB Seagate SATA | 18x Pioneer SATA DVD-RW | 1 GB Geforce GTX 650 Ti | Logitech Keyboard & Mouse | 650 Watt Cooler Master PSU | Benq 22" LCD

    Learn How to Join our Folding@Home Team - Detailed Folding@Home Stats

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Posts
    1,181
    Geforce2 Ultra







    Just kiddin'

    Geforce 3 Ti200 and overclock it to Ti500.
    CPU: Intel i7 2600K @ 4.6Ghz
    Mobo: Asus P8P67 Pro B3 Revision
    Mem: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz
    Video: 2 x MSI HD5850 Twin Frozr II (CrossfireX)
    HDD: Crucial C300 128GB SSD, Seagate Momentus XT 500GB
    Sound: Realtek® ALC892 8-Channel High Definition Audio
    OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Brasilia, DF, Brazil
    Posts
    169
    Geforce 2? Isn't it TNT? Oh damn, I was voting on that!!

    Liiiiiiiee!
    GF3 all the way!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    440
    look at my specs. That's really a ti200 brought to 500 levels
    Get busy Living or get busy Dying - Tim Robbins, Shawshank Redemption

    When you understand the root, you understand all of its blossoming - Bruce Lee

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    206
    Make sure it's the 64mb Ti200 as the 128 mb one i got doesn't overclock too well. To include the extra ram they lowered the ram speeds so it's not a great overclocker

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    440
    what's your definition of a great overclocker? I overclocked my ti200 128(MSI) really well
    Get busy Living or get busy Dying - Tim Robbins, Shawshank Redemption

    When you understand the root, you understand all of its blossoming - Bruce Lee

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    206
    I seem to remember 250/470 as what i could get it to. I had a leadtek Geforce 3 Ti 128mb.

    No worries as i have a Leadtek Gf4 4200 128mb VIVO now thats at 290/550, again nothing exceptional but it does the job. Hell it can play everything in 4x AA at 1024x768 which suits me for now. I'm running on Nvidia 42.70's with
    VIA Hypherion drivers installed.
    Via Latency patch .20b
    3520 Live driver

    I play a hell of a load of BF1942 and i'm a good pilot so for me smooth fps and low latencies are important. I was amazed by how much of a performance increase i got in gaming from the Via latency patch and Hypherion drivers.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    440
    I'm gonna have to consider those drivers .. 20b eh? man . I need to pick those up ... any links? which one did you get?
    Last edited by Leeren; January 26th, 2003 at 10:48 PM.
    Get busy Living or get busy Dying - Tim Robbins, Shawshank Redemption

    When you understand the root, you understand all of its blossoming - Bruce Lee

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    206
    Originally posted by Leeren
    I'm gonna have to consider those drivers .. 20b eh? man . I need to pick those up ... any links? which one did you get?
    If you're on an older athlon mainboard i'd install the .19's instead since the 20b have very aggressive memory settings. In any case try both if you want. The 20b 15 is the one i have

    Thats the link there


    http://www.georgebreese.com/net/software/

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    440
    are you kidding me? I love aggressive settings 1!!!!
    Get busy Living or get busy Dying - Tim Robbins, Shawshank Redemption

    When you understand the root, you understand all of its blossoming - Bruce Lee

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •