Help me overclock my project PC. It cost me nothing!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Help me overclock my project PC. It cost me nothing!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    53 08' 24" N 2 23' 39" W
    Posts
    760

    Help me overclock my project PC. It cost me nothing!

    Hey, not done any of this overclocking marlarky for my own benefit for many months now, bit outta touch.

    last time i did anything it was deschutes core this and cbo stepping that

    my father is "borrowing" a desktop pc from his place of work for me. he says they bought it brand new in 1998 so I'm thinkin early pentium II slot 1? perhaps 333mhz?

    I hav quite a reasonable amount of money and as my main system is now my laptop (i'm at university, miles away from my gerforce system ) i think i will overclock this soon to be aquired desktop as a project system.

    obviously a geforce card ain't gonna b much help coz it'll hav AGP 1.0 and not supply the power. is there anywhere a Riva TNT2 Ultra card can be bought for reasonable prices?

    Any advice on radical cooling methods for those of us not needing Freon to cool our 3Ghz PC's would be appreciated.

    Cheers Ultim8_Evil

    P.S. in reference to my other post regaurding my friends laptop, I reformatted, downloaded up2date drivers for everything, replaced the mind-numbingly awful windozeXP with 98SE (much faster) and did all the usual tweaks (DMA enabling, manual swapfile settings, defrag, bios flash etc)

    P.P.S don't be afraid to suggest outrageous ideas. this pc will have cost me nothing and PII chips ranging from 200-400 are easilly bought on Ebay.co.uk for pennies. I dont mind frying a few!
    Clevo P150HM - Intel Core i7-2760QM Sandy Bridge - 16Gb 1333Mhz DDR3 RAM - SanDisk Extreme 240Gb SSD - Radeon 6990M @ 740/1000

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    1,905
    have you tried the loot sometime there are good deals in there
    are you wanting it to do anything or just something to do in the spare time?
    ive got a p2 300 here but my mum wants to sell it and not let me have it :'(
    any use for the whole thing?
    then you can have two to mess with
    A64 3000+ at 3.2ghz
    1gb OCZ Plat 2
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D
    Galaxy 7800GTX
    600W Enermax
    Regassed prommie with R507a

    Ah the new updatedness of my sig.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    I have a Celeron366 PPGA chip if you want that. I don't have a workable adapter for it though. Might fair better than a P2 though for overclocking

    Outrageous ideas....submerge the entire motherboard and expansion cards, etc. in some sort of non-conductive liquid like oil (but oil isn't a good option). I've heard de-ionized water works, but it can quickly become ionized and then fry everything Another option I guess would be isopropyl alcohol, though it isn't completely insulative...about 500k of resistance...not sure if that's enough for electronics stuff.

    Could always try some type of refrigerant cooling like ol'man's or DEAN's setups. Pretty sweet temps with those. I guess a peltier/TEC could be considered "extreme" although there are better options.
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    1,905
    youjust liked the idea of the bad water cooling didnt you
    A64 3000+ at 3.2ghz
    1gb OCZ Plat 2
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D
    Galaxy 7800GTX
    600W Enermax
    Regassed prommie with R507a

    Ah the new updatedness of my sig.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Stavanger, Norway
    Posts
    1,808

    Thumbs up

    outrageous? This article should give you a few ideas: http://www.dwpg.com/content.php?contid=2&artid=89


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    53 08' 24" N 2 23' 39" W
    Posts
    760
    hmm, i thought that was real at first, no "honestly" i did

    is there any way to beat the multiplier lock on PII's?
    I will most likeley go down the peltier cooling path first to see what it's like but eventually i'll setup a water rig.

    if i bought PC133 cas3 ram, would it run at 100 cas2?
    Clevo P150HM - Intel Core i7-2760QM Sandy Bridge - 16Gb 1333Mhz DDR3 RAM - SanDisk Extreme 240Gb SSD - Radeon 6990M @ 740/1000

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Stavanger, Norway
    Posts
    1,808
    Originally posted by Ultim8_Evil
    hmm, i thought that was real at first, no "honestly" i did

    is there any way to beat the multiplier lock on PII's?
    I will most likeley go down the peltier cooling path first to see what it's like but eventually i'll setup a water rig.

    if i bought PC133 cas3 ram, would it run at 100 cas2?
    hehe..glad you liked it

    Sander, who used to run this site before internet.com decided to fire us all, actually managed to remove the lock on a couple of PIII500 by comparing/tracing the PCB on an ES CPU. Then he actually drilled into the core of the CPU and removed the fused I refered to in that article.

    I don't think it's even worth a try

    Everything on the first page of my article is 100% true, so if you have a PII that's produced before August (week 30), 1998, you can lower the multiplier, but not increase it.

    To answer your last question, yes probably, but what would be the point?. Many PC133 are capable of running at 150MHz CAS2 and in some rare cases as high as 170MHz CAS3...On slow CPUs like that, high FSB really does matter. I'd rather increase the FSB and lower the multiplier if that's possible...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    53 08' 24" N 2 23' 39" W
    Posts
    760
    yeah, i havn't actually got this PC yet, my dad is in the process of removing it from where he works dont know what the motherboard is like or the graphics. it's most likely gonna b 2meg onboard video or a 4 meg matrox card or something.

    if the motherboard is pants and the fsb cant b changed, i'll hav to shop around for a better slot1 mobo that can be messed with. any suggestions?
    Clevo P150HM - Intel Core i7-2760QM Sandy Bridge - 16Gb 1333Mhz DDR3 RAM - SanDisk Extreme 240Gb SSD - Radeon 6990M @ 740/1000

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Stavanger, Norway
    Posts
    1,808
    ABIT BE6II, BH6 or BF6. All using BX chipset and are incredible overclockers...got my Celeron566 up to 1133 using the BE6II.

    Tip: make a search on FrankenCooler on this site to see how I did it

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    53 08' 24" N 2 23' 39" W
    Posts
    760
    yeah i'd been lookin on ebay for BE6 mkobo's. what the difference with a BE6II?
    Clevo P150HM - Intel Core i7-2760QM Sandy Bridge - 16Gb 1333Mhz DDR3 RAM - SanDisk Extreme 240Gb SSD - Radeon 6990M @ 740/1000

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Stavanger, Norway
    Posts
    1,808
    more FSB's available as well as PCI/AGP dividers if I remember correctly...it's been a "while" since I used it...

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    53 08' 24" N 2 23' 39" W
    Posts
    760
    yeah i know i'm about 3 years behind the times still, gotta try aint i? it's not gonna cost much coz everything will b secondhand
    Clevo P150HM - Intel Core i7-2760QM Sandy Bridge - 16Gb 1333Mhz DDR3 RAM - SanDisk Extreme 240Gb SSD - Radeon 6990M @ 740/1000

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •