9500 to 9700 mod!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 84

Thread: 9500 to 9700 mod!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466

    Radeon 9500 128MB to Radeon 9700 Pro Mod.

    Quite suprised nobody has posted about this already!

    http://www.overclockers.ru/news/news...&id=1041715156

    http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/story.html?id=1041719082

    The second link is down for me right but it has been working from time-to-time over the past day or so.

    Basically, the Radeon 9500 128MB cards available right now are based on the 9700 PCB because ATi did not have time to manufacture a board specifically for that model. It looks like all that is needed to convert a 9500 into a 9700 is a simple resistor mod on the core. It can then easily be overclocked to Radeon 9700 Pro speeds, as is the same for all Radeon 9700's.

    The 64MB card cannot be modded because although it uses the same PCB, the bus/framebuffer have been halved. Neither is it possible to mod the Radeon 9500 Pro because it uses a different PCB altogether.

    There is a long thread about it here and I assume Rage3D is going crazy right now as well.

    Looks interesting, huh? This could well be the greatest overclock/mod ever if it proves to be genuine.

    MuFu.

    P.S. These cards are 140 over here!!!
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Yeah I was reading about it yesterday. Decided not to post it though because it looks fairly useless. They don't make cards based on the 9700 PCBs anymore, so you'd have to get VERY lucky in order to get the right card to do the mod... or at least that's what it sounded like from reading the forums on it yesterday. Would've been sweet though if it worked with all cards
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Originally posted by DuronClocker
    Yeah I was reading about it yesterday. Decided not to post it though because it looks fairly useless. They don't make cards based on the 9700 PCBs anymore, so you'd have to get VERY lucky in order to get the right card to do the mod...
    I disagree. My impression from reading through forums yesterday was that all 9500 128MB cards are currently based on the 9700 PCB. Radeon 9500 Pro's use a new PCB and can't be modded.

    As for the poor, unfortunate people that bought a Radeon 9500 128MB thinking it was a Ti4200-beater, I bet they're laughing now!!!

    MuFu.

    P.S. Thanks for posting - I wanted to bump this thread because it really is an extraordinary discovery but I'd already stuck it to the top, hehe.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Originally posted by MuFu
    P.S. Thanks for posting - I wanted to bump this thread because it really is an extraordinary discovery but I'd already stuck it to the top, hehe.


    Wait so you mean, the plain vanilla 9500 128MB cards will be hackable, but the 9500PRO's will not be? I thought they meant only the 9500PROs would work.

    Thought this trick somehow magically turned the card into a 256bit card (I guess that would work because the traces on the 9700 PCB). If that's true though, the 9500non-Pro would still be quite crippled, no? I'm lost...thought I understood this, but I guess I don't
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    No, you don't.

    The hack is for the plain vanilla 9500 128MB, like you suggest. It unlocks 4 rendering pipelines and the full 256-bit bus, turning the card into a Radeon 9700.

    The Radeon 9500 Pro is based on a new PCB and can't be hacked at all. The 9500 64MB (early ones were definitely based on the 9700 PCB) can be hacked producing an 8 pipeline card with 64MB memory on a 128-bit bus, effectively a "Radeon 9500 Pro 64MB". I think they exist, anyway.

    MuFu.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Whoa, I should unbank my X-mas cash and dish it out for one of these to try it! Now I just gotta find one cheap enough

    EDIT: Actually I could sell this Ti4200 for a decent amount of cash to go towards a Radeon9500...going for about $165 shipped. If the mod doesn't work though, I'd be quite pissed off since I can get a 9500Pro for $175 shipped, lol
    Last edited by DuronClocker; January 6th, 2003 at 07:01 PM.
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    228
    anyone tried this mod at all ?
    i have a 128mb radeon9500pro on order right now, i may cancel and get the non pro so i can do the mod, but i need to know if it has actually been tested by someone
    2100+ Tbred-B AIUHB @ 2254 (13.5x167@1.7v)
    Thermalright SLK-800a w/36cfm TMD Fan
    Gigabyte GA-7VAXP rev1.2
    512Mb Samsung pc2700
    2x30gb Maxtor 7200rpm Ata100
    40Gb Maxtor 7200rpm Ata100
    40Gb Maxtor 7200rpm Ata133
    120Gb Seagate 7200rpm Ata100 8Mb
    80Gb Maxtor 7200rpm Ata133 8Mb
    Logitech Z-560 4.1 Speakers
    Sapphire Radeon9500>9700 Softmod@(373.5/297)
    WindowsXP Pro w/SP1/DX9.0b

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    I now know the next vid card I'll be putting in my server machine heh heh.

    Just think of the amount of fraud that this mod could cause. If you didn't know what you were looking for, the 9700 you were buying could be a half price 9500/128MB... On the other hand, those who bought 9700's probably feel shafted. I know I would if I hadn't of bought a 4 year replacement plan on mine.
    My Guitar Hero 2 Xbox Live Ranking
    Main Rig (click this link for specs)
    Certified in: Nothing at all!
    Certifiable: 100% hands-on, real-world experience

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Ok, I just ordered a Sapphiretech Radeon 9500 128MB from dabs.com for 140. This is just too good an opportunity to miss.

    Originally posted by mooP
    anyone tried this mod at all ?
    i have a 128mb radeon9500pro on order right now, i may cancel and get the non pro so i can do the mod, but i need to know if it has actually been tested by someone
    Read some of the threads about it at [H] and Rage3D - it seems to work 100% of the time if done properly.

    MuFu.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Hmm... many people are insisting that some of the newer 9500 128MB cards use the 128-bit PCB (same as the Radeon 9500 Pro) but that's a risk probably worth taking. All of the Sapphiretech 9500 128MBs floating around right now seem to use the 256-bit PCB but it's so hard to tell from product listings! You should be able to tell from a picture what type of board it is - the 128-bit PCB has 4 memory chips, the 256-bit PCB has 8. It's just that not all sites keep their pics up to date, duhhhh...

    All the mod does is enable an extra 4 pipelines in the R300 and that makes use of the 256-bit bus which is already there anyway on the 8-chipped boards.

    MuFu.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    228
    well i ordered one, i hope it's the right pcb =[
    i'm nervous now =P
    2100+ Tbred-B AIUHB @ 2254 (13.5x167@1.7v)
    Thermalright SLK-800a w/36cfm TMD Fan
    Gigabyte GA-7VAXP rev1.2
    512Mb Samsung pc2700
    2x30gb Maxtor 7200rpm Ata100
    40Gb Maxtor 7200rpm Ata100
    40Gb Maxtor 7200rpm Ata133
    120Gb Seagate 7200rpm Ata100 8Mb
    80Gb Maxtor 7200rpm Ata133 8Mb
    Logitech Z-560 4.1 Speakers
    Sapphire Radeon9500>9700 Softmod@(373.5/297)
    WindowsXP Pro w/SP1/DX9.0b

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Hehe... balls the size of coconuts, I like it.



    Good explanation of the mod in English: http://www.blarg.net/~jameswj/radeon9500tweak.htm

    Do some hunting - I have yet to find a report of a Sapphiretech 9500 128MB that doesn't use the 8-chipped PCB and am therefore not too worried about it. I'll keep searching though...

    Where did you get yours from?

    Just as a disclaimer in case anybody else is thinking of doing this - it is uncertain at this time as to whether the 4 pixel pipelines disabled on a Radeon 9500 (non-pro) core are disabled because they are faulty, or just because ATi has elected they become Radeon 9500's. It may be that all R300 cores are tested and the ones that have faulty pipelines@275MHz become Radeon 9500's and the ones that have 8 functional pipelines become Radeon 9500 Pro/9700/9700 Pro's.

    MuFu.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    228
    ordered mine from www.ncix.com $280cdn
    2100+ Tbred-B AIUHB @ 2254 (13.5x167@1.7v)
    Thermalright SLK-800a w/36cfm TMD Fan
    Gigabyte GA-7VAXP rev1.2
    512Mb Samsung pc2700
    2x30gb Maxtor 7200rpm Ata100
    40Gb Maxtor 7200rpm Ata100
    40Gb Maxtor 7200rpm Ata133
    120Gb Seagate 7200rpm Ata100 8Mb
    80Gb Maxtor 7200rpm Ata133 8Mb
    Logitech Z-560 4.1 Speakers
    Sapphire Radeon9500>9700 Softmod@(373.5/297)
    WindowsXP Pro w/SP1/DX9.0b

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Nanaimo,B.C. Canada
    Posts
    2,162
    Originally posted by mooP
    ordered mine from www.ncix.com $280cdn
    Looks like you did good

    Greg @ NCIX.com
    Jarvis is correct, you can't always trust the picture. In this case, the picture was taken late last week and our current stock is from the same batch. As for whether that will be the same case tomorrow, I can't say.


    got the info from the NCIX review section http://www.ncix.com/canada/showthrea...roduct_id=8933

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    228
    looked at it already :P
    i'm just hoping it's still the same stock :P
    2100+ Tbred-B AIUHB @ 2254 (13.5x167@1.7v)
    Thermalright SLK-800a w/36cfm TMD Fan
    Gigabyte GA-7VAXP rev1.2
    512Mb Samsung pc2700
    2x30gb Maxtor 7200rpm Ata100
    40Gb Maxtor 7200rpm Ata100
    40Gb Maxtor 7200rpm Ata133
    120Gb Seagate 7200rpm Ata100 8Mb
    80Gb Maxtor 7200rpm Ata133 8Mb
    Logitech Z-560 4.1 Speakers
    Sapphire Radeon9500>9700 Softmod@(373.5/297)
    WindowsXP Pro w/SP1/DX9.0b

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •