Is my power supply sufficient?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Is my power supply sufficient?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Manchester, England, UK
    Posts
    2,560

    Is my power supply sufficient?

    I just checked my cheapo 300w PSU that I got with my case and these are its specs...

    Total Output : 300 watts max
    +5v & +3.3v Combined Load : 160 watts

    +3.3v : 20A
    +5v : 30A
    +12v : 10A
    +5v Standby : 2A

    -5v : 0.5A
    -12v : 0.8A

    These are the software statistics.



    Can someone please tell me what the specs on your power supplies are. Im looking for any PSU, from a sub-standard 300w, to a 550w antec or enermax.

    I was thinking of getting a cheap 550w Dual-Fan Power Supply from a supplier on eBay, but including vat/p+p, that would cost about 37 UKP. 3 cheaper than a 350w Enermax

    The specs of that 550w PSU were +3.3v : 10A and +5v : 20A so im going with the enermax (soon)

    Thanks.
    Desktop - XP2100 @ 2.4GHz, Abit NF7-S, 1gb DDR500 Crucial Ballistix, 120 + 160gb HDD, Windows XP
    Laptop - Athlon 64 3000, 1gb RAM, 40gb HDD, Radeon Mobility 200, Windows Vista
    Server - P4 1.8GHz, 768mb RAM, 2x 40gb HDDs, Win2k3 Server

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    3,198
    I'm surprised your system even posts with those readouts. The ATX spec allows for 5% variance, so with the +5V rail at 4.49V you're well below the 4.75V low limit. Then there's your +12V rail at only +11.01V and the VIO at 3.1V. For your system, +5v & +3.3v Combined Load should be a minimum of 180 watts.
    This is the most important spec since the capability of any PS on each rail measured independently isn't a true rating. My Antec PP412X 400W PS is rated at 245W +5v & +3.3v Combined Load and is currently running dual XP 2400+'s in a box with a RAID 0 array.

    Only combined ratings matter since that's the way your system actually works. But you should go higher to allow for future upgrades. Antec's ratings are very conservative and even their cheapest 400W SL-series PS will be fine for you.
    1.Old Antec Case, Asus PC-DL, 2 x 1.6 LV D1 Xeons @ 3 GHz, 2GB Corsair PC3200 @ 200 MHz, Chaintech 6800 128MB AGP

    2. Old Crap Beige Case, Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2H, Core i3 530, 4GB CL8 OCZ DDR3-1600, eVGA GTX465

    3. Asus Pundit mATX Case, MSI AMD Zacate E350/dual core E350IS-E45 mini-ITX, 4GB CL9 Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1333, LG Blu Ray/HD DVD & DVD Burner

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    11,079
    Dave, you're looking at it wrong, the status on the extreme right in green is the actual readout, you're looking at the low limit.

    The 5v is at 5v flat, the vio is at 3.47, +12 at 12.35V. Those are healthy readings, so yes its adequate.
    R.I.P Rangeral, To one of HWC's best moderators and a great guy

    By the way, what does BTW stand for?

    It is better to be tried by 12, than carried by 6.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Don't try running a P4 on that power supply....10A on the 12v isn't nearly enough. However, it should suit an Athlon system just fine, as yours seems to be doing.

    Don't think you need a new power supply just yet..
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    3,198
    Originally posted by Justintime
    Dave, you're looking at it wrong, the status on the extreme right in green is the actual readout, you're looking at the low limit.
    You are correct sir!
    1.Old Antec Case, Asus PC-DL, 2 x 1.6 LV D1 Xeons @ 3 GHz, 2GB Corsair PC3200 @ 200 MHz, Chaintech 6800 128MB AGP

    2. Old Crap Beige Case, Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2H, Core i3 530, 4GB CL8 OCZ DDR3-1600, eVGA GTX465

    3. Asus Pundit mATX Case, MSI AMD Zacate E350/dual core E350IS-E45 mini-ITX, 4GB CL9 Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1333, LG Blu Ray/HD DVD & DVD Burner

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Manchester, England, UK
    Posts
    2,560
    lol Dave. Sorry, I should have said about the readings being on the far right.

    Justintime and DuronClocker, thanks.

    Glad to know that im not gonna get woken up in the night by a loud BANG!!!! and find my new motherboard toasted

    A friend of mine's power supply recently died so I thought I better check to see if mine was about to do the same, and with me just upgrading my graphics card and motherboard, I wasn't sure whether this would be putting a lot more load on this thing.

    I might be adding another 40gb Seagate hard disk soon and set the drives as RAID0 (like you Dave), so I will have to see how things go.

    Thanks again.
    Last edited by agw_01; January 28th, 2003 at 08:23 AM.
    Desktop - XP2100 @ 2.4GHz, Abit NF7-S, 1gb DDR500 Crucial Ballistix, 120 + 160gb HDD, Windows XP
    Laptop - Athlon 64 3000, 1gb RAM, 40gb HDD, Radeon Mobility 200, Windows Vista
    Server - P4 1.8GHz, 768mb RAM, 2x 40gb HDDs, Win2k3 Server

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Houston TX. USA
    Posts
    2,308
    A loud BANG! Thats exactly what my son heard when his whole system fried because of a chepo PS w/ 160w dc output, and no fuse protection. But all was ok for a long time until he added a burner and a Zip drive, + a mild OC on a T-Bird 1200. He must have reached its limit.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Manchester, England, UK
    Posts
    2,560
    flat-v8, were his previous readings like mine... ok? or did they show a bit of consistency?
    Desktop - XP2100 @ 2.4GHz, Abit NF7-S, 1gb DDR500 Crucial Ballistix, 120 + 160gb HDD, Windows XP
    Laptop - Athlon 64 3000, 1gb RAM, 40gb HDD, Radeon Mobility 200, Windows Vista
    Server - P4 1.8GHz, 768mb RAM, 2x 40gb HDDs, Win2k3 Server

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Houston TX. USA
    Posts
    2,308
    I have no idea what the readings were before she blew, he took off to college w/PC. But I rebuilt it for him. The PS that failed was an LGS non P-4, non 2.1 spec that came in the case, but it was a 300 watter. I guess adding more stuff to a system without first checking current readings is a gamble.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Manchester, England, UK
    Posts
    2,560
    Ahhhh I see. My PSU says that it is P4 compliant, but could possibly be pushing out no more than 220/250 watts

    I might get an Enermax or Antec soon, as I want to get a RAID0 set up in there.
    Desktop - XP2100 @ 2.4GHz, Abit NF7-S, 1gb DDR500 Crucial Ballistix, 120 + 160gb HDD, Windows XP
    Laptop - Athlon 64 3000, 1gb RAM, 40gb HDD, Radeon Mobility 200, Windows Vista
    Server - P4 1.8GHz, 768mb RAM, 2x 40gb HDDs, Win2k3 Server

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Houston TX. USA
    Posts
    2,308
    I bought a cheap but very good PS unit from Newegg for mine. Its a ENHANCE 300w P-4 2.1 spec and built like a tank! 200w DC output with all output line fuse (breaker) protected, and the auto fuse protection works! I accidently shorted 12v fan wires once, and it completely shut down, then auto resets in a minute or two. Very good unit for $28.00 Also check the ALLIED PS, its about the same.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Manchester, England, UK
    Posts
    2,560
    Woah. That sounds cool. There aren't many cheap-brand PSUs with all the additional shut-off devices these days.

    I know I had an old Macase 250w ATX in my old K6-2, and that was quite well built. Featured the same short-cut out circuit and shutdown.

    In fact, that PSU saved my old Iwill motherboard during a power surge
    Desktop - XP2100 @ 2.4GHz, Abit NF7-S, 1gb DDR500 Crucial Ballistix, 120 + 160gb HDD, Windows XP
    Laptop - Athlon 64 3000, 1gb RAM, 40gb HDD, Radeon Mobility 200, Windows Vista
    Server - P4 1.8GHz, 768mb RAM, 2x 40gb HDDs, Win2k3 Server

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •